We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chain Hotel in Culpeper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Certificate of Excellence
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Chain Hotel in Culpeper”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

For what it is, the Holiday Inn Express Culpeper is a great value: Large quiet room, fast free wifi, okay old-style bathroom, fine breakfast, and a good indoor pool.

All the Culpeper chain hotels are clustered together. This is the best. I've also stayed at the Microtel, which is clean and fine, but the Microtel doesn't have a pool and their breakfast is not as good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    46
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
44
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manito, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Rooms were clean and people at front desk were very helpful. Pool is inside. Breakfast was very good with lots of options for a hotel breakfast. Not a far drive from downtown Culpeper. Pretty far drive from local winery.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is a fantastic place to stay. From the warm welcome right on down to the warm cinnamon buns for breakfast, we've enjoyed every night that we've spent there! There is also a very nice downtown area close by that is filled with things to do like shopping, dining, and exploring actual Civil War sites and artifacts.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wescoleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valatie
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Room was very clean and spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was quite good and I enjoyed the very nicely appointed breakfast room. The only thing that was a drawback is that I did not get a very friendly greeting when I checked in and was actually kept waiting for some time by the desk clerk who was doing something else at the front desk (which was odd as it was after 11pm) as I was trying to check in. I also did not get my priority club gift (or any acknowledgment of my membership) until I asked for the gift the next day. I am not one to stand on ceremony, but it was a bit jarring because Holiday Inn is always so good about stuff like that. But, all in all this is a place I would be glad to frequent again. Very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,413 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,130 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our room was great. We were only there for one night so we only had one free breakfast there. I was very disappointed in the breakfast. My favorite thing is their cinnamon buns and you would think they would put them out under the heat lamp early enough for them to be warm (and not hard) when they open for breakfast. We came down for breakfast around 7:30 (they open at 5) and there was one empty container and another one that had apparently just been put out (had a sign on it saying they would be ready shortly). The buns were not even thinking about being warm and soft. We had to hit the road so I couldn't wait for the buns that I love so much.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear cheryl h,

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to leave us a comment. I appreciate your willingness to share your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room experience.

We have identified the issues in regard to your breakfast experience and are working diligently on training to ensure that our guests do not have the same issue.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to be of service to your next visit.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Best hotel bed I ever slept in! Great comforter, pillows were varied. Good service and good service as well. Restaurant was nearby for dinner, breakfast buffet was exceptional. We were here for Virginia's Garden Week and we will probably return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stay at Expresses a lot and as they go this one is excellent! Very friendly help, spotless clean and great location to Commonwealth Park horse grounds. We would defiantly stay here again! They even had carrots and apples out in the am for your horses!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottJ181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culpeper
0.1 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Culpeper
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
23.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 787 Madison Rd, Culpeper, VA 22701-3325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Culpeper hotel offers close access to the best of the Piedmont River Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Culpeper, in the quaint horse country of Virginia, is an ideal destination for history buffs, wine connoisseurs and nature lovers.If you re traveling on business, our Culpeper, Virginia hotel offers a great location near many corporate offices. Merillat Industries and Schwan Food Industries are both within three miles of our Culpeper hotel, and the Culpeper Fairgrounds are also just a few minutes away.Our hotel in Culpeper, situated in the Piedmont River Valley, provides close proximity to several of Virginia's most historic sites and attractions. Many important Civil War battlefields are also nearby, including Brandy Station, Cedar Mountain and Kelly's Ford. Famous homes within 30 minutes of our Culpeper hotel include James Madison's Montpelier home and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello home. Additionally, our hotel is near the Gray Ghost, Prince Michel and Unicorn vineyards. Tours and tastings are offered at these Culpeper vineyards daily.When you stay at our hotel in Culpeper, take advantage of the indoor pool and fitness center. Before heading out for the day, you can stop by the hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Reserve your Culpeper hotel reservations today and see the beautiful sites and historic attractions that Virginia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Culpeper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing