We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very good Thyme.”
Review of Thyme Inn

Thyme Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culpeper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thyme Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Culpeper B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Our kids gave us an overnight stay at the inn as a Christmas gift. We enjoyed the Thyme Room - quite large with gas log fireplace, TV, and lovely bathroom with very nice amenities. Dinner at It's About Thyme Cafe was very, very good. Each dish was well-prepared and delicious. Having never been to Culpeper before, we enjoyed walking up and down Davis Street and Main Street and peeking into all the nice shops. Many lovely restaurants to choose from, too, so we'll definitely go back again. Also, interestingly, there is a Amtrak Station only two blocks from the Inn, so check out the service from DC or surrounding areas. That might make for an interesting, and convenient, experience, too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skylrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

After a long day of touring vineyards in between Charlottesville and Culpeper, we pulled into the Thyme Inn. It was just what we needed. Our room was beautifully appointed and comfortable. The plaster and brick work was clearly done by an artist. A gas fireplace and chandalier over the soaking tub provided just the bit of pampering I was looking for. We shared dinner with friends in the downstairs restaurant. Just a couple of things to keep in mind, the rooms are above the restaurant so it is a bit noisy but by 10 p.m. or so, things were quiet. The one bit of disappointment it that while this is called an Inn, there is no breakfast served as part of the stay and the cafe/bakery is closed on Sunday morning. But, there is a lovely little place about a block down the street called The Raven's Nest where you can find coffee, hot chocolate, and pretty little breakfast items.

Room Tip: I selected the Sage Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mddem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Checked in to a great room with a bathroom to beat all. Huge tub with a fireplace. Real wood floors and clod air (96 F today). Really enjoyable Had the Filet and a Cote de Rhone at Thyme Cafe and went upstairs to relax. Great place, with a pleasant and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isogriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The french suite was the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in. It was also the most uncomfortable room I have NEVER slept in. Unable to sleep I made a makeshift bed on the floor..Didn't sleep a wink. Packed up and left at 7 am even though I paid for 2 nights. Horrible experience.

Room Tip: The best room in the house is across from the party room and the dumb waiter is so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sassyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My apologies for the pun. Though the Thyme Inn is reviewed under B & B's, fresh coffee and croissants may not be a part of your stay. The kitchen is closed on Sundays and we were not sure if guests staying on different nights are offered these items for free or for a charge. However, the host was very obliging and said these items could be left at our door in the morning. We opted to eat breakfast at Raven's Brew instead and really enjoyed it. It's a welcoming little coffee shop with fresh pastries and other assortments and beats commercial Starbucks any day. We happened to be at the Inn during a (mostly antique) car show that ended up being really fun and allowed us to speak with the locals who range from country folks to progressive thinkers, which makes for an interesting cross-section of humanity. It's part country boy and part gay friendly, two groups one wouldn't think would intermingle, unless of course you're a gay country boy or girl! The people of downtown Culpeper are friendly and proud of their town, as they should be. It's charming, inviting and has a distinct feel all its own. The Thyme Inn is lovely and unique. We stayed in the Thyme room, which has a balcony over looking Davis St. The Thyme room was nicely decorated: we loved the exposed brick walls. Also, we recommend visiting the nearby location Inn at Kelly's Ford, which offers horseback riding, river tubing, canoeing, kayaking, nature trails, event spaces and lovely scenery. They also offer lodging and are a B & B. As for wine, there are nearby vineyards that should be pleasing to all palates. Relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seattle_side_project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This was just perfect. Equal only to one other B&B, Charlottesville. The host and hostess were charming and obliging. And the room--oh my. We are planning another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marycatsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Husband and I had the smallest room in the middle. Loved the chandelier in the shower. Very very extremely clean, pretty, big bathroom, fireplace, wonderful bed, close to shopping, bakery, quaint inn. We will definitely be back. We want to try the resturant downstairs next time. Owner extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank US_traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Culpeper hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.8 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Culpeper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Culpeper Center Suites
Culpeper Center Suites
#4 of 6 in Culpeper
29 reviews
7.2 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites at 249
Suites at 249
#2 of 6 in Culpeper
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyme Inn

Address: 128 E Davis St, Culpeper, VA 22701-3012
Region: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Culpeper
Price Range: £94 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thyme Hotel Culpeper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing