We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice B&B, worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thyme Inn

Thyme Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culpeper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thyme Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Culpeper B&B and Inns
United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B, worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My fiance and I decided to check out their winter deal (B&B plus dinner at their restaurant) and it was not only well worth the price, we found a new place for a quick weekend getaway. The check-in was a bit awkward as we arrived late and were not sure where to go but once we figured it out, the friendly staff helped us to the room (and wow, such a gorgeous place) and offered a glass of wine for each of us...that was a very nice touch. The fireplace in the bathroom with the whirlpool tub for two made it the perfectly romantic and relaxing way to end the evening. The only blemish was that when we were getting ready the following morning, the hot water for the shower kept cutting on/off and it stopped draining properly. So we had to stand in ankle deep cool water while doing our best to get ready as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emped0cles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nags Head, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed in the Tuscan Room which is very spacious and if the weather had cooperated it would have been wonderful to use the outdoor balcony. Room was not overly clean and the bathroom floor was dirty; however, the charm of the rooms made it a "go to" Inn and our fireplace once we figured out how to light it was heaven. We would try a different room next time probably in the front of the hotel where there are more windows. Check in was different but also charming and the restaurants as well as the shop are really nice. The staff was friendly. Appetizers in the Copper Fish with excellent fresh oysters and then dinner in the About Thyme restaurant was adequate. Again, I would still go back there but it wasn't my favorite.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I am very picky and I can't even begin to describe what a well run and completely lovely place this is. Utterly perfect - beyond what you've experienced in the states, I suspect. Love, love, love it. Walked downstairs for a seafood meal. Was greeted with a glass of world-class red wine.

Room Tip: all rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely room (the French Room), great location, very clean and comfortable. A little pricey, but there are specials. Love the open bathroom and shower! There is some street and restaurant noise, but you are downtown and over a restaurant. Fun to overlook Davis Street as evening approaches.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Sage Room for two nights. There is no elevator and the stairs are long, but well worth the effort. They help with bags if required. Our room was delightful, clean, had a cute gas fireplace, which was wonderful, and the bed was heaven. Coupled with the excellent food downstairs at It's "About Thyme" and the ambience of Davis Street, it's hard to find a more comfortable combination. The family is deeply involved in the operation of the "Thyme" enterprises and it shows through their attitude and attention to detail. You can jump on a plane, fly eight hours to Rome or Paris, find a lovely little spot on the "Left Bank" or some little village in Tuscany, or you can jump in the car and be in Culpeper in an hour or so and get 90% of the ambience that you would find in Europe!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANOUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Inn (and that is being somewhat generous) is located on one of Va's beautiful historical areas, Davis Street, in a town (Culpeper) that was begun in 1759. G. Washington surveyed the original town limits. The Inn is fairly hidden away above two restaurants. Never found a front desk so when we arrived, we inquired of a server on the wait staff at one of the two restaurants below. Jodie quickly appeared and, after that, we knew we were in good hands. She could not have been nicer and will supply anything you need. Funny how they trust their guests...it is wonderful that it still exists today. The rooms are beautifully decorated, a blend of European and early American...but it works. We had a nice balcony. Careful, as there are many stairs so be aware. They do have staff that will help with bags if needed. You have to think out of the box and enjoy the beauty and the differences rather than expecting a "Ritz Carlton." It is unique and reflects the typical welcoming atmosphere of Culpeper. Check out the romantic roof top or in room dining, both are great and only 15 steps from your room. In the evening, we went down one flight to the bar for a night cap. Great fun meeting friendly locals.

Room Tip: Thyme, a front street facing room with a Murphy bed...remember those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed at the Inn over a holiday weekend, and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accommodations. While not inexpensive, the "French" room was well appointed and very comfortable.
There is no staff available after hours, which was somewhat unexpected, but not a problem.The innkeepers made the room key available to us after hours, and left a telephone contact should we require any assistance.
The market on the street level was fabulous, and I can recommend the restaurant as well. Overall, a great treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 34S_Latitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Culpeper hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Culpeper
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suites at 249
Suites at 249
#2 of 6 in Culpeper
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Culpeper Center Suites
Culpeper Center Suites
#4 of 6 in Culpeper
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.2 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyme Inn

Property: Thyme Inn
Address: 128 E Davis St, Culpeper, VA 22701-3012
Region: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Culpeper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thyme Hotel Culpeper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing