We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hotel personnel on duty upon arrival. No one to care.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dahlgren
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“No hotel personnel on duty upon arrival. No one to care.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Upon arrival we had to wait over one hour for a hotel attendant to appear at the front desk. After discussing the situation over the phone with Hilton Corporate, we were advised to call the local authorities. A deputy from the local sheriff county office had to come to the hotel to look for the staff, and found out that all hotel reception staff on duty were in the swimming pool entertaining their own friends (beer bottles included) and there was no way for neither Hilton Corporate or us to reach them over the phone.
Neither the manager nor the attendant had any evident experience with guest-recovery procedures; we can only guess the manager was too busy trying to dry up and look presentable after hanging out in the pool. We ended up suggesting to them what we thought would be fair reparations for their lack of professionalism.
This is obviously a hotel not to Hilton Standards. Evidently you get what you pay for -- and we only stayed here because it was close enough to the event we were attending.
Rooms were clean. Location is convenient only if you need to be in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoTravel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dahlgren_hampton, Manager at Hampton Inn Dahlgren, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Lets Go Travel9
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
- Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    58
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
80
39
9
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised with the friendliness of the staff and the quietness of the hotel. The breakfast was very good and the coffee actually had a good flavor as well. I would recommend this to others as well. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dahlgren_hampton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Dahlgren, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Michael B,

It's great to hear you had such a good experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate your time in letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again.

~Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is the best and newest hotel in the Dahlgren/La Plata area. I stayed at the Hampton for 62 days while attending school and have zero complaints. The staff and accommodations were beyond expectations and I could not have asked for more. Breakfast is served from 0600-1000 and is a very nice spread of juices, fresh fruit, pastries, and hot items as well. The gym has treadmills, dumbbells, a stationary bike, an elliptical, and cables; all are new and in good working order. There is also a small pool and laundry machines. The rooms have a mix of two queen beds or a king bed with a couch. The WiFi is free, on a daily renewable schedule. The bathrooms are very nice and have plenty of room for moving about; not a closet with a commode, sink, and shower. Schedule a stay at this comfortable establishment and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dahlgren_hampton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Dahlgren, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Richard A,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we will see you again if you are in Dahlgren for future training.

Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After having completed Warrior Dash Maryland and arriving at hotel dirty and tired the staff welcomed us with open arms. Said feel free to jump in pool or use showers and don't worry about the mess. They welcomed us and were very cordial despite our appearence and attire. Rooms were great and staff top notch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dahlgren_hampton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Dahlgren, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Gary W,

It's great to hear you had such a good experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate your time in letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again.

-Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Quality of service from hotel staff extremely efficient and helpful. Staff went out of their way to ensure that everything was above average, from room cleaniness to the breakfast. Great location to accomplish what we needed for business purposes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James Alfred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dahlgren_hampton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Dahlgren, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
James Alfred H,

It's great to hear you had such a good experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate your time in letting us know. See you next time!

-Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Spent one night while traveling in VA. It is tucked away a bit from the road so you need to look for it behind the Holiday Inn. Room smelled very nice and was very clean. I had a problem with my reservation which the front desk fixed right away. It is across the street from a Walmart and a couple of other small shops. We ate at 5 Guys Burgers which was across the street as well, very convenient.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank msuivyci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dahlgren_hampton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Dahlgren, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
msuivyci,

It's great to hear you had such a good experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate your time in letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again.

-Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is very clean and tidy. Linda, Front Desk, is very pleasant and professional. She makes you feel welcome! The rooms are updated and everything worked. The pool was like brand new and great for the kids. I would definitely stay here agian if in the area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dahlgren_hampton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Dahlgren, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Charles H,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our Tripadvisor survey. We are glad you had such a great experience with us! We hope to see you should you need to travel this way again.

-Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlgren
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in King George
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites, Dahlgren
12.8 mi away
Best Western La Plata Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waldorf
Hampton Inn Waldorf
#1 of 12 in Waldorf
403 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express La Plata
25.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Dahlgren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dahlgren

Property: Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Address: 16450 Commerce Dr, Dahlgren, VA 22485-5844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Dahlgren
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dahlgren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dahlgren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Dahlgren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing