We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Far Far Away!!!!!!!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville/Roanoke North
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Daleville
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
“Stay Far Far Away!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The room was NASTY!!!! There is No way that we will ever return!!!! I have NEVER been to a hotel with such an appearance, smell, cleanliness, and/or service!!! The pictures do not represent the rooms at this hotel! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!

Room Tip: Ask where you can find another hotel..........DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    177
    174
    140
    101
See reviews for
262
186
113
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

People on here did not lie about this place! Front desk very good the rooms are great for the price if they were cleaned right. House keeping needs fired the towels really are yellow with a couple white ones mixed in. Hairs on the towels , hairs that do not match the towel hair in the beds. You could tell right away in our room one of the beds had been remade badly with the sheets not washed, Lamp shades are in the worse condition I ever scene hotel shades. I paid 37 total for this room on travelocity I do not expect much but its hard trying to sleep in a bed you know the sheets were not washed in. Pool rail still loose just like the review in June stated. Next time I will stay here but we will bring our own linens and ask house keeping for the vacuum .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daleville hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

- room smells so bad even turning air condition after couple hours
- pillows, bed linings were not clean and good condition
- bathroom not in good condition

Honestly, I rather to sleep in my tent instead of the bed :)

This is my opinion and try to be respectful but the truth is truth..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

While the staff at the front desk tried their best to make our stay pleasant an aging property and poor cleaning service took away from their efforts. The cleaning staff refolded used towells and rehung them rather than giving us fresh. Air conditioner worked but was a bit noisy. Free breakfast was pretty standard with some hot items included (biscuits and gravy and scrambled eggs), Breakfast room was spacious and clean. Overall probably OK for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Our family stays at the HoJo in Daleville at least four times a year because it is a convenient overnight stop while visiting family. The motel isn't new, and it hasn't been remodeled, but our room has always been clean. Just don't expect new and you shouldn't be disappointed. The staff is very helpful and welcoming. In all of my experiences here I have enjoyed talking to the staff - they're wonderful! The pool is fun in the summer. You are likely to encounter AT hikers in summer because the AT runs directly behind the HoJo and they are very welcoming to hikers. Good breakfast is included also.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethune, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Great location and the pool area was clean. Free internet connection worked without problems.
The room smelled bad, wallpaper peeling badly in several places, curtains stained, no washcloths or hand towels (they were out) the bath towels were yellowed and frayed. Luckly I had beach towels with me. You could hear the people in the next room (thin walls)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Walked in the a musty old dirty room to find a half empty mountain dew bottle the maid apparently didn't see in the obvious little cleaning that is done. Cannot believe people refer to this as a GEM.....I am OK with older motels/hotels but this is not only old its dirty and not maintained. The towels are gross they are worn with holes and we used a blowup mattress on top off the bed. Please stay away and save your money....we left at 430am because if the rooms were so fowl I cannot imagine how they must handle and recycle the food on the buffet.
I will say check in was super fast.....why you may ask??? They take no credit card information. This should have clued me in that they don't really care what happens to their rooms!!!! Again I never leave reviews but if I can save a family from our experience then its worth it...not a good start to a Father's Day for my poor hubby

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daleville
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Troutville
Comfort Inn Troutville
#4 of 5 in Troutville
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
8.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Daleville/Roanoke North

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Daleville/Roanoke North
Address: 437 Roanoke Rd, I-81 Exit #150 B, Daleville, VA 24083-3021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Daleville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Daleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Daleville/Roanoke North 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free deluxe continental. In-room microfridges, hair dryers, irons, coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Daleville/Roanoke North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem Hotel Daleville
Howard Johnson Daleville
Howard Johnson Hotel Daleville
Daleville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing