We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, easy trail”

Virginia Creeper Trail
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Damascus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A bike trail challenging to both beginners and experts.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, easy trail”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I rode the trail with some old college friends back in late September. This is probably the 34 easiest miles you could ride and it's incredible. It's mostly downhill, so you don't have to be a hardcore cyclist to handle it. It's well maintained, really pretty and makes for a great weekend trip if you want to camp out the night before or after near the trail head. There are plenty of places to rent if you don't have one of your own. I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys the outdoors.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    71
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good family fun!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Va. Creeper Trail is a good nature bike trail from ages 6 and up. Nothing difficult or troublesome about the trail. The town of Damascus which is right in the middle of the trail is the friendliest little town you will ever visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“bike the entire 34 miles for some of the best rail trail ever”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A shuttle from Damascus takes you almost to the top of this fabulously fun rail trail. a 1 mile easy climb from Whitetop Station will get you to the Carolina border where the rail trail ends at private land. then turn around and the real fun begins as you go back past the shuttle stop and head downhill. I've heard the trail can be really crowded on a Saturday, especially during peak season. Be sure to make a stop at Green Cove Station for a bit of historical memorabilia which was interesting. there was a restaurant along the way that served wonderful cake and ice cream; trail sign points the way. Most people stop in Damascus but biking on to Abingdon, with a stop at a winery, is worth the trip if you're willing to do some pedaling. The shuttle will pick you up there and return you to Damascus.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Bike Trail For the entire family”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a beautiful bike trail with the scenery changing each season. Mostly downhill so it was easy for our elementary school children to ride their own bikes. Our youngest rode in a pull behind which also providing space for extra clothes, snacks and cameras. There are plenty of places to pull over and enjoy the area or take a break. Need hand sanitizers for the no plumbing bathrooms and cash for the places to stop for snacks and lunch. Need to call ahead to reserve a spot on a van to take you to the top. We are already planning our springtime ride!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Schram5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lot of down hill coasting.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Loved this beautiful trail in the Fall. Our first time riding it and was hoping for a little more "pedaling" but got a lot of coasting instead. I would estimate maybe 10% of the almost 18 miles was pedaling, and that was level ground. But it was still very nice! We brought our own bikes and Sundog Outfitters shuttled us up to the top for a fee. Very curvy ride so if you tend to get nauseous, you better get a front seat on the shuttle bus.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LORA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virginia Creeper Trail also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Creeper Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing