We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow--A Wonderful Get-A-Way!drr”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sanders Mountain View Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Damascus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Such a memorable end to the summer when my daughter and I stayed at SMVL. When we first entered the living room, we walked over to the windows with the marvelous view of White Top Mt.and then onto the deck. But then we needed to select our room. With so many lovely ones to choose from, we decided finally on Grandma's Attic with its private bath and spacious area. All the bedrooms were so neat,with each having a different theme and special touches---really made you want to spend a night in each one. If my grandsons would have been with me, they would have selected the bunkhouse, just out back from the lodge. TV, games, and a uniqueness designed for the younger set. That evening we went out to the gazebo. We loved sitting around the fire pit enjoying s'mores and conversation while appreciating the serenity and beauty of our rural surroundings..

Exercise while enjoying the views was available by hiking, biking, or playing games on the acres of land at the lodge or on the nearby trails. Then too, my daughter and I could have used the assortment of equipment in the exercise room, made a trip to the sauna, or climbed in the whirlpool tub.
Really making this immaculately maintained lodge even more special were the inn keepers, Keith and Gail. The couple went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and enjoyable,making sure we had all we needed. What a delight to be with them! We intend to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Everything was wonderful!!! The beautiful view, spacious rooms and the Sanders' did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and memorable! The B & B was conveniently located near the Creeper Trail and the property was beautiful and allowed for unlimited activities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Phenomenal view, great food and the hospitality was fantastic. The hosts went way way above and beyond. This was a great place for our large family gathering and I would highly recommend joining the Sanders for a mountain stay. Our family loved the serene setting and 5 acres of property to wander, playing kick ball in the lawns and throwing horse shows.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 923jaym923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Not only is the house beautiful and the views spectacular, but the Inn Keepers were fantastic! The amount of care and attention they gave to our very large group was beyond belief. They really went the extra mile to make sure that we all had what we needed. The location was convenient to many activities and we could not have had a better time. Thank you Gail and Keith for all that you did!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a wonderful vacation! This B&B is truly idyllic and the hosts could not be any more welcoming and gracious. The beds are comfortable, the food is fantastic and plenty, and the mountain views are spectacular and peaceful. Of course our kids loved the bunkhouse and s'mores around the fire pit each night. Our family thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit and will return again soon. Sanders Mountain View Lodge is true Southern hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Nice B&B. The location is great. With the backdrop of the mountains of Southwest Virginia. The food and hospitality fantastic. If you are touring the area in a motorcar you will find the roads great for driving. The hosts are very friendly and you feel right at home. I would stay there again. Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Wonderful atmosphere for family getaway in the mountains. Lodge is spacious, comfortable, and peaceful. We spent night recently to see if this would work out for our children and grandkids later in summer. Hosts knocked themselves out to show us all the hot spots for outdoor adventure. We lined up reservations for bikes, noted picnic sites, fishing holes, and hiking trails. Even watched the sunset on White Top Mountain in less than 24 hours. Excellent food & hospitality.

Room Tip: Huge king suite, very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damascus
17.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
188 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
12.7 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
480 reviews
9.9 mi away
Millsap-Baker Estate
Millsap-Baker Estate
#4 of 5 in Damascus
36 reviews
9.6 mi away
Mountain Laurel Inn
Mountain Laurel Inn
#3 of 5 in Damascus
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanders Mountain View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanders Mountain View Lodge

Address: 560 Acorn Ln, Konnarock area near to Whitetop, Damascus, VA 24236-4150
Region: United States > Virginia > Damascus
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Damascus
Price Range: £68 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Lodge style Bed & Breakfast with a family atmosphere, offering 5 unique guest rooms. Great place to get away to. We are located about 3/4 up the mountain from Damascus, (9 miles) just off Hwy 58, in Konnarock, VA. We are about 1 mile off the route the shuttles take bikers to Whitetop Station to ride the Virginia Creeper Trail. We have a bike shop near station saving you the trip down to Damascus. Easy to get to from Exit #35 off I-81. Come and enjoy riding the Virginia Creeper Trail and stay with us. Rates one hundred to one twenty per night. We are kid friendly but can't accept pets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing