We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. But needs some tlc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Danville
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good location. But needs some tlc”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

After checkin our visit started with the back entrance not working. Had to carry luggage around to front to get in. Very cold 12 degrees. The rooms are great. Wonderful view facing river. Clean room and bathroom. Woke up to go to breakfast.... elevator not working. Down three flights to eat. Back up to get luggage. .back down to checkout. Breakfast ran out of apple juice and bacon. Nice place, but needs something.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jrgenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear jrgenterprises,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We're deeply sorry that some of our services were temporarily out of order during your visit, but glad you had a good stay overall. Our team will discuss your feedback as we aim to improve in the future and make sure our complimentary breakfast is always fully stocked. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you the next time you're in the area!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    56
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
21
1
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel in November for one night. We found the room and beds comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Both the room and the bathroom were clean. It would have been nice to have a river view, but all those rooms are king beds only. That is disappointing as our kids loved the view from their grandparents' room that did face the river. It is a quick trip down the street to the mall and a ton of restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can, book a king room so you can have a view of the river which is nicer than looking at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLE212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear WLE212,

Thanks for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express! We love the river view too and apologize that your guest room didn't have one - but we're always happy to accommodate requests for one as long as we have the availability. Otherwise, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our service excellent. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Danville!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

My little girl and I spent the night here on the way to visit family for Thanksgiving. I normally make reservations well in advance, but this time did not. We had no trouble getting a room. I was delighted to get a room with a river view at no additional charge! The gentleman that checked us in even gave us complimentary bottles of water and allowed my daughter and I to each choose from a snack basket! He told us when they would be serving freshly baked cookies in the lobby later that evening! Our room was spotless! The king sized bed was very comfortable - even with a 7 year old! The hotel was quiet. I will definitely stay here on our next trip through the area!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Karen D,

We appreciate you writing about your recent experience at our hotel and are very pleased that you had a great stay! I hope you had a nice Thanksgiving celebration with your family. Thanks again for your review and we can't wait to see you the next time you're in Danville!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caeur D Alene
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service very from the front desk they have specials during the day with cookies and milk they have a manager special at night with cheese and wine great option when you are in town Greatview of the river and right behind the hotel is the Riverwalk to go running by the park

Did not have the gym although they give you a pass for local gym but not in the building that was a minus

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Jaime U,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we're very happy to read that you had a great visit overall! It's also great you enjoyed our manager's reception and proximity to the Riverwalk Trail. We do apologize that we do not contain an on-site gym, but we do indeed complimentary passes to an off-site facility. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Danville!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great location right on the river. The staff was very friendly. We stayed on a Wednesday night and enjoyed the manager's reception. They had soft drinks, fresh fruit and chicken sandwiches. They had two adult sized bikes and one child's bike that you could use. We just had to sign them out and sign a waiver. My sister and I rode all the way down the riverwalk. Our kids had a great time running, walking and skateboarding on the trail.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The rooms could use some updating, but the hotel's hospitality made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3peasinapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear 3peasinapod,

Thanks for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express; I'm glad to read that you could take advantage of the manager's reception and our location on the Riverwalk trail, as well as that you had a clean and comfortable stay overall. We appreciate your other feedback as well and look forward to your next stay with us! Thank you again for the review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Back in town to see family. Stayed here shortly after it opened in 2010 & it was beautiful, so figured we'd go for it again. Amazing what 3 yrs of use can do to a place. Although still very clean, the wallpaper, dressers, etc., had visible wear & are in need of replacement. I know many Holiday Inn's are being updated, so possibly on the list? Staff were super friendly as well. Housekeeper forgot us the 2nd day,said the "Do Not Disturb" sign was out. We had left at 11:15am... They took about 1/3 off our bill & explained they had some new staff. No big deal. Sent night manager up to take out trash/towels & give new. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you need a pleasant, nice place with no frills.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUTravelor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear KUTravelor75,

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm happy to read that you found us so clean and will pass your comments regarding our furnishings onto the rest of our team for discussion - I do apologize that your most recent stay was not as enjoyable as your first. I am glad, however, that our staff was able to efficiently resolve your issue with our housekeeping team. If you'd like to discuss further, please reach out to me at the number below. Otherwise, we are thankful for your recommendation and hope to see you again the next time you're in Danville! Thanks again for your review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our experience at this hotel was very good. The location is close to the river with a lovely riverwalk. The breakfast was very good and included the standard items. The bed was comfortable and the room was well decorated. The bathroom was small. The a/c unit was loud and ran constantly. The only way to overcome this was to turn it off which made the room warm. Otherwise, this is a good choice for a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Renee B,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review & agree that the Riverwalk Trail right behind us is a fantastic place to go for a nice walk or run! I'm also glad you found your guest room comfortable and well-furnished, though apologize for the issue with the AC unit and our team will discuss your feedback to help improve our guest experience. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you for another stay soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Danville hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Danville
109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#2 of 11 in Danville
277 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
57 reviews
1.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Danville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Danville
Address: 2121 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Danville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the best hotel for fitness and exercise in Danville, VA. Situated on Riverside Drive overlooking the Dan River, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Danville combines a convenient location, stunning natural scenery and value-added amenities. Check out a complimentary bike or take a run on the Riverwalk Trail to Carrington Pavilion, Dan Daniel Park and Civil War sites in historic downtown. Slip into our outdoor pool after a long day or lounge on our back deck, soaking up the sun. Come to the lobby for iced fruit cups during the day and fresh-baked cookies every evening. Free Wifi, Free Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Danville Hotel Danville
Holiday Inn Danville
Danville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing