We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lobby and rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Danville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Danville
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice lobby and rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Typical Courtyard with a really nice staff...From the baristas to the maid staff, to the front desk.

The starbucks bistro is open for breakfast and light fare dinner, but you can order coffees throughout the day. Free lobby coffee in am only, No ice water with lemons etc in lobby like other Courtyards and I missed both. A little away from shopping are, but a quick drive.

Comfy beds and a good stay,

Room Tip: Try the checkered pig fro BBQ-yummy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemeaway1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    58
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
27
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel while on a brief stop in Danville to explore family history. I think that reviews of the bistro/restaurant are a bit over-stated. It's a small snack bar that serves sandwiches and largely microwaved food (the eggs at breakfast for example), but it's attractive, brand new, and the booths with the built-in individual televisions are a nice place to sit and have a drink in the evening. With that said, the lobby area including the bistro, business center, and seating/TV area were all lovely and looked well-maintained (no stains on the upholstery, for example).

We had a room with a king-size bed with mostly white linens (for that hotel/spa look) and red and gold elsewhere. There was a good work area, which we appreciated. It was all clean and well-maintained. The rooms were also quiet, considering that the hotel is near a highway. We were able to find a Ruby Tuesday's nearby for dinner instead of eating at the Bistro.

I would definitely stay there again if circumstances bring me back to Danville.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Va
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

There are certain standards you expect from Marriott. There are also certain things you expect when you roll into Danville. If you know anything about the town you know they've done a lot to 'upgrade' the city. Which is why I think the Courtyard is the best hotel I've stayed at in D'ville. The place looks great, very contemporary lobby and bar area. I noticed each table at the bar had individual TVs. There was also a nice gazebo out back that was really nice to sit in and have a drink and enjoy the cool night, esp since the Danville air didn't stink like it often can. The only thing that was a concern was the bathroom linens were tossed around the room. Well, maybe not literally tossed, but there was a washcloth by the TV. I'm a guy, and my brain went straight in the wrong direction. So that was disheartening, but everything else was great. The AC units were a little old, but they were sufficient. Quite honestly, this room was nicer than the Marriott by the San Fran airport. This will certainly be our first choice for hotels in Danville. I expected it to be nice because it was a Marriott, but I was surprised how nice it was given that it's in Danville.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fish_the_Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
357 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This is a nice hotel for the area. The beds are nice, rooms are clean. This hotel has just had a major overhaul in the lobby and restaurant. It now has the updated restaurant area like all of the courtyards. I like the quick breakfasts with Starbucks coffee. Good place for the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Very nice hotel that has gone the extra mile. They have a small bistro inside that serves a limited menu and a snack shop area. There is also a business center, outside pool, gazebo area for sitting outside and a lounge area inside. The hotel was very clean and all the staff I came in contact with were very polite and friendly. I would definitely stay at this Marriott again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a discount by military, government employee, etc. We booked online as the prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomToBTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxboro NC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The hotel itself is lovely. Has a great lobby with the best books to read and/or browse through. I took down some of the names and immediately wanted to down load them to my Kindle. Had separate computer and printer to print airline tickets and the computers for guests to use were always available. The little cafe in the lobby was nice and I was able to have a good breakfast. The bar area did close at 10 pm on Saturday evening but the serve accommodated me with a glass of wine at 10:05; I thought that was excellent customer service. Rooms were really nice and comfortable and quiet. I awoke a little after midnight and had major hunger pains. I went to the lobby where they have the Marketplace and was able to get a cup of Hagan ice cream which made me really feel at home!. Items in the marketplace were a little more price than I thought they should be but you are paying for "convenience". Not having a local paper, especially on Sunday, was disappointing to me but the hotel said they didn't sell well, so the paper stopped being delivered there. They did of course have the USA TODAY for their guests. The entire staff -housekeeping especially were very friendly and helpful. They have a great interactive message board in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank channingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

2 queen beds on the 2nd floor. Decent size bathroom and balcony. The balcony overlooked a "gazebo" with some nice outdoor furniture. The room and hotel were pretty clean. The lobby was very nice with a small convenience store to buy things like drinks (beer included) that you could pay for at the front desk. The snack bar/bar closed pretty early on Friday night. Housekeepers and other staff were very friendly. The exercise room was small, but well kept. It had 2 elipticals and 1 treadmill, a bench and some free weights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wc4572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Eden
Hampton Inn Eden
#1 of 3 in Eden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Danville

Property: Courtyard Danville
Address: 2136 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540-4215
Region: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Danville 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Danville is a full service hotel offering our Bistro for made to order breakfast and dinner. Enjoy a comfortable room, or spacious suite. The Courtyard Danville is located along the Dan River near historic Danville, Virginia. Enjoy free wi-fi, outdoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Danville Hotel Danville
Danville Courtyard
Danville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing