We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Finest on the Middle Peninsula” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heaven Scent Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deltaville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heaven Scent Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Deltaville B&B and Inns
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Finest on the Middle Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Though I have read and used TripAdvisor many times in the past, I have never felt compelled to write a review about a destination. After staying at the Heaven Scent Bed and Breakfast over the weekend, it is the very least that I can do to show my appreciation to Pat Patterson, the owner and proprietress of this wonderful home.

Having visited the Middle Peninsula since I was a young child, I feel right at home in Middlesex County. From the Piankatank down the peninsula and back upriver on the Rappahanock, there are countless activities in which to participate. Shopping, boating, golf, dining, and sightseeing are just a few activities that are right outside the doors of Heavens Scent. And whether it is preparing for, or recovering from a long day, this splendid facility welcomes you with open arms.

The warmth of the farmhouse and its lovely gardens almost beckon you down the driveway to a secluded piece of property wonderfully painted with the colors of mature perennials on a canvas of mature English Boxwoods. The more one explores on the grounds, the more they see the amount of work that goes into maintaining this splendid garden which wraps around the entire house providing true privacy from the rest of life's daily responsibilities.

Upon entering the home, you are greeted by Pat's dog and cat. Their calm dispositions reflect the experience one attains while staying at Heaven Scent. Pat, a transplant of St. Louis through Chicago and later NYC to Deltaville is a most gracious host that is constantly thinking of her guests' needs. The food was spectacular, the home was spotless, and the company was devine.

The other reviews of this property sum up the fine details about Heaven Scent. Rating this property is easy since all the amenities were top-notch, plentiful, and lovingly put together. I have already recommended this B&B to some of my closest friends that they come see what we enjoyed ourselves.

Pat, thank you for a wonderful stay and a great breakfast while we visited your lovely house.

Warmest regards,
John C. Wheary

Room Tip: The blue room will sleep three comfortably and the other rooms have huge, comfortable brds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCWheary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had a delightful visit here, with our two small dogs, and wonderful breakfasts. Our hostess, Pat, went out of her way to make us feel at home and like family. We were able to share our last breakfast with our daughter & beau, with whom we were visiting, and certainly feel like we now have a second home in Deltaville. Our room was tastefully done with every possible thing we might want available.

Room Tip: The pet friendly rooms are on the second floor with a fairly steep staircase. Our small shih-tzu'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandit1DaytonaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lynn and I just spent 2 nights at Heaven Sent. We are not usually B&B customers. We chose Heaven Scent while attending a boating group rendezvous in the area. What a special place! Pat goes out of her way to be a caring, warm, and gracious host. She can't do enough to make you feel welcome during your stay and does all she can to please. We enjoyed our stay and feel we have a new friend. We recommend Heaven Scent for people looking for lodging in the area or looking for a special getaway.we need to find an excuse to go back.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kirk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST Paul, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

After years of staying at wonderful B & B's I have to say the Pat the host is one of the most charming, interesting, pleasant and helpful proprietor. This and a warm, beautiful, farmhouse with a European charm. I can't forget to mention the wonderful breakfast and snacks she had for us as well; she is a culinary star in our book.

Pat was helpful with local knowledge, and events to recommend in the quaint town of Deltaville and the surrounding area. Her home is a quiet respite yet minutes from town and the marinas. It is clean and very comfortable.

We are coming back again in May! Stop by to visit this lovely spot sometime.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquavitgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We found the Heaven Scent B&b to be peaeful and relaxing. We were sceranaded by the bull frogs, enjoyed the gardens and the ambiance. Pat was accommodating. Breakfast times were flexible to meet our schedule and the food was fabulous. Pat could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We recommended Heaven Scent to our family in the area for future visitors and plan to return.
William J.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Wonderfully appointed rooms, a stellar breakfast, and quiet, well-kept grounds. We wish we were able to visit more often - Heaven Scent is a gem of a B&B that we are happy to recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannalou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

While looking for a property to purchase in the Deltaville area, my wife and I had the pleasant experience of staying at Heaven Scent. Of all the things that we could talk about, perhaps the most memorable is the proprietor, Pat, whose gracious hospitality absolutely made our visit the pleasant experience it was. Pat runs a homey establishment with lots of nick knacks and memorabilia to keep you entertained and occupied if you so wish. The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was similar. There are extensive grounds surrounding the B&B and that made for a nice walks in both the afternoon and evening. Pat also has lovely flower gardens that were in full bloom during our visit. One of the outstanding experiences we had was Pat's breakfast. Fit for a King and Queen - It was great! Stay at Heaven Scent and you will experience "Old Deltaville" charm and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deltaville
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
8.7 mi away
Chesapeake Bay RV Resort
Chesapeake Bay RV Resort
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven Scent Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven Scent Bed & Breakfast

Property: Heaven Scent Bed & Breakfast
Address: 14180 General Puller Hwy, Deltaville, VA 23043
Region: United States > Virginia > Deltaville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deltaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse B&B outside the region's boating capital, Deltaville, VA. Great food and comfort, friendly hospitality. Plenty of space for visiting with friends. Pets in residence (dog and cat). Well off the main road, quiet and relaxing, extensive gardens. Ground-floor and upstairs rooms, private baths, king beds in 3 rooms, queen & twin in the other. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing