We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre at best”

Prince George Family BBQ
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Disputanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“mediocre at best”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

minced (not pulled) pork was a little dry and not very flavorful and both sandwiches had chunks of hard gristle, the "award winning" sauce had hints of cinnamon and pepper along with a note of apple cider vinegar and did improve the sandwich overall but there was nothing to write home about... dining room and restroom were very clean. dining tables a bit close together, tough to squeeze through.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stopped by on our way home from a day trip for lunch and both of us were very impressed with our meals. My wife had the chicken tenders with sides of coleslaw and sweet potato tots. First time we had seen the tots but they were very tasty. I had a minced bbq with an order of the best onion rings I have had in years. They were busy but we were seated and served within a few minutes. It was very clean and the waitress was very friendly. Since we don't live too far away we plan on going there again in the next few weeks to give breakfast a try, the breakfast menu looked promising.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
244 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“1st time”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We're on our way to Florida and stopped in Petersburg to overnight. The restaurant showed up on our Garmin so we decided to try it. As soon as you walk in you are greeted by the staff and the restaurant is very clean and inviting. The restrooms are also very clean, which says a lot about the owners and the probable cleanliness of the kitchen. We ordered fried chicken and a 1/2 rack of ribs w/slaw, beans, fries, rolls and hush puppies. The meals were very good and the homemade BBQ sauce on the table was just the right amount of vinegar with a small kick. The portions were plenty large enough for both of us. Our server was very good and she checked in us periodically w/o being intrusive to make sure everything was okay or if we needed anything else. When in the area, we would definitely eat here again. We definitely recommend it to others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnemede, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick and friendly!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on the way up 95. Quick and friendly service. Food was good but portions left something to be desired. Family friendly for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Catebenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not worth the time!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was on my way back from VA Beach, stopped in to try this place.
I was not very impressed to say the least.
Had the brisket which was over cooked and very dry.
I will not be stopping there again, my opinion not worth the stop.
There are many places that are much better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hvacrsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prince George Family BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Prince George Family BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing