We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30 years ago”
Review of Centerstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centerstone Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
District Heights, Maryland
1 review
“30 years ago”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel about 30 years ago and believe me they haven't changed a thing it smells old dirty moldy it looks like it might have bedbugs although we didn't see any. but PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY its not worth it. we had the most horrible night sleep we ever had in our entire lives.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms its time to upgrade this hotel i wll never stay there again until they do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veretta41113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire staff, I sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional! We are currently in the process of designing a new layout of a room renovation that will add a sense of a more modern decor to our rooms. Here at Kings Quarters, we always strive to ensure that each guest has an exceptional stay during their time with us. It saddens us to hear that your stay was anything less than that. If at any time you experience any issues with your room or any of the amenities around the property, please feel free to contact the Front Desk immediately. There is an agent available to assist you 24 hours daily with any needs that you may have.

Yours in hospitality,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    181
    178
    95
    85
See reviews for
434
109
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked 3 rooms the day of my arrival. We waited because of expected weather but decided to go ahead with our trip. The reservation clerk was very friendly on the phone and my reservation was waiting when I got there. She offered me the manager's special and we were very appreciative. As far as location, you can't beat it. The rooms were ample and clean and were available when we got there which was a plus. The shuttle service to KD was a little slow we thought, but it could have been just our timing was off and it was longer than it seemed. Regardless, due to a terrible rainstorm at the park, we left and missed the shuttle and decided to walk to the hotel, and it was a very close walk and very doable with small children. I will say the Denny's that evening was very slow and we were given a 20% discount due to the length of time it took to get our meal after ordering. Most of our party enjoyed their menu selections. Breakfast the next morning was enjoyed by all and the service was much faster. Our kids enjoyed the game room at the hotel. We did not take advantage of the pool or outside games due to the inclement weather but it looked nice. My kids did play on the outdoor playset the morning we left while we were packing and enjoyed it. I do not have any problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cansecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to start by saying thank you for staying with us here at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at Kings Quarters, we always want our guests to feel that they are a part of our extended family. I'm glad to hear that our staff was able to provide you will exceptional service. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Rooms were not clean. No cont. breakfast - only choice is to purchase from Denny's which has poor food and poor service. There were skunks in the courtyard - yes skunks! We stayed 2 nights and room was not cleaned after first night - we had to ask for clean towels. Rooms smelled moldy. Floors were not vacuumed. In room coffee was nasty - only other option was to purchase. We stayed here to take advantage of shuttle service to kings dominion but will not stay again. There are too many nicer hotels in the area for same or better price. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onenadozn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. I have passed your comments in regards to the cleanliness and odor of your room to our Executive Housekeeper, so that we are able to ensure that these issues do not occur again. If at any time you experience issues with your room or any of the amenities around the property, please feel free to contact the Front Desk immediately! There is an agent available to assist you 24 hours daily. Again, I do sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. It is our hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with exceptional service!

Yours in hospitality,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We were a group of 5 families (21 adults and children) wanting to spend the Labor Day weekend at Kings Dominion and this hotel was a natural choice, due to its convenient location. Rooms are rather tired but generally clean. Ample parking (saves $15 per vehicle parking in the park) and within walking distance to the park. Also good view of the park's fireworks in the evenings from the hotel grounds if you decide upon leaving the park earlier. On site Denny's is a real attraction but unfortunately was let down by the lack of kitchen staff over that weekend - thus having long waits for dinner (8/31) and breakfast (9/1). But servers were extremely polite and tried their best to keep disgruntled customers calm (not their fault but kitchen's shortage). The food upon arrival was good. What the families loved the most was the facilities in the hotel - a nice clean pool, putting green, tennis courts, table tennis table etc. which kept the children engaged. They also allowed BBQ on the grounds which again was well received by the families - having a late night gathering around small fire for smores and a couple of beers! Overall, a great experience. Would have given a 5-star review if not for the rooms being somewhat tired and the Denny's long wait experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobQuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire staff, we are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We are glad to hear that you were able to spend time with your family and enjoy your Labor Day weekend. I do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced in the Denny's restaurant. We are currently designing a new layout for a room renovation that will add a more modern decor to our rooms. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarentum, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

While the hotel property itself is nice, rooms clean, and spacious, and the location next to Kings Dominion is nice, the service leaves a lot to be desired. I called about an hour in advance for a room; upon arrival, there were a few people sitting in the lobby, but the front desk was deserted. I walked up, and kept yelling "hello" and finally, after about 5 minutes, a girl emerges from the back, stinking like a ciggarette, and instead of asking "may I help you" or something of that nature, just kind of tilts her head and looks at me like "what do you want." The whole time she was checking me in, she was rushing through everything. I could see her gentleman caller in the back, perhaps she was eager to get back to what she was doing with him. Not a very good first impression. The directions she gave to the room (outdoor entrances with multiple buildings) were poor, took ahwhile to find our room. Our room had a good view, but faced this courtyard where there was a swimming pool and tennis courts. There were several teenagers on the courts making a lot of noise- this was 1115 at night, and no one was doing anything about it. The common areas should be shut down at a reasonable time. They boasted having a pizza shop in the hotel, I called the extension for it, there was no answer, so the call was automatically directed to the front desk, and they were clueless as to whether or not the shop was still open- it was supposed to still be open, but upon further checking, they closed early that night without explanation, and I could not find another pizza shop to deliver. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. I have passed your comments in regards to the service you received at the Front Desk to our Front Office Manager, so that he is able to speak with that representative and ensure that it does not occur again! Our interior courtyard is fully operational until midnight each evening. However, if there is ever an issue with noise, please feel free to let us know immediately. We are always willing to ensure that the noise level is maintained to tolerable level until it is closed. It is our hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service!

Yours in hospitality,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

If you are visiting Kings Dominion you should definitley stay at the BW Kings Quarters. The convenience to Kings Dominion is apparent as soon as you arrive. You can walk to the park or they have a shuttle. We always choose to walk there and catch a ride back because by the end of the day we are all walked out. It is our favorite, my niece and I have been taking this trip since she has been 12, she is 19 now. We usually stay two nights and visit the park two days.
The rooms are nice, clean, comfortable! The bathroom area was clean. The pool is an added bonus, it is so nice and clean. There is a game room, a bar on site. They have a 24 hour Dennys and a Uno's pizza. We love it there and recommend to everyone that they stay there. I know I am hyping it up, don't expect a Marriot because that is not what it is. It is a Best Western, it is clean, comfortable and convenient!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dewar Valued Guest, It is with appreciation that we read your glowing review of our hotel. Our goal is to always provide an excellent guest experience, not only in our lodging but with our entire facility. We thank you for your continued patronage and support and hope that we continue to be your choice for lodging while visiting Kings Dominion for many years to come.
Yours in hospitality,
Dave Clausen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammonton, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Just returned after a two night stay at the Best Western Kings Quarters hotel. Very clean accommodations, great location and very nice staff. Very convenient location within walking distance of theme park. They offer a free shuttle to and from the park but it's literally a 10min walk. Will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on poolside are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make every guests' stay enjoyable and fun by providing clean, comfortable accommodations. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
92 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
274 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Inn

Property: Centerstone Inn
Address: 16102 Theme Park Way, Interstate 95 and Route 30, Doswell, VA 23047 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters)
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centerstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Centerstone Inn. We are conveniently located next door to Kings Dominion Theme Park, and a hotel partner for the Virginia Sports Complex and the Meadow Event Park. We're just minutes from a host of exciting area attractions and you'll find a wonderful selection of shopping and dining nearby. The property is close to the State Fair of Virginia which can't be missed. We're located walking distance to Kings Dominion Theme Park. Corporate guests enjoy business services and superior meeting facilities. Enjoy an on site Denny's restaurant open 24 hours with delicious deals like the Grand Slam. The courtyard features a game room next to a swimming pool and tennis courts. Play ping pong, set the kids free in the children's play area, or head to the putting green for a little swing action on your trip. Randolph Macon College is in the neighborhood, and our Doswell hotel is a favorite for students and faculty alike. While in town, don't miss the chance to see Secretariat's birthplace and a NASCAR(R) race at nearby Richmond International Raceway. Restaurants include UNO's Pizza, the King's Lounge Cocktail Lounge and a poolside Tiki Bar. Located right off I-95, this pet-friendly and family-oriented hotel is ideal for any vacation or business trip. Plus, the premium amenities provide all the comforts of home. Book your kingly stay at the Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Quarters! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centerstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kings Quarters Hotel Doswell
Best Western Hotel Doswell
Doswell Best Western
Best Western Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing