We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adequate hotel for a Kings Dominion Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that this is a nice 2* hotel that has the basics - a clean, comfortable room that is a good place to sleep when visiting Kings Dominion. For any other purpose, there are nicer hotel options in the north-Richmond area.

The lobby is a bit dated, but not dirty. Check-in was a breeze and the employees were very helpful in explaining the amenities when checking-in.

The room we had was with 2 double beds. The room included some dated furniture (dresser, table and two chairs, etc). The TV was recently updated as it was a flat-screen with a decent selection of channels.

The bathroom was clean and had the toilet and tub/shower in a separate room (I always prefer this in hotels).

The biggest perk of the hotel was not having to pay for parking at Kings Dominion (currently $15 per vehicle) as it is an easy walk to the front gate (closer than most parking spaces at Kings Dominion).

They also offer ticket packages that save you money when booking through the hotel.

The pool area is nice for families - wouldn't recommend the Tiki bar (looked like a wooden shed set up by the pool). Courtney in the lounge was especially nice on Saturday, June 8. Kudos to her as she was our waitress at Denny's the next morning for breakfast (not sure about her bosses scheduling someone to close a bar and then serve breakfast the next morning).

Overall, would recommend for those travelling to Kings Dominion.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 235 which overlooked the Kings Dominion Parking lot (this side of the building was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

We want to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We aim to provide each guest with great service along with comfortable accommodations. Our courtyard is aimed at providing a place where kids and families can enjoy their time together apart from being at Kings Dominion. We hope to be your choice of lodging during your next visit to our area.
Dave Clausen, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

The site at Kings Dominion was very clean and comfortable. The rooms also come equipped with microwaves and small refrigerators which made it nice to keep drinks cold. Staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating as well...A bonus that you could walk across the lot to the entrance of the park or take the shuttle service over and not absorb the cost of parking fees. The outside pool, tennis courts, shuffle board deck and play ground were very clean and well maintained. Nice to have a Denny's right on the property to for either a late night bite after being at the park or a good breakfast before heading out for the day...The UNO's could have been better. Was not impressed with the fact that when ordering subs that they were out of cheese and Italian dressing. The lounge and Tiki bar were also a nce addition for a late night drink after all was said and done for the day. Would definitely stay here again on the next trip the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us here at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced with the UNO's Pizzeria on-site. Unfortunately, the hotel does not operate any of the Food & Beverage venues on the property. However, you are our guest and we always strive to ensure that each guest has an exceptional stay during their time with us. I have passed your comments to the Food & Beverage Director, so that we can ensure that this does not occur again. We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

very pleasant, clean & extremly affordable. bathroom fan was a little loud but other than that it was great. we had a good dinner at dennys & we were able to park our pickup truck with our trailered Harleys on it right next to our room. Front desk people very nice

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are elated to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. We greatly appreciate you staying with us during your travels. If at any time you experience any difficulties with your room, please feel free to contact the Front Desk immediately. There is an agent available 24 hours daily to assist with any issues that you may encounter. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Very nice hotel! The service was caring to any question about anything. I went with my family of 6. We stayed for only 2 days but wished we could of stayed longer. The room we stayed in was great for us as a large family. It had a nice outdoor pool, tennis cort, golf course, and playground. It had a Deneys on the side that had great food. The hotel was in the best location I was just off of the interstate and about 2 miles from Meadow Stable. WILL BE STAYING HERE NEXT YEAR!!! Reconmend it to everyone.

The hotel is right by King's Dominion. The location is great is just out side of all the stores, restrants, ect. We are a family of six and had tons of things to do as a family, but there were many couples as well. The room that we were in was very nice. It had a full bath room. It also included so nice things such as a coffee maker, mini frige, micowave, heater/cooler, and iron with a ironing board. We had two twin beds and a fold out couch. We had a TV but it only had a few channels (but we were out at shops and sites so we didn't watch much). The staff was very help full with many things. There was a playground and tennis court with a Denny's on the side

Room Tip: The TV does not have many channels (but my family and I weere shoping and site seeing so we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I would first like to take a moment to thank you for staying with us here at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We are elated to hear that you had an exceptional stay during your time here with us. It is not often that our staff is highly complimented for the genuine care that we portray to each of our guests. We are happy that your family was able to enjoy the amenities around our facility. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

While this hotel has been around a long time, it is in good condition, the location makes it a great selection for a Kings Dominion vacation, and everything you need is right there. We went with our son and 8-year-old grandson for the grandson's birthday, and had a fabulous time! They have a putting green, ping-pong, pool, and arcade, which kept us busy the night we arrived. The park is only a 5-minute walk (they have free shuttle service, but you won't need it); a Denny's restaurant is attached to the hotel, as well as a pizza place. Everything you need, all in one place. The rooms were comfortable, large, and clean, with new TVs installed.
Note: A train does go through around 11 pm and again around 3 am, but it didn't really bother us.

We got a great deal with the hotel and tickets to Kings Dominion -- it saved us a bundle on park tickets.

Room Tip: We could see some of the fireworks from our room,which faced the park (200 building). It was a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to thank you for staying with us here at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We are elated to hear that you and your family were able to thoroughly enjoy your time while you were here with us. We would be more than glad to have you here with us again, so that your son and grandson are able to enjoy the many amenities that we have here. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel is on the Kings Dominion Theme Park Property, even tho it is across from a seedy looking truck stop, once you pull in to the hotel you never would be able to tell there's a truck stop across the street. The staff was super friendly and helped us out a lot. They have a wonderful Bar, Denny's and a take out Uno Pizza place for your dining needs. The rooms were very comfortable. The bath room was very tiny but it only has the toilet and the shower, the sinks are out in the room. They have a nice size pool and tennis court. They also work very well with the Theme Park. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to thank you for staying with us here at Kings Quarters. We are always elated to hear that our guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay during their time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another exciting getaway for you and your family!

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Heading back to NH after several weeks in Fla we spent a night in Doswell. Best Western is most always our choice to stay, but at a "theme park" we were not sure what to expect. Everyone was most cordial and very friendly -with always a hello. The room was very clean and the carpeting was new. The room had all the amenities one needs. Since the weather was chilly I could have used an extra blanket and would have asked for one if we stayed for more than one night.

Room Tip: I liked being near the office and restaurant but at that time of year there were not a lot of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanAnneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to the BEST WESTERN brand. We are always elated to hear that our guests were serviced with superior customer care from their arrival until their departure. If at any time you need any additional items for your room, please feel free to contact the Front Desk immediately. There is an agent available to assist you 24 hours daily. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), VA
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
116 reviews
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion

Address: 16102 Theme Park Way, Interstate 95 and Route 30, Doswell, VA 23047-1914 (Formerly Centerstone Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range: £41 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welcome to Centerstone Inn. We are conveniently located next door to Kings Dominion Theme Park, and a hotel partner for the Virginia Sports Complex and the Meadow Event Park. We’re just minutes from a host of exciting area attractions and you’ll find a wonderful selection of shopping and dining nearby. Centerstone Inn is a pet-friendly hotel with plenty of free parking, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and a laundromat. Our property includes a seasonal outdoor pool, lounge, bar, tennis courts, a fun-filled family entertainment courtyard, and 24-hour video game arcade, as well as two delicious restaurants on-site. We have a variety of accommodations to fit your individual, group or family needs at Centerstone Inn, including a microwave, refrigerator, and sleeper sofa in select units. With an expanded cable TV package, comfortable beds with crisp, clean linens and all the comforts of home, the perfect place to stay in Doswell is Centerstone Inn." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kings Quarters Hotel Doswell
Best Western Hotel Doswell
Doswell Best Western
Best Western Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing