We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time”
Review of Centerstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centerstone Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Hagerstown, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My family and I stay at the Best Western Kings Quarters each time we visit Kings Dominion. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, and we always have a great time. We are sure to visit again. Our hotel of choice is Best Western Kings Quarters.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    181
    177
    93
    83
See reviews for
429
107
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very good, little pricey but it's at a major tourist attraction, what can ya expect The in-room electrical is very inadequate, needs to be modernized to accommodate today's electronics, computers, I-pads, c-paps, phone chargers, etc....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centereach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Went to Kings Dominion for the day and after stayed at the Best Western walking distance from park. Great place after park. Staff was helpful and the amenities to the hotel was opened till midnight. Def. would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel was right on the King's Dominion property and had some nice amnemities. They let us do an early check in which was great, we were able to check in and take the shuttle over to KD for the day. When we got back to the hotel around 10:00pm we took the kids to the pool (which was open until 12am and had a tiki bar!), there only a handful of people at the pool when we got there but about 30 min after we were out there groups of kids (ages ranged from babies to teenagers) kept coming out to pool, and most of them did not have parents with them and there is no lifeguard so it was chaos! I had 2 children (5 & 6) in the pool and we had to take them back to room due to so many people in pool! We ate at Denny's in the morning but unfortunatley received poor service there until the manager had to come out and help serve/take orders because it was so packed! This hotel would be a great place if it wasn't so overcrowded, oh they also have a pizza place onsite (the pizza was delicious!) which was open until 12am and will deliver to your room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel has an excellent opportunity to develop into a more popular resort setting within walking distance of Kings Dominion. The pool, shuffle board, ping pong table, tennis, game room, Uno's pizza, and Denny's on site and KD next door could be a great attraction for families looking for a resort setting vacation. Unfortunately, the rooms as well as the totality of the hotel did not appear nor smell clean. From the sticky seats at Denny's, to the cloudy pool water, to the strong smelling dumpsters, to the trash in the walkways, to the dirty bathroom floors, to the grimy tv remote, to the unclean smell of the room - there was a lot more detail to cleanliness that could make a visitors trip more enjoyable. I am likely going to visit one of the four other, lower priced, hotels in the immediate area the next time I visit KD. More detail to the cleaning in ALL areas of the hotel would greatly improve guests experiences.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not beside the trash dumpsters. Best view is the pool side or KD park view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 399123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We recently stay Wednesday. The staff were excellent, all the housekeepers we ran into were very welcoming (kudos to being so polite). We had no problem checking in, and it was wonderful being able to get a room and having it ready at 11am, wow! This is our second time staying here, so I knew what to expect. The beds are small, but comfy! Not enough pillows, once again! I called front desk and asked for 2 extras, and they said they had no more. The shuttle to Kings dominion is a joke, the wait times are anywhere from 20-40 mins. When we arrived back at the hotel after we went to kings dominion, around 8ish, We walked into the room, somehow the radio was blaring from the alarm clock, (creepy) and all the lights were turned off, knowing we left one lamp light on. Once I turned the music off, 30 mins later the alarm went off, very frustrating. Since our previous experience from finding a phone last year under the bed last year, we decided to check under again. haha, we found a light up mouth piece, and a moldy pretzel. The bathrooms are small, but I love how the shower has great water pressure. All in all, it was a good overnight stay, bit pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of all of the staff here at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters, we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your compliments of the friendliness of our staff around the property. We always strive to ensure that each guest understands that they are a part of our large, extended family! I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with items under your bed skirt and your alarm clock. I have passed your comments regarding those items to our Executive Housekeeper, so that we are able to set a plan of action in place to resolve this difficulty. We hope to see you all again soon!

Sincerely yours,

David Clausen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel and staff were excellent - very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We had no problems and had a great time. Location was next to Kings Dominion and a shuttle took us door to door to Kings Dominion - very short wait time. Hotel had tennis plus pool - very inviting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us! We are certainly ecstatic to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us without any difficulties! We hope to see you all again very soon.

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Inn

Property: Centerstone Inn
Address: 16102 Theme Park Way, Interstate 95 and Route 30, Doswell, VA 23047 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters)
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centerstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Centerstone Inn. We are conveniently located next door to Kings Dominion Theme Park, and a hotel partner for the Virginia Sports Complex and the Meadow Event Park. We're just minutes from a host of exciting area attractions and you'll find a wonderful selection of shopping and dining nearby. The property is close to the State Fair of Virginia which can't be missed. We're located walking distance to Kings Dominion Theme Park. Corporate guests enjoy business services and superior meeting facilities. Enjoy an on site Denny's restaurant open 24 hours with delicious deals like the Grand Slam. The courtyard features a game room next to a swimming pool and tennis courts. Play ping pong, set the kids free in the children's play area, or head to the putting green for a little swing action on your trip. Randolph Macon College is in the neighborhood, and our Doswell hotel is a favorite for students and faculty alike. While in town, don't miss the chance to see Secretariat's birthplace and a NASCAR(R) race at nearby Richmond International Raceway. Restaurants include UNO's Pizza, the King's Lounge Cocktail Lounge and a poolside Tiki Bar. Located right off I-95, this pet-friendly and family-oriented hotel is ideal for any vacation or business trip. Plus, the premium amenities provide all the comforts of home. Book your kingly stay at the Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Quarters! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centerstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kings Quarters Hotel Doswell
Best Western Hotel Doswell
Doswell Best Western
Best Western Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing