We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit, still a great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Second visit, still a great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I read all the poor reviews on this hotel so I was a little nervous the first time I stayed here. I had a great experience. I had the opportunity to stay here again and the experience was good again. I git s different room and it was clean and smelled clean. The linens were in good condition, and the carpet was clean. The winner rate with a coupon was under $40. Possibly new management or more time to clean in the off season. The breakfast was typical and acceptable. Still my top choice for the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LanierBoatSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, Manager at Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete hotel review for our facility. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your second visit at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Days Inn Doswell we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Rujul Shah
General Manager
Days Inn Doswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    65
    83
    43
    49
See reviews for
148
52
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of the amazing winter coupon rate. The hotel was clean and the grounds were clean. The staff was nice helpful. Me room was clean and only showed minor signs of wear. I did not see the other problems the other reviews mentioned. Possibly because it was the off season, they cleaned the hotel. I will stay there again. You can't beat the value if this hotel in the winter. I slept in and did not have breakfast but the breakfast area looked clean and nice but I did see how it could get crowded if the hotel was full.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LanierBoatSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, Manager at Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete hotel review for our facility. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your visit at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Days Inn Doswell we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Days Inn in Doswell , Virginia. Train track is located directly behind hotel, No sleep. Dead bugs and dirt in every corner. Carpet was stained. White bath towels had a yellowish tint. Hallways smelled of smoke. TV had a mind of it's own...turning on by itself in the middle of the night. Front desk person was never seen. Day or night you needed to ring a buzzer. Very hard to understand, did not speak English very well. I left a night early with NO refund. What a nasty hotel. All I heard were complaints from other guest as well. My debit card was charged for unknown taxes..still has not been refunded. Beware, there's something shady going on in Doswell, Virginia at the Days Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

maybe I just had a bad experience on a bad night for the hotel but I can say that my brief interactions with the management were all positive and they seemed engaged and proactive for the most part.

The price of the room was okay… About $90 including taxes but as soon as I got to be the third floor where I was staying so role problems were immediately evident. there was a fixed stench of cigarette smoke out all despite the fact that most hotels today are non-smoking.

there was trash strewn about the vending areas and visible from
outside the windows by the railroad tracks that border the back of the hotel and where freight trains come through a few times each night.

in addition to the freight trains which the hotel cannot really be faulted for there were
soundproofing issues which are very problematic. I could hear guests opening and closing doors speaking loudly and engaging and
intimate activities in the adjoining room.
there was no way to drown out these noises except by turning on the heater and air-conditioner but the latter would not operate continuously because it had a mandatory automatic fan setting which would cycle off.

to reiterate most of the problems I mentioned our have to do with the guests themselves or with poor hotel design and not with the management… But this did not really help me sleep last night.

had I been game or a Motel 6 experience I would have paid half as much and hedged my bets with a motel 6 and the types of people who typically frequent those establishments… at half the price.

but I have to say that at least on the night where I stayed I did not get what I paid for at this
establishment which is regrettable because I do not enjoy giving negative reviews.

I am not hard to please but I will not be staying at a Day's Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wworth27707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion

Property: Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Address: 16220 International Street, Doswell, VA 23047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn At Kings Dominion Hotel Doswell
Doswell Days Inn
Days Inn Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing