We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have spent two nights here three years apart during two trips up the east coast. Clean, great staff, quiet rooms. We made the mistake of staying at a Day's Inn in Petersburg that night and we left the same night after seeing how filthy the rooms were. Accidentally arriving at this hotel once again was such a relief. Our next trip south we will definitely stop here! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG9018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed one night at the Country Inn with my family after spending a day at Kings Dominion. Kings Dominion is literally across the street from the inn. We loved it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms are clean. The water pressure was light, but ok. They provide a microwave and a refrigerator which was needed because we had food and drinks in a cooler. They also provide a buffet style breakfast. The food was ok and sufficed. There's a small indoor pool which seemed clean. We didn't use it. Nothing extravagant, but nice and comfortable which was all we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tashakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Let me start by saying the folks who operate this hotel franchise do an outstanding job. The room was spotless. All of the amenities one would expect we're available. Staff was attentive and helpful. The price for a room in a resort-style destination (adjacent to Kings Dominion) was very reasonable. Nice indoor pool and jacuzzi, and while the free breakfast seemed generous, the seating area was too small to accommodate all of the hungry people. The only negative aspect relates to the location of a rail line. Train tracks run directly behind the hotel, so that rooms on the backside of the main hallway are about 20' from the tracks. An early morning freight train feels and sounds as if its coming right through the room. Other than that, this would be a 5 star recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

First of all, we had a guaranteed reservation for a room with 2 queen beds. when we got there, they didn't have one for us, so the man checking us in assured us we were "upgraded" to a THREE HUNDRED DOLLAR A NIGHT suite. Well, this so-called upgrade instead of a nice comfy bed for my kids, had an uncomfortable pullout sofa bed. we had to pull the comforter off our bed to make it a little better for the kids. the 2nd night we pull the mattress completely out of the sofa and begged for extra blankets to cushion it. so we paid for our kids to sleep on the floor. And i just looked online, and that room wasn't $300 a night, try $130. I wish we hadn't gotten there after the kids bedtime, so we could've been a little more demanding. And i had to leave notes for housekeeping asking for more soap. The train only woke my husband and I the first night, thank goodness, so that wasn't really an issue. The breakfasts were good, and the location is excellent for kings dominion, and we enjoyed the indoor pool when it rained one morning. All in all, if we would've gotten the beds we were supposed to, it would've been a much better experience. I guess if you don't care not getting what you reserved, this will do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My family and I stayed for one night while we visited kings dominion, it was very close and convenient to the park. We had a one bedroom king suite and the room was nice and offered updated appliances and furniture. The bed was very comfortable. The pool is a little smaller than what I thought it was going to be from the picture online but is decent enough size to take a quick dip (it only goes up to 5ft). The whirl pool was ok but the jets kept going on and off while inside. The desk clerk was nice but was disappointed when she said that the only room she had available was in the back and we probably will hear the train pass... it wouldn't be a problem but I was traveling with a 10 month old and wanted to avoid that and I booked the room online 3 months in advance and supplied all ages when reserving the room. The train woke my husband at 6am but did not wake my son or myself but everything else was perfect with our stay and recommend to all.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from railroad tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephy3026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Overall the hotel was what you would generally expect from a County Inn. However, the hotel itself is mere feet from active railroad tracks that have trains travelling on them in the middle of the night. I was awakened at 4:00 am and 6:00 am by a train that literally shook our room, and I am not a light sleeper. If staying here, you should request a room on the opposite side of the hotel, which may possibly alleviate some of the disturbance; however, I cannot guarantee that fact.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the railroad tracks as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Adam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family stayed here while visiting Kings Dominion for the weekend. The hotel is directly across the street from the park. We were able to leave the park before it closed to beat the "masses" out but viewed the fireworks from the hotel parking lot. The front desk staff was very nice. Check in went swiftly and our room was good for our short stay. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and a decent size.

Our room faced the back of the hotel where the train tracks are. Luckily we never saw or heard the train until we were leaving on Sunday afternoon. The pool was small but in relation to the size of the hotel I think it's perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We personally didn't see the train until we were leaving the hotel; however, it was loud as it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMD412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
108 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)

Address: 16250 International St, Doswell, VA 23047-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range: £50 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Doswell Hotel Doswell
Country Inn And Suites Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing