We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good Accomodations at reasonable price"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Good Accomodations at reasonable price"”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

On our trip back North for the holidays, we stayed here overnight on a Saturday night. The room (including the bathroom) was very clean, the linens were fresh and the beds were comfortable. Just what we needed after a 15 hour drive! A free breakfast is included in the price of the room however, we left early the next morning and had to grab breakfast on the road. The only drawback, as other reviewers have mentioned, is that the train runs throughout the night but a good set of earplugs will take care of that.

Room Tip: Located conveniently off of Interstate 95 and directly across from Kings Dominion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayc706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    112
    57
    27
    23
See reviews for
183
59
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I would probally not have booked. Had I known it was no American owed. sorry but I travel 300 days a year..and on a norm.. the others srr FILTHY.. so I stayed. . Was clean second floor hall had a slight food odor.. ehich wad fine. until I wentt to check out. They had raised my rate by 11.50. Another common issue for non American owned hotels.. but he took the extra off wnd gwve me the reserved. . Shocking. . Brrakfast was ok as well. Thanks to the breakfast girl for letting me get foodd. Although it was 5 after. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE. . although the owner/manger came quick to tell her to close.. u would stay again. . If I must...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here two nights recently to go to King's Dominion. The hotel is literally across the street from King's Dominion, you could actually walk across the street into King's Dominion if you wanted to. The hotel itself was very nice, clean, and the room had a fairly large fridge, microwave, and a nice TV. The pool area was OK--the pool wasn't very heated, and the whole area itself is very small. We mainly just used the jacuzzi (which was nice after a long day at King's Dominion), and found it to be fine. They had a pretty good free hot breakfast that we ate at both mornings...

The only issue we had was noise. This is due to the fact that there are freight train tracks literally right outside the back of the hotel (probably less than 100 feet away). I will say that I DID know that the train ran behind this hotel, but booked it anyway because of it's close proximity to King's Dominion. It did wake us up a few times, but it didn't ruin our nights. The train is very noisy, however, and the trains are generally very long so they take several minutes to go by, and they run all night. I would stay at this hotel again, but definitely ask for a room in the front of the hotel. There were two other hotels sharing the property with this one (La Quinta & Days Inn), and I'm sure they experience the train noise too.

Also, there's not a whole lot around the hotel in terms of stores, restaurants, etc. We had to drive about 10 minutes down the highway to find some options (other than Burger King and Denny's).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockfoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have spent two nights here three years apart during two trips up the east coast. Clean, great staff, quiet rooms. We made the mistake of staying at a Day's Inn in Petersburg that night and we left the same night after seeing how filthy the rooms were. Accidentally arriving at this hotel once again was such a relief. Our next trip south we will definitely stop here! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG9018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed one night at the Country Inn with my family after spending a day at Kings Dominion. Kings Dominion is literally across the street from the inn. We loved it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms are clean. The water pressure was light, but ok. They provide a microwave and a refrigerator which was needed because we had food and drinks in a cooler. They also provide a buffet style breakfast. The food was ok and sufficed. There's a small indoor pool which seemed clean. We didn't use it. Nothing extravagant, but nice and comfortable which was all we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Let me start by saying the folks who operate this hotel franchise do an outstanding job. The room was spotless. All of the amenities one would expect we're available. Staff was attentive and helpful. The price for a room in a resort-style destination (adjacent to Kings Dominion) was very reasonable. Nice indoor pool and jacuzzi, and while the free breakfast seemed generous, the seating area was too small to accommodate all of the hungry people. The only negative aspect relates to the location of a rail line. Train tracks run directly behind the hotel, so that rooms on the backside of the main hallway are about 20' from the tracks. An early morning freight train feels and sounds as if its coming right through the room. Other than that, this would be a 5 star recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

First of all, we had a guaranteed reservation for a room with 2 queen beds. when we got there, they didn't have one for us, so the man checking us in assured us we were "upgraded" to a THREE HUNDRED DOLLAR A NIGHT suite. Well, this so-called upgrade instead of a nice comfy bed for my kids, had an uncomfortable pullout sofa bed. we had to pull the comforter off our bed to make it a little better for the kids. the 2nd night we pull the mattress completely out of the sofa and begged for extra blankets to cushion it. so we paid for our kids to sleep on the floor. And i just looked online, and that room wasn't $300 a night, try $130. I wish we hadn't gotten there after the kids bedtime, so we could've been a little more demanding. And i had to leave notes for housekeeping asking for more soap. The train only woke my husband and I the first night, thank goodness, so that wasn't really an issue. The breakfasts were good, and the location is excellent for kings dominion, and we enjoyed the indoor pool when it rained one morning. All in all, if we would've gotten the beds we were supposed to, it would've been a much better experience. I guess if you don't care not getting what you reserved, this will do.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
729 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
92 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
6.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Address: 16250 International St, Doswell, VA 23047-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Doswell Hotel Doswell
Country Inn And Suites Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing