We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Property is very clean and well maintained, both our room and the public areas. Staff was friendly and professional. Room was a good size, including the bathroom, with comfortable beds. Plenty of clean, new, thick linens provided. Breakfast area is not huge but was not crowded either morning we ate there. Good selection and quality for this type of lodging--different hot entrees each morning. Fresh baked cookies at the front desk. Location pros--right across street from Kings Dominion and about a mile from the state fairgrounds complex; away from interstate so minimal traffic noise. Cons--very limited dining choices nearby, must go 6 miles south on interstate to exit 92 unless you want Denny's or B. King; train tracks run right behind property--we asked for a room on the front side of the hotel and got one, did not hear trains during sleeping hours, did hear the whistles and some minor track noise both nights between 9:50 and 10:40pm, but definitely did not experience bed rattling, etc. mentioned in some other reviews. Overall this is a great value, particularly at the AAA rate. Would definitely stay here again if going to Kings Dominion or state fairgrounds or needed a stopover north of Richmond.

Room Tip: Ask for room on front side of hotel to minimize any potential concerns with train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDR_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    112
    57
    27
    23
See reviews for
183
59
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was the third time we stayed at this hotel on our annual trip south. Our room was clean and comfortable, the pool and hot tub was a great place to relax before we went out to dinner. The staff was very accomodating and we felt the price we paid was worth it. We remembered the desk clerk from our previous visit so it was nice to see a familiar face.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hod2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and also like that we are favorite place to stay at.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

For so many reasons this should have been a great value. Modern, clean, and nicer than a Hampton Inn. Better breakfasts than a typical budget hotel. But when I checked in, the clerk (who I guess was a member of the owner's family) took advantage of me. When I asked for a room with two queen beds, he demanded an extra $10 per room. As I was traveling with my children, I paid. I asked the clerk why they would risk the hotel's reputation for $10. He said he has a great reputation. You can be the judge of that. Stay here, or the other 2 hotels next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penpalpenpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review my hotel regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
As you used coupon during your stay it mentions that two beds or suites are with extra surcharge, I am sorry you feel that we took advantage of you but we are only following guidelines set by our management team. If you see online we have different rates set for different room types. I am really sorry for the inconvenience it might have caused you and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Spacious rooms, great buffet breakfast, jacuzzi, free wifi, very friendly staff, very comfortable beds, this is one of the nicer places we have stayed. The rooms are genuinely nonsmoking, with no chemical smell. I would highly recommend this chain.

Room Tip: Supposedly the back rooms get some train noise. We had a front room, and heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarawwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crittenden,virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Picked this hotel because it was between Richmond and Fredericksburg. The room was very nice, clean and the beds were very comfortable. They had cookies, hot chocolate and hot apple cider out for the guest every night, nice. They also had coffee and tea out all day and night, nice.The breakfast was good in the morning. The area was safe and close to the interstate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Robin Clair

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a wonderful surprise! Arrived at 1:00 am in a tractor-trailer and wasn't sure where to park, so was out in the middle of the road with the flashers on. The manager, Geno, came out in the freezing cold weather to direct me. First class service. The room, a king, was enormous and very clean. Heard the train come by before I fell asleep and that was the last of that. The breakfast provided was good, offering eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, fruit cocktail, etc. They have your choice of real plates and eating utensils or plastic/paper. Definitely a great experience and a good nights sleep. Will now stay here when laying over in this area.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper, definitely ask for a room on the opposite side of the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnTheRoad961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kinds words...I especially love your introductory title and am glad to hear you think so highly of my hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our facility.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

On our trip back North for the holidays, we stayed here overnight on a Saturday night. The room (including the bathroom) was very clean, the linens were fresh and the beds were comfortable. Just what we needed after a 15 hour drive! A free breakfast is included in the price of the room however, we left early the next morning and had to grab breakfast on the road. The only drawback, as other reviewers have mentioned, is that the train runs throughout the night but a good set of earplugs will take care of that.

Room Tip: Located conveniently off of Interstate 95 and directly across from Kings Dominion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayc706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
729 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
92 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
6.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Address: 16250 International St, Doswell, VA 23047-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Doswell Hotel Doswell
Country Inn And Suites Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing