We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Everything here exceeded our expectations. Very clean, comfortable bed/pillows, wonderful staff, lots of breakfast choices & free cookies!!!!
We stopped for one night for a good nights' sleep and that's exactly what we got!
Great value and Geno could not have been nicer.
We will definitely be back!
Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    113
    59
    28
    24
See reviews for
187
60
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Got a early check in, they charged me $10.00 more for that even though the room was empty. Room was clean, quite, and updated. Lobby was clean and updated. Check in was quick and the receptionist was nice. Would consider staying there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightstalker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Minas, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was first class all the way! Beautiful room,comfortable bed and very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the whole surroundings were extremely pleasant. Excellent value for the price. One of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at. Have paid more and received much less! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Breakfest Was Great Room Was Clean Next To Kings Dominion Went in 2011Staff Were Nice Safe the red carpet in Suffolk was nothing like this was durity failing aprtet staff was maen never agin at red carpet inn

Room Tip: Kids Activites And Resturant None On Site Just To let you know
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Mr Eric

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are excited to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on our way from CT to FL. Very pleasantly surprised. $56.64 total for a spacious king bed room. The entire facility is non-smoking. Gino, the front desk person was friendly, engaging and very helpful. The lobby is warm and inviting. The parking lot is well lit. Train tracks run behind the building but the noise was not oppressive and was in fact interesting. Room was well appointed and immaculate, the towels plentiful and plush and the hot water hot. Since we were an arrive late and leave early guest we did not use the pool or the workout room. The complimentary hot breakfast was what we need to get started on our way. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Property is very clean and well maintained, both our room and the public areas. Staff was friendly and professional. Room was a good size, including the bathroom, with comfortable beds. Plenty of clean, new, thick linens provided. Breakfast area is not huge but was not crowded either morning we ate there. Good selection and quality for this type of lodging--different hot entrees each morning. Fresh baked cookies at the front desk. Location pros--right across street from Kings Dominion and about a mile from the state fairgrounds complex; away from interstate so minimal traffic noise. Cons--very limited dining choices nearby, must go 6 miles south on interstate to exit 92 unless you want Denny's or B. King; train tracks run right behind property--we asked for a room on the front side of the hotel and got one, did not hear trains during sleeping hours, did hear the whistles and some minor track noise both nights between 9:50 and 10:40pm, but definitely did not experience bed rattling, etc. mentioned in some other reviews. Overall this is a great value, particularly at the AAA rate. Would definitely stay here again if going to Kings Dominion or state fairgrounds or needed a stopover north of Richmond.

Room Tip: Ask for room on front side of hotel to minimize any potential concerns with train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDR_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was the third time we stayed at this hotel on our annual trip south. Our room was clean and comfortable, the pool and hot tub was a great place to relax before we went out to dinner. The staff was very accomodating and we felt the price we paid was worth it. We remembered the desk clerk from our previous visit so it was nice to see a familiar face.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hod2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and also like that we are favorite place to stay at.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
97 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Address: 16250 International St, Doswell, VA 23047-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Doswell Hotel Doswell
Country Inn And Suites Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing