We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Weirton, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good but average hotel. Rooms good size and well furnished. The public areas especially the hallways show some wear and tear. Nice pool area and very good breakfast. Parking a bit limited. Shuttle to Kings' Dominion is very convienient. Staff friendly and helpful when asked, but do not go out of their way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpswv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    112
    57
    27
    23
See reviews for
183
59
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pgh PA
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed one night Tuesday Aug 12-family of 4, 2 adults 2 kids for Kings Dominion Trip. It was our first stay. I researched the other 3 hotels here "on property" for the park. Its best to stay at one of these. There is a shuttle that runs (FREE AT THIS HOTEL) between hotels and park. This hotel was my choice as Best Western seemed older and had some bad reviews,and no free breakfast. Days Inn had mostly poor reviews. Econo Lodge Had smoking and allowed pets (sorry don't want "Fido's fleas!") and charged for the shuttle. This was the winner and we were not disappointed. They do have a AAA discount but not on the website which seemed strange but I called and booked over the phone. The price was not anymore than Econo, just a little more than Days and less than Best Western. It is the newest Hotel. They have a 12:00 check-out time which is nice. We didn't have train noise although we were in the front of hotel. The room is clean and ample size (just a regular room) The pool (indoor) is small but no big deal and the breakfast room could be a tad bigger but it was manageable. The staff could have been a little perkier but it was fully booked when were. They were not too knowledgeable of the surrounding area and did not give us shuttle bands.(make sure you ask for the bands at check-in) But they scored points for getting us in our room at 1:00! The best are very comfy, I slept like a rock. The room has fridge, micro, work desk. You can walk to the park but "right across street" is a bit further than at home. More than likely you will use the shuttle esp at night when you are tired. Wi-fi works great! Breakfast has eggs & sausage, not any fresh fruit but hey it was free! Overall excellent and will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for front, top (3rd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellyRussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel. It was very clean and the staff was great. The shuttle service was also great. Only complaint was one of our beds had a huge dip in the middle. They allowed us to continue the use of the shuttle service after we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristyj620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Not great, but the room was clean. The parking lot was filthy, not sure whose responsibilty that is. We asked for an extra blanket, but only got two sheets - not a tragedy. When we called the front desk about a clogged toilet, they told us to come down and get a plunger. I guess I understand them not wanting to do the "dirty work," but they could have at least delivered the plunger. Oh well. Breakfast was crowded, but the food was fine.
The shuttle to King's Dominion was reliable, but we are impatient people - so when there was a crowd waiting at the KD shuttle stop at the end of the night, we decided to walk - only ten minutes, so that's a plus. I'd stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kandipix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcrae, ga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is in great location for both tourists and truck drivers. Off season rate is unbeatable. Prime season rates are reasonable for the location. Clean rooms. Great staff. Indoor pool. You can also see the fireworks really well from the front porch. Best hotel on this exit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renegade002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as we were going to spend a day at Kings Dominion. The hotel is very nice, especially the little sitting room downstairs by the fireplace. The staff was nice and the breakfast was ok although crowded if you go later in the morning. The train does come by through the night but didn't bother us. The hotel itself is a wood framed building, and not a concrete structure as most hotels so noise does travel more but isn't as bad as some reviewers have said. My only real complaint is the shower. To walk into a nice hotel, as well as nice rooms, only to find black mold all in the shower is sad. A little bleach and a brush would make all the difference. It was almost enough for me to ask for another room and I'm not a picky person. The showers must be cleaned better in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnersville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was told this hotel opened in 2009. When I looked on Trip Advisor it was ranked as 2d in Doswell. I think that is probably an accurate assessment. The hotel just needs sprucing up. It is not as expensive as La Quinta next door but I am sure it has the same amenities. I look at it as you are staying there so you can go to Kings Dominion which is literally across the street and only a ten minute walk. There is also a shuttle from the hotel. And, you can see the fireworks from the hotel at 9:55 p.m. In addition, the front desk clerk gave us passes for early entry into the park. For the money we paid, the value was good. When we went their hot tub looked dirty but their pool was ok. i told the staff at the front desk and she said she had notified management the day before. Their dining room wasn't big but they had all the food choices you could want. There was a stain on the carpet in the room and a little piece of the wall was nicked. However, they had breakfast on REAL plates and they kept up with the amenities in the room. Since I always check Bed bug registry before I go somewhere the most important part was that the room was clean. I would recommend someone stay here over either Days Inn next door or La Quinta Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel because there is a train track on the back side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkweinstein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
729 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
92 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Address: 16250 International St, Doswell, VA 23047-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Doswell Hotel Doswell
Country Inn And Suites Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing