We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We used a name your own price site for this hotel and for the price we got it for it was ok. The rooms were nice but our air conditioner didn't work. When we checked out the next morning, thank goodness it was only one night, the clerk said "ok" and nothing more. Breakfast had some good choices and was satisfactory. The pool was awful-as my husband put it "the pool is an ice bath and the hot tub is luke warm" The pool board (see pic) showed temps and other stats but hadn't been updated since 4/11 (of what year I don't know)-we stayed there on 5/25/14.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2twinsplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    178
    86
    46
    44
See reviews for
314
126
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

hard to find from I-95-not enough signage directing to property. Just follow signs for other hotels across from park entrance (Kings dominion). Had an upgraded King suite which was OK. Hotel was nearly vacant yet they put me in a room next to occupied room with crying/shouting kids so they moved me. Phone in both rooms did not work. TV was across from the bed instead of the couch which makes no sense, had to twist TV so could see from couch. Good breakfast, very good friendly service at check in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omnidrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We always stay at LaQuinta when we travel our snowbird south/north route. The accomodations are top-notch in addition to being pet friendly. The free breakfast is always adequate and nicely presented.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Gjoycegris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley MA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Decent motel. Friendly staff. Dog friendly, which is critical to my choice. Slightly aging facility whihc seems to be in process of needed external maintenance. No elevator to second floor.Convenient access to I-95. Have stayed there before and I would stay there again (if nonsmoking room available next time).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our first and last stay at La Quinta Inns. This was a last minute choice because we were tired and needed to get off the road. Travelling with a cat left us with few choices, so we found this place. They had a room available, for the bargain price of $112.00, billed as a "suite". Ignoring the bug bodies on the floor in the lobby, we took it. This place is a dump, plain and simple, whose only reason for existence is proximity to Kings Dominion. It is noisy and unclean, and, as a special treat, there were splotches of blood on the bathroom floor. Managed to get through the night, and went to the hotel "free breakfast". the next morning. A wonderful mix of second rate food, so we left without eating. I actually feel sorry for the staff who have to work at this dive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doswell, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was my first stay at a LaQuinta Inns & Suites and as first impressions are onetime, I must say that I walked away with a great first impression having stayed here. The staff went out of their way to ensure my comfort and needs were met. I would certainly recommend this LaQuinta for travel lodging.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel was flooded with middle schoolers. On our floor we had 30 kids with only 5 chaperones, all of the chaperones holed up in one room. Staff was unable to handle the situation. When we left at 7:45, the group, apparently a school band, was enthusiastically practicing their trumpets and squeaking violins, notwithstanding the other guests nearby with "do not disturb" signs on their doors. Would recommend avoiding. Oh, and it is literally on the train tracks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
Address: 16280 International Street, Doswell, VA 23047 (Formerly Comfort Suites Doswell)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the La Quinta Inn & Suites Doswell - Kings Dominion, VA can enjoy amenities including Free Bright Side Breakfast®, free wireless high-speed Internet access, free daily newspaper, and free coffee in the lobby. We also offer additional features like an indoor heated pool, on-site fitness center, business center, and copy/fax service.Our warm and inviting guest suites are furnished with flat-screen televisions, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious desks, irons, ironing boards, sofa sleepers, and cable television w/premium channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing