We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This location was nice, rooms were nice and comfy, stayed 3 nights, my sheets were changed everyday which was good. one thing that could be changed is to change up the breakfast abit everyday or every other day for guest who stay long. I feel very sick of eating waffles anymore. Could not here anything except the people walking upstairs. Need better WiFi though, since they advertise it as high speed internet. It was very slow if i was using my laptop. However Would most likely be staying here again next year.

Room Tip: Room 118 was a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojocy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 658 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
McDonough
11
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Comforters smelled like pee and refrigerator didn't work and smelled awful. If my son wasn't performing at Kings Dominion I would have moved up the road to another hotel. I chose it because they allowed pets-but they obviously did not clean thoroughly. Also, there is only one elevator!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Bathroom not clean in one of my rooms plumbing in second room was not working took shower water did not go down had to go to front desk manager or maintenance was not working when maintenance finally came it was 4:30 pm ask was it working I said I fix the problem he didn't even come in to see or check. Once again its to much to type.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here overnight on August 6, 2014, and it exceeded my expectations. With its proximity to Kings Dominions, I expected to be awake all night with noise, as I'm a light sleeper, and my dog paces when she hears people close to the door, but we actually had a great night with little noise. It's always difficult to find pet friendly places that are reasonably priced, and that's why I chose this motel. My room was quiet, and had plenty of room for me and a cat and a Border Collie dog. The breakfast was a great start before heading back on the road for my move to Florida. The other plus was that when I arrived a few minutes before check in time, they had no problem letting me check in early; with it being hot outside, the last thing I wanted to do was have to leave the pets in the car. The internet was hit or miss; I finally decided to use my iPhone has a hotspot to connect my laptop to the internet. I would also have liked to had more grassy area to play and walk with my dog, but what they had was sufficient.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I would have given an average review except for 2 things. First I didn't appreciate the inability to cancel my reservation prior to 6 PM as I can at most La Quinta's. Second the walls are very thin and the maids routinely banged on the doors. The beds were comfortable and the rate was reasonable so without the 2 above issues I would have rated average.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genegrace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Freeland, Maryland
11
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our room had very comfortable beds. Clean, however the pool and hot tub were not clean. Nasty looking so never used them. Bathroom in hallway on main floor was dirty both days. No soap, no paper towels. Breakfast was good but kinda crowded. Shuttle to kings dominion was extra 10.00 we used it for convenience. Never waited more than few mins. We had a room by elevator and we could hear it in early morning. Overall good place. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The good thing is that it's very close to Kings Dominion (if you are going there), and the beds are very comfortable. My room was large for a double room. The bad thing is that they allow dogs. I have actually never had this problem before at a hotel, but having dogs in this hotel was a big problem for me. I love dogs and own 2, but I don't want to hear them barking continuously.

We checked in at 3:30, after spending the day at Kings Dominion. My kids were ready for a nap, as they are ages 2, 3, & 5. Just as they dozed off, a dog that was left in next room started barking and scratching on the door, and woke us all up. After about 20 minutes of that, I called the front desk and was told they would take care of it. 15 minutes later, the barking was just getting louder, so I called the front desk, again. I was told they could not find the guest from that room. This went on for nearly 2 hours. We finally left the room and asked if we could be moved, but were told that no other rooms were available.

That night, the dog started barking, again, just after midnight and it went on for at least 45 minutes. I heard other guests pacing in the hallway and complaining about the dog.

Again, at about 5:45 am, the dog started barking, so I just went over to the room to try to complain to the dog owner myself, but nobody came to the door, and the dog just started barking louder. So, none of us got any rest that night, and then were awakened early by the dog barking.

Since my kids were all up bright and early thanks to Fido, we decided to go eat an early breakfast and then use the hotel pool. Don't use it! There was a layer of dirt or something black floating in the top of the jacuzzi. The pool water was slightly green, so I did not let my kids get in.

I think we would have done better to have stayed at one of the nearby exits because we probably would have gotten a cleaner room for less money.

Room Tip: Go to a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), VA
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Ruther Glen
117 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion

Address: 16280 International St, Doswell, VA 23047-1922 (Formerly Comfort Suites Doswell)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range: £39 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the La Quinta Inn & Suites Doswell - Kings Dominion, VA can enjoy amenities including Free Bright Side Breakfast®, free wireless high-speed Internet access, free daily newspaper, and free coffee in the lobby. We also offer additional features like an indoor heated pool, on-site fitness center, business center, and copy/fax service.Our warm and inviting guest suites are furnished with flat-screen televisions, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious desks, irons, ironing boards, sofa sleepers, and cable television w/premium channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing