We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness Campground
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have always enjoyed staying at the Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness Campground, and was pleasantly surprised to find the bathhouses completely remodeled on our last visit. The only drawback to the bathhouse is the top of the shower curtains are see-through and any normal height person can see into the shower. The office/camp store was also remodeled, but I would rather have more amenities and less checkout/desk area. The price of a campsite has gone up which will limit how often I go there. Overall, it's a very nice campground.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank donnaluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The campground had recently went through some renovations and upgrades and it was well worth it! Campground was very clean, sites were great, nice concrete slabs, bathhouse very clean. The friendliness of the staff was outstanding! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have to say how pleasantly surprised and really happy we've been with our stay at the Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness Campground. If you are planning a trip to the park, or need a layover along 95 in VA, this is the place! The staff is AMAZING, so nice and helpful, and EVERYWHERE. The campground is VERY clean, the sites are wooded and peaceful with picnic tables and fire rings, there is a really well stocked camp store, a nice little pool (with a lifeguard no less), and the bathrooms and showers are immaculate. Super easy to get into the site with our RV, lot's of sites for bigger rigs and some nice flat spots for tents. They have some adorable cabins to rent, and a nice little fenced dog park. They also offer free shuttles to the park and back every 1/2 hour and the best price on park tickets is at the camp store (better than the on-line price!). Feel free to ask me any questions about our visit. Happy camping!!!

Room Tip: Loved the RV sites in the upper 200's (280, etc...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I discovered the Deluxe Cabins at Camp Wilderness on Kingsdominion.com. Our family had previously visited the park with two and stayed in two rooms at a nearby hotel. After comparing price and amenities, we decided to try a cabin. There was plenty of room for the 4 adults (you could actually sleep 10, but it would be a little cramped). The staff at the campground was very friendly and helpful. The free shuttle to and from the park was great!
The cabin was a great place to relax after a fun day at the park. We also enjoyed relaxing by the fire in our fire pit next to the cabin. We would definitely stay again. I only hope they will maintain the great condition of the cabins.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_Family1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great place to stay. Staff very friendly as well. Hope to return soon. The area where the premium sites are updated. Paved roads as well as brand new cottages. My wife and I stayed in our RV at one of the premium sites

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvw20748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have camped at King Dominion several times. Use this campground as a stopover on our way back and forth from Florida. We have always enjoyed the large area and sites. The staff was always real friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We needed to stop for an overnight stay to catch some sleep. We were very happy with the staff and the overall surroundings. Everything was very clean and the kids enjoyed the late night pool that was still open till about 11.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KKeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
0.7 mi away
Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-North/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness Campground

Address: 10061 Kings Dominion Blvd, Doswell, VA 23047-1915
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Doswell
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Dominion's Camp Wilderness is perfectly situated as your destination for family fun. The newly-updated campground is located just a short drive from Kings Dominion and area attractions. A complimentary shuttle is available to Kings Dominion. The campground features a variety of site types, tent camping, bathhouses, outdoor pool, volleyball court, horseshoes and camp store as well as FREE wireless internet service. Brand New Deluxe Cabins that sleep up to 10 people are also available. A fully stocked Campstore and Lodge has everything you need to enjoy your stay and offers a large screen TV, comfy sofas, an ATM, and a snack area offering hotdogs, pretzels, pizza, ice cream, coffee, ICEE, and Coca-Cola beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King`s Dominion Campground Hotel Doswell
Kings Dominion Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing