We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of construction work”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness Campground
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bothell, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beware of construction work”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Our family was looking forward to a fun adventure and we're disappointed by the construction work. They made us wait beyond check in due to delays in cleaning rooms because if water line repairs. No hot water for hours due to break in propane line. Their policy of 4 pm check in and 11 am checkout the next day is poor. They should disclose that you get less than 24 hours in the cabin. Staff was unwilling to give us any credits for construction problems. Shame on them for such poor customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    44
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
148
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Camp Wilderness, which is just next to Kings Dominion in Virginia is a great place to stay when going to the amusement park. There are shuttles going to the park all day long and the ride to and from and/or intervals are not that long. The facilities seem brand new and are very clean. Staff at the campground could not have been more accomodating for all of our needs. The camp store was adequate. I will always stay at Camp Wilderness whenever I am dragged by my wife to Kings Dominion, yes I am not a huge fan of amusement parks, but I know they are necessary while raising children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My stay here was better than going to a hotel. We were able to cookout on the grill and also make fire in the fire pit and relax outside. The shuttle took us from the camp ground to the amusement park which was perfect. I've found a new place to stay whenever I visit Kings Dominion.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have been stopping at Kings Dominion Campground for years. , usually only for an overnight stop. They have always just been considered that in our minds... That is till now , this spring they went through a transformation and added free wifi...cable tv...paved sites... It's now a destination campground in our eyes.... Very nice... Job well done

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoadesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It had been a few years since my family had camped here. We were shocked by the renovated camp store and bath house. They are beautiful! Very clean facilities and grounds. We love the pull-through sites with full hook-up. And the shuttle to the amusement park is so convenient. The employees who were checking guests in and running the registers seemed a little confused at times, but I think they had just gotten a new computer system - hopefully, that will get better. But everyone working there was so nice. We are already planning a trip in October for Halloween Haunt at the theme park.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have always enjoyed staying at the Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness Campground, and was pleasantly surprised to find the bathhouses completely remodeled on our last visit. The only drawback to the bathhouse is the top of the shower curtains are see-through and any normal height person can see into the shower. The office/camp store was also remodeled, but I would rather have more amenities and less checkout/desk area. The price of a campsite has gone up which will limit how often I go there. Overall, it's a very nice campground.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The campground had recently went through some renovations and upgrades and it was well worth it! Campground was very clean, sites were great, nice concrete slabs, bathhouse very clean. The friendliness of the staff was outstanding! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.7 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness Campground

Property: Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness Campground
Address: 10061 Kings Dominion Blvd, Doswell, VA 23047-1915
Region: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Doswell
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Dominion's Camp Wilderness is perfectly situated as your destination for family fun. The newly-updated campground is located just a short drive from Kings Dominion and area attractions. A complimentary shuttle is available to Kings Dominion. The campground features a variety of site types, tent camping, bathhouses, outdoor pool, volleyball court, horseshoes and camp store as well as FREE wireless internet service. Brand New Deluxe Cabins that sleep up to 10 people are also available. A fully stocked Campstore and Lodge has everything you need to enjoy your stay and offers a large screen TV, comfy sofas, an ATM, and a snack area offering hotdogs, pretzels, pizza, ice cream, coffee, ICEE, and Coca-Cola beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King`s Dominion Campground Hotel Doswell
Kings Dominion Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing