We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dumfries
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“always pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I've stayed here before. It is a laid back hotel with easy access. Very close to Rt.95. Walking distance to IHOP and other restaurants. The staff is always pleasant and sociable. The rooms are nice and well maintained. There is a restaurant where breakfast and dinner are served as well as a centrally located bar. I wish that they would have a buffet style breakfast,(even though the breakfast I had was good). The dinner menu was adequate but nothing stood out.
Always nice to come back here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    39
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
39
26
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve. Drove down from DCA and arrived at the hotel at abourt 2:40. The reason I mention Seinfeld is because when i went in, I felt like I was in an episode! When I pulled up to the hotel, there were 3 cars in the entire parking lot. Obviously, not a big day for this property. I walked in, and the only person in the entire lobby area was the receptionist. While nice, she told me "you have arrived before our 4:00 check in time, I will have to see if your room is ready". I could see that they had about 9 rooms with keys with info pre made for the night, including mine. So, three cars, not a sole in site, and very few rooms rented for the night. She got on the walkie talkie, and asked housekeeping when "room xxx would be ready". The response was it was ready besides needing towels.

I really was amused, it was like a comedy. The place was obviously empty for New Years Eve (a notice was also given that there would be no housekeeping in 1/1/14) but I was not going to be given any other room than the one they had designated for me ahead of time! I didn't say anything, but thought the way this was handled was very funny.

The room itself was fine, roomy, clean, but the television was relatively small and could have been bigger. It was a flat screen. So, hotel what was expected but staff probably needs training in customer service, they look comical.

Room Tip: They all look the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banker1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is about the fourth time I have stayed in at this hotel. It is starting to show its age. The ceiling above the shower had a crack in it and the wallpaper in the shower was starting to peel off. The A/C unit in the room was quite noisy. The windows of the hotel have some kind of problem with strips of metal which have fallen out of alignment and seems to be worse every year. The desk in room 337 had a lot of fingerprints and wear and there was trash behind furniture in the room.

Room Tip: End of the hallway is always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltonManorsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

It has been a long time since I've stayed in a HI, but I'm in one now on extended business travel. My arrival started off on a slightly low note -- after a day-long drive, one doesn't like hearing "your room is not yet ready" (even if it is only two o'clock) but the desk manager took the extra effort to buzz housekeeping and check -- and my room actually was, indeed, ready.

It was clean, well-ordered, and comfortable. Two queen beds, a large flat-screen TV with a good mix of cable channels (and HBO, all in HD), a clean bathroom, a comfy lounge chair in the corner and a large glass-topped worktable round out the appointments. WiFi service in this hotel is strong, but there are also Cat5e ports on the wall if your laptop doesn't WiFi. My room also contained a very convenient coffeemaker, 3 cu ft fridge, and a haunted microwave oven -- it would randomly activate on infrequent occasions, a situation I rectified by simply unplugging it, but I don't blame the hotel for Chinese manufacturing defects.

The entire staff is friendly -- rarely do I enter the hotel without being warmly welcomed back. There are multiple eating options nearby, including Subway, take-out Chinese, an IHOP, a Waffle House, a Cracker Barrel, and a smallish and surprisingly busy restaurant in the hotel itself.

A small work-out room, small (!) business center, and a pool (closed for the winter) round out the public amenities. There's plenty of parking all around the hotel, and you might even spot the occasional celebrity with their entourage spending a quick overnight...

I have to admit, I'm more of an hhonors person, but I'll more carefully consider staying at Holiday Inns in the future.

Room Tip: Try to avoid connecting rooms, as the doors between the rooms allow more ambient noise to leak into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quantico, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Fantastic 9-day stay! Thank you Debee, Michelle, and all the other HI staff for making this a comfortable, easy stay and taking care of all of my special needs. When I first booked this hotel, I was a little concerned about the reviews discussing the noise, as well as the fact that I hadn’t stayed in an HI in over 10 years; as they were becoming kind of shabby. Nevertheless, my fears were unwarranted and I had no complaints or problems whatsoever! The room was excellent, super clean and updated with a comfortable bed and super soft linens, I couldn’t hear any noise from other guests (and I was even in the main hallway by the lobby, fitness room, and elevator), and the staff were gracious, accommodating, and always quick with a warm hello and smile. The hotel even has a small restaurant/bar with surprisingly tasty food of a quality that you usually don’t get in hotels. From now on, I will consider Holiday Inn and look forward to my next stay. Thanks and job well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is purportedly a newish hotel, BUT we can hear every word of the couple next door, as well as coughs, the TV, etc. We know when someone walks down the hall with ice cubes in a glass. When my husband rolls over in bed the entire bed shakes (he's tall but not at all overweight). When you look at the place from the outside, a good percentage of the window moldings have slipped out of place. The breakfast buffet scrambled eggs were edible - just. There was no fresh fruit.
On the plus side: it's clean, the rooms are spacious, the linens and towels are good quality, the staff are very pleasant, and it's in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear josjon,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and found our staff to be very pleasant. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with your room accommodations and the neighboring noise affected your stay negatively. We also apologize for the shortfalls you have noticed that did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We hit some rain and didn't feel comfortable driving straight through. Picked this Holiday Inn and was pleasantly surprised. The woman at the desk was sooooo friendly and pleasant felt very welcomed. Got the same price that was online and got in our room right away. The room smelled like laundered linen. What a great smell. There was a wedding going on in the hotel but we couldn't hear a thing. Check out was easy. Close to 95 too. Plus there is a 24 hour ihop
And about 5 miles away a Wawa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Stafford Quantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Quantico Main Gate
2.3 mi away
Ramada Triangle/Quantico
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
#2 of 15 in Woodbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center
Address: 3901 Fettler Park Drive, Dumfries, VA 22025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off of I-95, only minutes from the Quantico Marine Corps Base, and just 20 miles south of Washington, DC. Full-service hotel, new-built (2007), 100% non-smoking. Free Wireless and Wired High-speed Internet. On-site restaurant and bar, fitness center, outdoor pool, business center, meeting space for up 120 ppl. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Hotel Dumfries
Dumfries Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing