We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous views and great wine!”

Stone Mountain Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Dyke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our tasting room is CLOSED for the winter. Check our website for information on our spring opening.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views and great wine!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a great experience at Stone Mountain Vineyards. The wine was awesome and it was such a laid-back, beautiful atmosphere. Hoping to get back again soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Getting to the top of Stone Mountain is a treat in itself- IF you are OK with a 2 mile drive up a windy, narrow gravel road! No, seriously...it is so worth the drive up. Once you get to the top you will find a large tasting room and a wrap around deck with great views.

In my opinion, this place has so much potential. They really should do better seating inside, and add more seating outside-with umbrellas- because in the afternoons, it is so hot and uncomfortable you cannot enjoy yourself. They do allow you to bring your own food in which is nice because you really should plan on staying for a few hours once you get there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassidy528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth the drive up”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautiful setting with a fantastic view. The wines were very good. Service with the tasting was very friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The road is treacherous !”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We never even made it up to the winery. It is a single car slippery clay road, up a steep climb, with no place to meet a car without one of you backing up. Luckily we did meet a car at a driveway and were able to turn back. No wine is good enough to risk your life over!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the scary road”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This place is a little challenging to get to. There is a steep winding climb up the mountain with room for only one vehicle...so stay alert. However the view and the wine are both spectacular. Don't hurry...pack a lunch and enjoy the atmosphere. Make an afternoon of it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Littchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone Mountain Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Stone Mountain Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing