We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dyke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottages at Chesley Creek Farm
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This cottage rental was just awesome! My husband and I traveled up here from the NC coast for a fall getaway. The cabin was perfectly appointed with all sorts of little touches that made it just that much better- such as great bathrobes, a two person tub with jets, walking sticks, loaded bookshelves, and cut firewood to build great fires in the outside fire pit. We enjoyed the fire pit, the tub, the fireplace and the peace and quiet. The owners do a great job at making sure that everything is covered in order to make the stay perfect. We came for the autumn leaves and weather but would love to come back another time to enjoy another season! Loved this place- it is fabulous!

Room Tip: We chose The Ridge cabin and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaLeathamDeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
52
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I went here in March 2012 for my birthday and it was wonderful! Not only was the cabin beautiful and comfortable and well decorated, but they had flowers & a cookie cake in the cabin when we arrived because my boyfriend asked them to do that for me. It was wonderful. We arrived to a welcome basket with some cookies. The setting is perfect and serene. We had a good time out by the fire pit and just relaxing. Plus, it's close to some great wineries. Would love to go back anytime!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We just spent 4 very relaxing nights in Laurelwood Cabin. We booked the cabin before traveling from the UK and not being familier with the area were slightly nervous about what to expect however we were extremely happy with what we found.
Our lazy days involved sleeping late, visiting Wineries in the afternoon to select wine for evening meals - in between thunder and lightning storms sat by the fire pit star gazing.
The cabin was very well appointed, extremely comfortable and a credit to the owners. If we are in the area again we would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

The cottages at Chesley Creek Farm are amazing. If you are looking for peace and tranquility you can certainly find it here. If you love nature - this is the place to be because you are surrounded by, and immersed in, nature. I cannot wait to go back. The inn keepers certainly know how to treat guests to make them feel completely relaxed and "at home".

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This charming property of four cabins is a quick couple hours drive from Washington, DC. In short, if you're looking for some quiet time with your partner in a beautiful setting where no bother will interrupt your stay, this is highly recommended.

The cabins/cottages themselves are fantastic - well appointed and far from bare bones. Each cabin has a full kitchen with all the cookware one might need to use it, a bedroom, a large bath with a double whirlpool/jacuzzi tub, and a cozy living room with a stereo and comfy couches. Lots of books and games are provided. Cabins include a gas fireplace inside, and large decks outside (bbq grill and furniture included) overlooking what feels like your own section of the woods, with the mountains the horizon to complete the scenic view. Outside, a huge supply of firewood is provided to use in the firepit in the yard of each cabin.

We had one of our very best star gazing experiences laying on the grass by the firepit outside at night, and also enjoyed the indoor fireplace and whirlpool. For these reasons, you might consider visiting during a time of year where temperatures cool down enough at night to enjoy these cozy amenities.

Never at the cottages will you run into another person, or even see anyone from afar. It truly feels like no one is around for miles and miles despite the other three cabins and the owners' property nearby, and privacy is at a maximum.

Charlottesville, a charming old town with plenty of attractions and history is only a 25 minute drive away for those looking to go out, see sights or have a nice meal at a restaurant. The region in general is well suited to all sorts of hiking and outdoor activities, if you're a nature buff, including the nearby Shanandoah National Park, as well as a couple trails on property.

The owners are great and provide really good service. They are accommodating, nice people. It's truly a pleasure to have discovered this place and visited it twice. Find out for yourself. This one is special!

Room Tip: all 4 cabins are equally great and private. Creekhouse has a creek running through the back of it, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalBeachAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
190 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed a two-night stay at Ridge in late August. Not the easiest place to get to, with the last mile or so on a gravel road, but once there you have the perfect hideaway. A magically peaceful spot surrounded by forest, enhanced by being able to watch the flames in the garden firepit; yet only a few minutes walk from the friendly owner's house - with an excellent swimming pool. The cottage itself is stylish, well-equipped and spotless.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed two nights at Ridge. Beautifully maintained, friendly hosts, lovely salt water pool. Enjoyed the books and games in the cottage. If you need a peaceful, romantic getaway, this is your place! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjskidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dyke
7.0 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
209 reviews
17.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,696 reviews
15.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,216 reviews
24.3 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
739 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Chesley Creek Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Chesley Creek Farm

Property: Cottages at Chesley Creek Farm
Address: 2428 Brokenback Mountain Rd, Dyke, VA 22935-1381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Dyke
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Dyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 romantic, secluded cottages in the Blue Ridge Mountains; full equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces, 2 person Jacuzzi tubs - BBQ grill on deck. Very quiet and peaceful; no TV or telephone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottages At Chesley Creek Farm Hotel Dyke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing