We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The meatballs alone are worth the drive!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmella's

Carmella's
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Edinburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The meatballs alone are worth the drive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We live more than an hour away, but still . . . we're addicted to the meatballs! We know we'll always have a delicious lunch, and then we order still more meatballs to take home in our cooler. Yummy desserts, too! A very nice lunch stop in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Service was slow. It took a while for the waitress to recognize that we were there. Food was OK. Prices were OK.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveHom1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Carmella's has the best meatballs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I am from Chicago and have had Many A Meatball 'sa!!! Carmella makes all hers by hand and does NOT skimp on the ingredients! I only wish that she had an online ordering system to order her home cooked health meals! I recommend visiting her cozy cafe and enjoy a home cooked meal without having to clean up afterwards! Tell them that Double D sent ya!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Da_Double_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earlysville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

After reading the reviews of how great this place was, I was disappointed that they did not know the difference between rare prime rib and well done

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marlin22936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Walked in at 3:30 in the afternoon, starving, and got a Kings treatment. A repurposed building on the main street with a country store atmonphere. The meatballs are to die for. The service excellent and the wine and beer are cold and tasty! The blackberry cobbler....delicious. Prices reasonable. They have entertainment on Friday evening and we were sad we could not stay in town. They have a seck out front and smoking is available outside on a portion of the deck

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmella's also viewed

Edinburg, Shenandoah County
 
Edinburg, Shenandoah County
Woodstock, Shenandoah County
 

Been to Carmella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing