We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shenandoah suite paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hockman Manor House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hockman Manor House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Edinburg B&B and Inns
pawtucket ri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shenandoah suite paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My friend and I just spent 2 romantic evenings in this suite. Pat and Charlie's hospitality was second to none. Breakfast was great and a good start to explore Edinburg and surrounding areas. The view's were stunning and the wine trails fun. I hope to visit the manor again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innlover45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I just spent three delightful days at the Hockman Manor House B&B while we tried (finally successfully!) to get in a hot air balloon ride. Pat very happily accommodated our dietary needs - my husband cannot eat fresh fruit and I don't eat red meat or pork. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. I told a friend that the blueberry pancakes were the best I'd ever eaten and I mean that sincerely.

The bed was so comfortable and the conversation with Pat and Charlie interesting. They are knowledgeable about things in the area and happily shared experiences. If we ever go back to this area, we will definitely stay at the Hockman Manor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandCatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, MS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Hockman Manor House was a real find for us. The view from the suite was "the million dollar view", overlooking the North Branch of the Shenandoah River. Breakfast was delicious, the home was very warm and inviting with great antiques and furnishings. I would recommend this to all!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJourdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

The house is a historic landmark. It still maintains its original elegance. Pat and Charlie, the new innkeepers were excellent hosts. Pat claims she chose to be an innkeeper and it shows. she does an excellent job of it. Pat and Charlie are slowly restoring the historic house without disrupting the ambiance of times past. The place is spotless-- everything shines. Pat proudly prepares breakfasts-- honoring our picky tastes. We had something completely different every day.

We stayed there over Thanksgiving and were fortunate enough to be the only guests. We had the run of the house, but were lucky to stay in the Shenandoah Suite. It's really like a studio suite with a mini kitchenette and a huge balcony overlooking the Shenandoah river valley and the Blue Ridge mountains in the distance. It was an exquisite.view.

As we were the only guests, we were invited to park in front of the house.

It was a wonderful experience staying at the Hockman Manor House.

Room Tip: Without doubt, ask for the Shenandoah Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetisbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

A very romantic setting and decor. Food was exquisite and freshly cooked and prepared by our Innkeeper Pat. Sheets were pressed and high thread-count - like sleeping on the softest cotton. The view was outstanding overlooking the Shenandoah River. Lots to do in town which is biking distance for some. Easy parking. Very friendly community.

Room Tip: The Shenandoah is the bomb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

When we travel for leisure we almost always stay at B&Bs and the Hockman Manor House stands out as one where the proprietors are genuinely interested in being your guides to all that the local environment offers. We arrived on a very wet weekend and were unable to to do the mountain biking and hiking that we planned. Pat and Charles told about an excellent and inexpensive Italian resaturant down the street-- it was just past the Orvis shop. The breakfast was exceptional and headed on to Skyline Drive. This is a B&B that we plan to return to.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was my first B&B experenice and I would have to say I enjoyed it. Pat and Charles were wonderful hosts, and the breakfasts were great. They offered wonderful suggestions for thigs to do ad places to eat. We upgraded to the room with the deck ad were so glad we were able to. It was such a nice quiet weekend trip exactly what this busy mom needed.

Room Tip: the Shendandoh Suite was the only room with a private bath and it has a wonderful deck with an incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyBowlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburg
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
15.0 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
12.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hockman Manor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hockman Manor House B&B

Property: Hockman Manor House B&B
Address: 16388 Old Valley Pike, Edinburg, VA 22824-3529
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Edinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing