We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palisades Restaurant

The Palisades Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Eggleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband surprised me with our 6 month anniversary dinner. Bit off the beaten track, but well worth it! We had the hummus appetizer, which was served with pita bread and was pretty good. I'm not a food lover, so it takes a lot for me to rant and rave about how delicious a meal was. On that note, I ordered the pork chop and it was AMAZING. It was pretty big, not too fatty, and had so much flavor! My husband got the chef's special, which was barbecue pork with a baked apple. He loved it!! Again, great portion size and tons of flavor in everything! After we finished eating, our server brought us a dessert for our anniversary. Absolutely delicious!

I do want to give a shout out to our server, Bethany. We honestly could not have asked for a better server! She was very friendly and made sure everything was just right! This was especially nice since the level of service in the Blacksburg area is terrible at best.

Overall, excellent food and service! A little pricey compared to restaurants in the Blacksburg area, but more than worth it! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    43
    7
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsford
Level Contributor
118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“off the chart in nowhereland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a friend take us through the Virginia hills and backroads to this terrific place. Everything homemade and made to order. An ambitious menu with venison, duck, seafood,etc. My friends had dinner salads, two with fresh turkey and one with beautifully rare beef and blue cheese. I started with a mussel order off the appetizer menu. Nicely done with an herbed cream sauce with homemade bread. My entrée was an outstanding duck dish. It stewlike pieces of duck with a very savory sauce served over sweet potato dumplings and accompanied by fresh green beans. We shared a dessert of apple cobbler with homemade ice cream. Live folk music provided the background for a great meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank javo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Also check out Gunpowder Springs Gift Shop next door!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I love the food and live music events that happen here. I make pottery for the gift store, so of course I love it. But honestly, the food is great, I love the atmosphere and when the music is playing this old historic general store of a building really comes alive!!! A must see on your way back from a hike at the Cascades Hiking trail or while staying at the nearby Mountain Lake Resort.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michelrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Yes yes yes. Great food, wonderful Atmosphere, ultra-friendly staff. Out of the way but worth the trip. This place could compete anywhere. We ate dinner two nights in a row everything was delicious. Fresh salads and soups and varied entrees. Relaxed and welcoming and very busy. You have to mean to get there you'd never happen to come across it. Really a GEM! Go!

Helpful?
Thank savoy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The innkeeper at the Inn at Riverbend recommended this restaurant. The food was delicious. The restaurant was located in what used to be a general store. Very unique and worth the trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lu Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palisades Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The Palisades Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing