We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FILTHY !!! FILTHY, The place has more than one type of bug species living on the beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn Emporia
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FILTHY !!! FILTHY, The place has more than one type of bug species living on the beds”
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This place is the creamiest crop of crap when it comes to hotels.
Are you spontanious? Do you want to experience the true outdoors while being inside behind closed doors?
Well by all means this might be the place for you !!!
The creepy crawlers and multiple flies infesting the rooms are just the first of many adventures you will find here at red carpet inn. ITs a true hellish experience.
The bugs crawling down your walls, the baby roaches crawling on your pillows, and the flithy bathrooms will also add to the true outdoor feeling you will have while in Eporia Virginias Red Carpet Inn. Its located Exit 8 off rt 1-95 & us 301south,,
Ask for Yogi Patel, he is the manager of this dump and screwed us out of our money.

Well here is my story of this filthy place.
We were on oour way back home from vacationing in florida and found this place around 8 pm. We pulled into the front enterance and walked into the main lobby. That should have been the clear sign to high tail it out of there.. One woman was indian, all we could smell was curry powder and strange odors..I had to use the bathroom , so she told me it was in the back, i walked in the back, and seen a multitude of children in a room off the back hall, it was as if a family was living in a one room place.. In any event we were tired and rented 2 rooms, one for my inlaws and one for me,wife and kid.
We then proceded to go straight across the street to get something to eat, was very good food i may add, After an hour we go back to our room to check them out and unpack for the night. WHAT A DISASTER !!!!..
The different species of bugs that infested our rooms was something out of a nature magazine. Flies, dragon flies, spiders, roaches and other unknowns infested the place. BABY ROACHES crawling on the pillows, and under the bed sheets !!!!!!!
The inside of the fridge was disgusting, almost as if it had mold growing inside. The bathroom tub was all dirty as if someone had used it and left it with pubik hair, and the drain was all rusty.
The bathroom door did not close with out pushing really hard and chipped paint all over.
The tile work on the floor in the bathroom was just slapped into place..
The smell that came from the room was an experience i have rarely encountered before,, it not only came from the dirty carpets, but also from the dirty USED bed sheets and unclean dirty pillows. The pillows looked as if they had just been slept on and wrinkled . We had to argue for over an hour to get some of our money back.
They are THIEFS looking for a free ride. RENTER BEWARE !!! Inspect any hotel rooms before staying there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stugots00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    3
    19
See reviews for
8
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunapee NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

If you are look for smelly, dirty rotting rooms, no hot water, but plenty of black mold and are a big fan of "PHYSCO" and the Bates Motel you will throughly enjoy this Red Carpet Inn. Non speaking English people that don't understand why you're upset when you ask for a refund.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Emporia hotels

New York State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

When my wife and I arrived there was not a single car in the front parking lot of this one story motel. When I asked the desk clerk why , she told us that the customers were all parked around back and had rear rooms. I told her that I also wanted a rear room away from the road. She told me that a train passed by regularly. Therefore, we opted for a front facing room. Upon checking the rear parking lot, there was not a single car. When we entered the room there was a floor lamp bent in the middle, but still standing. My wife went into the bathroom, only to find a used towel hanging on the back of the door and urine on the toilet rim.The woodwork was heavily chipped and marked-up. Body hair was found on the bed blanket. The door to this ground floor room had a large opening under it, which could allow who knows what creatures to enter. The motel had a defunct restaurant at one end with a large heavily rusted sign on the roof. Needless to say, we did not stay. Due to the 24 hour cancellation policy, the manager would not refund our money.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mrblinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2008

We were driving from NJ to see relatives back to our home in North Carolina when we decided it was just getting to late to keep driving. We stopped at a reststop to pick up room coupons. Since we weren't planning on havving to stop we picked the Red Carpet Inn because of cost. What a mistake. We checked in at 12:30 in the morning and the first thing we noticed was the drop ceiling caving in, than the Black Widow like spider on the wall. Being so tired we disposed of the spider and proceeded to get ready for bed. While I was brushing my teeth I kept having to swat a fly than back in the bedroom a moth ran into me. That is when my husband and I realized that there were bugs all over the room. We went back to the office to get our money back and leave. The manager had to check the room to make sure we didn't make a mess (all within the 20 or so minutes we were there) he discovered that I had thrown a travel size toothpaste box in the trash so would not reinburse us since the room was dirty!!!! I can tell you after the unsanitary room conditions and the response (lack of) from the manager this will not be the only place that will have bad review. Oh forgot to mention what looked like a drug deal going on a few rooms down.... Beware the owner is only looking for your money and not into keeping up this hotel.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank starshipfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

This honestly was one of the disgusting places I have ever walked into. Me, my boyfriend, my mom and dad, my two sisters, my two little cousins, and my two little neice and nephew all got a hotel room there. Stains all over the blanks, Mildew at the bottom of the shower certains, A STRONG smoke oder, and on my sisters Crumbles up pillow pieces of hair, and a strong stench of body oder as someone had just layed in the bed 10 minutes before we got there and all they did was throw a blanket over it. The refridgerator was supposed to be white but in the inside there was black stuff all over it. There were bugs EVERYWHERE. The door to the room hardly even shut unless you slammed it shut. It really looked like something in a horror movie. We complained to the guy and he said there was nothing he could do about so we all packed up and left an hour later and waisted our money so that goes to show you how horrible this place was.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thezscars29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 October 2005

Experienced car problems, ended up here as it was the next exit. Its about what you would expect for a mom and pop hotel located outside a no-name city. The free donuts in the AM were tasty, staff was friendly, however the hotel is old. Probably built in the 50s or 60s. The carpet was old, etc. If I was with my family I certainly wouldn't stay here, but it was alright to "rough it" one night with my brother. Oh by the way, dont drive north of the motel more than a mile at night- turns into a bad neighborhood. Paid $38.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, NH
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2005

Roaches everywhere, filthy rug, bathroom discusting. Should be closed down by the board of health...Whould not let my dog stay there. The only reason I did was I just drove 1000 miles, was beat tired & didnt see how bad it was till morning...I ran out as fast as I can & never looked back

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JPNNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Emporia hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Emporia
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Emporia
Sleep Inn Emporia
#6 of 12 in Emporia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Emporia
Best Western Emporia
#5 of 12 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#1 of 12 in Emporia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Emporia
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Emporia I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn Emporia

Property: Red Carpet Inn Emporia
Address: 1586 Skippers Rd, Emporia, VA 23847-6153
Region: United States > Virginia > Emporia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn Emporia 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Carpet Inn Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing