We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Faber
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acorn Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Faber B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and perfect!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Acorn Inn is a wonderful and inspiring place. It is incredibly personal and everything about it is just right. The owners of the bed and breakfast are so genuine and hospitable that you can't help but want to come back as soon as possible. I came back for a second visit a week after the first and was blown away by the even greater service then I had gotten the first trip. They are amazing people with wonderful stories, good food, and eclectic art. Most of the art was done by one the owners or collected on their various globe trotting adventures. It is wonderul contributing to local business and real people, especially people that work hard and are so deserving of that contribution. I won't be staying anywhere else for the rest of my wintergreen snowboarding days. Oh and I almost forgot, if you are searching for bang for the buck, look no further. Price of a motel, and service of a king.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Already last year I was visiting for two weeks at the Acorn Inn and I was immediately welcomed and well done, exactly as in this Jahr.Every of the 10 rooms individually decorated and lovingly with various art works, paintings and souvenirs of various trips. A beautiful fireplace is ideal for reading, watching TV or chatting with other guests and one on the spacious terrace offers a beautiful view of the countryside. There Homemade bread, cakes, muffins, etc., are very tasty for breakfast and Kathy and Martin (owners) are very nice and friendly so everyone feel like home. I'm really looking forward to visiting next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slgizzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Having lived abroad and traveled on 6 continents, my husband and I delight in our regular return visits to The Acorn Inn in Nellysford, VA. What a little gem to have in the Blue Ridge Mountains right here in Virginia!

The Inn feels like a European B&B or hostel. It is a renovated horse stable, very unique, with 10 cozy rooms, and several large comfortable common areas to sit and relax, both indoors and out. When the Inn fills, there is also a cottage that accommodates four, plus rooms in the Farmhouse, the owner house. The Inn is very well maintained and its ambiance is created by the artwork, photography, and artifacts throughout the Inn, from the different places in the world, the owners have lived or traveled. Martin, an avid cyclist, and Kathy, an artist, are the innkeepers who are great story tellers and conversationalists.

The bathrooms are shared in the Inn, but there are a total of four of them. They are well equipped, spotless, and of all the times we have visited, we have never had a problem having private bathroom time when we wanted it. This is definitely an off-the-beaten-path travelers’ treasure, and a refreshing bargain. The hospitality, and authenticity, of this casual and comfortable B&B and the warm welcome of its owners, makes it unique and special. If you are looking for something different from the standard upscale formal B&B, this could be it. If you are looking to unplug, this is a great place as well. While there is satellite TV in the common room and cell service, you can take a break from the internet.

Acorn Inn is close to the Blue Ridge parkway, whether you are coming to the area for skiing, apple festivals, hiking, biking, winery tours, antiquing, or just to relax and enjoy the beauty and serenity of the Blue Ridge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Acorn Inn, efficiently managed by owners Kathy and Martin, provided the perfect location for our son's nuptial celebration. A beautiful sit-down rehearsal dinner for 50 was on the porch was followed the next day by a gala wedding and reception for 125+. The Inn could accomodate the entire wedding party and several more. The natural setting provided the perfect backdrop for this happy occasion . Kathy's terrific artwork is everywherer to be seen, and Martin is friendly, engaging and helpful, at least when he's not out on his bike. Recommended highly for groups and individuals.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryPReich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We were looking for a base from which to explore the Charlottesville area, and found so much more at the Acorn Inn.
When we arrived, our hosts weren't there - but in a friendly phone chat, said that if it was okay with us, they'd just leave breakfast in the refrigerator, and we could make ourselves at home. We certainly did! We were the only guests there at the time, so we settled into our small but comfortable rooms, then relaxed on the patio and watched deer browsing in the meadow, until it got dark. Then we moved inside to the spacious common room, full of magazines, books, folk art from Kathy and Martin's travels, and Kathy's wonderful photographs. Yes, TV too. This was no faceless hotel or ruffled, polished B&B, it was the home of living people, people we liked before we met them.

Though the Acorn is on a back country road, it is close to Charlottesville and Monticello, hiking trails of the Blue Ridge, wineries, and more. Little Nellysford has some outstanding tiny restaurants - the Blue Ridge Pig is not to be missed if you are a barbecue lover! Just driving from place to place is enjoyable entertainment in this scenic countryside.

When we finally did meet Martin and Kathy, they felt like old friends. They joined us for breakfast (home baked treats, jams, juice coffee - yes, like Europe) and we enjoyed conversation that spanned many topics and interests. What interesting lives they have led! And how generous to share themselves with their guests! They made suggestions for where we might want to go next (we didn't have a set itinerary) and the day they had mapped out for us was one of the most enjoyable of our trip.

Shared bathrooms should not be a worry. Granted, we were the only ones there, but we have traveled to many places and these are some of the nicest community bathrooms we have encountered. They are roomy, spotless, and have soap and shampoo dispensers on the walls. There are two sets of bathrooms, men and women, 4 in all.

Our one regret: we decided we wanted to stay another night, but they were booked except for the rooms in the main house. These are not AC, and we're just not used to southern summer heat.

If you insist on a formal, impersonal hotel with elaborate breakfasts, frilly color-coordinated everything, polished antiques and individual bottles of cheap shampoo, I'm sorry, this is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My partner and my sister and her partner stayed at this charming hideaway during the weekend my son graduated from the Law School at the University of Virginia. We had a room in the lodge (a converted horse barn), and my sister and her partner shared the cottage. From the moment we arrived innkeepers Martin and Kathy made us feel right at home. Although the rooms in the lodge are small (afterall they were horse stalls), they are very attractive and comfortable. Kathy's superb, almost magical photos from Central and South America grace the hall. At the end of which is a great room with a fireplace, large TV, art from Kathy and Martin's travels, and plenty of comfortable seating. You do have to share a bathroom, but they are spacious with two sinks and two private showers. The cottage is absolutely adorable and quite large with a full kitchen and bath and a deck. One night we had 12 people there for drinks and supper (which we picked up at a nearby gourmet grocery in Corzet). One morning we had to awake quite early, and Martin was already in the kitchen setting out homemade rolls and bread as well as much needed (and quite good) coffee. Our only regret was that we hadn't discovered the Acorn Inn earlier in my son's tenure at UVA and that we didn't have more time to spend there, just to relax, to visit more with Kathy and Martin, and to explore the many nearby scenic trails.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The Acorn Inn was a surprising and wonderful piece of European essence in Rural Virginia. My husband, daughter and I had a wonderful time and the Inn was very clean, well maintained & very affordable. Martin and Kathy are absolutely wonderful people, The Inn is filled with beautiful Artwork from their travels. They have a great room for visitors to kick back in, read a book or watch T.V. They provide a delightful european breakfast. But most of all the atmosphere is laid back, relaxed and the quality time that we as a family spent together was incredible and we will definately be returning again and again. Thank You so much Kathy & Martin, Merci Beaucoup mes amis.
Chantal

  • Liked — the proprieters.
  • Disliked — nothing negative to say
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdngirlinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faber
2.7 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
357 reviews
7.1 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
13.7 mi away
Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
52 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cabin Creekwood
Cabin Creekwood
#1 of 2 in Lyndhurst
38 reviews
12.4 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Acorn Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2256 Adial Rd, Faber, VA 22938-2313
Region: United States > Virginia > Faber
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Faber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A ten-room bed&breakfast with a big red stable as a centerpiece; guest rooms are converted horse stalls. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing