We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Eastern Shore Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice room”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

stayed in this hotel last night. Room was huge. two double beds, a tv with dresser, a desk, night stand and a table and chairs. Extra space enough I could have danced around. Bathroom was normal size. Hotel had all the normal amenities in room. Check in went ok, computers froze when I got there but after a few minutes it was back up and I checked in. Checkout went great. Breakfast was normal continental breakfast. Hotel was great for what I needed. Beds were comfortable. Parking was easy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiwdurando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    79
    42
    20
    18
See reviews for
73
40
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were looking for somewhere to stay which would allow us to make easy trips into Washington DC and this hotel was perfect for us, given our modest budget. The hotel rooms are spacious while unspectacular but for us this was fine as it was simply a place to sleep and shower. The bathroom was clean, there was a good selection of TV channels and the staff are very friendly. The advantage this hotel has is that there is a free shuttle service provided from the hotel to the local Vienna Fairfax metro station which is then a 30 minutre journey into the centre of DC. The tickets for the metro will cost around $5 each way which is fine, given that you have a free shuttle bus the other end (times for shuttle approx 07:30 - 21:00 on demand.

Would happily stay here again if visiting DC.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed for one night (long enough). The elevator was not working. The hotel is in need of a makeover. The room had a poor layout and a musty smell. The bathroom was small and the water had a bleach smell to it. The beds were uncomfortable. In my future visits to Fairfax, I would spend a few dollars more and stay at a cleaner, newer and nicer hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lookin4abetterhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

When looking for a place in Fairfax, spent several days at this hotel. It was great. The room was clean, spacious, and had great amenities. Staff was pleasant. Was there during the off-season, so the entire place was almost empty. It was quiet and easy to sleep. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, we had a kitchenette room with two double beds, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was clean, the pool was wonderful and the best part of the FREE shuttle to the area metro system. Getting around DC on the metro was made very easy. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: If extended stay, ask for the kitchenette, had microwave, refrigerator and stove cook top
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hotel requires better maintenance. Common areas poorly cleaned - both lobby and floors. Management seems lacking, with one housekeeping panic after another. Staff are well intentioned and try to help, but there seems to be a lack organization. Elevator is extremely slow.

The hotel hosts what seem to be religious events for large numbers of local residents. Their numbers are so large that one feels that they crowd out the guests (from parking spots to lobby and breakfasts rooms.

Otherwise my stay was the stay was good.

Room Tip: Great small Italian restaurant at 10579 FAIRFAX BLVD: VESPUCCI
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayLou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south jersey
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days while visiting Mt. Vernon and DC. We found the room comfortable and clean. The staff was nice. The breakfast provided was the standard for this hotel chain. The pool hours were odd in that it did not open until 5pm. If you have kids, that is not exactly too helpful. The hotel is about a 10 drive away from the metro. The hotel provides a shuttle service to the station, but it was not super convenient for a family. Also, this metro station is as far out from DC as you can get, so you will be paying the highest cost for metro tickets to get into the city. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. We liked this hotel, but it wasn't an ideal location for DC tourists.

Room Tip: Fridge and microwave in rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneygirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#9 of 21 in Fairfax
428 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-5048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing