We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation to DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Vacation to DC”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the Fairfax Comfort Inn from Sept. 18 to 23rd and was very happy with our accomodation's
Our vacation was to visit DC and with the costs of hotels in and near DC at a all time high we decided
to check out areas in VA. We was looking for a hotel that would have free parking, and free breakfast at a price less then $100 a night and we got that at this location. To help us on expenses we purchased a Groupon voucher but even without it we still would have saved. The room was clean and comfortable.
It had a refrigerator and microwave which was a great help for us. It also had a Jacuzzi tub of which
we did not use.
The desk clerks was nothing but great. All employee's was very friendly and helpful.
We used the Vienna Metro station to get into DC and back. Even tho they had a free shuttle, we chose
to drive to the Metro station and park for $4.50 per day M-F and free on weekends. We did drive to Mount Vernon and Arlington Cemetery in our rental car. I would not advise driving in DC. We got lost most of the timeand the traffic is horrible.
We would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor (6th floor) and away from the elevators. Very quiet around us during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedontheheadIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    79
    42
    20
    18
See reviews for
74
40
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We purchased a Groupon and got a great rate on a room to take the family up for one night. We did not have high expectaitons considering the room rate. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was nothing extravagant, but was clean and worked great for us. The front desk staff were very welcoming and polite. The free breakfast in the morning was nice and included fresh made waffles, which the kids really enjoyed. Overall, the accomodations and staff made this a great overnight trip for the family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Mariana B. Vilchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The manager needs to address the un-trained, rude staff issue, instead of posing as a fake guest, posting fake praise to cover up the real issue. Some basic customer interaction training will be helpful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berschweiler germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Had to find a place quickly due to a friend's hospitalization and this was perfect. Had no idea about the layout of the DC area so I just took a chance. Besides being close (10-15 minutes) to the hospital, it was close to grocery stores, shopping, restaurants and was in a very safe area. The free parking, complimentary breakfast and free internet access sweetened the deal. The rooms were huge, would've been great for a family on a budget. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jefferson montanana
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to be helpful and to be polite. I got lost driving to the hotel, i called the desk and they kept me on the phone and they talked me in to the hotel parking lot. All the front desk staff that i talked to were engaging and helpful with ideas when asked. The price of the room for $90 plus tax was tolerable for the area. The kitchenettes were clean and comfortable. The staff was well trained, most of the staff was of foreign decent and you had to listen through their accents carefully, but what you heard was someone very nice trying to help you. The breakfast was great and the continental breakfast was something that you would actually eat. There was plenty of food to feed everybody even as late as 10:30. They had sausage,scrambled eggs,breakfast cereals,donuts,muffins,waffles,coffee,apple juice,and orange juice. I will definitely go back in the future if the need arises.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We purchased the groupon deal to stay two nights here before we flew out early morning via IAD. The location is perfect for us: 20 mins drive to the airport and 30 mins drive to downtown DC's museum area. The parking is free and a continental breakfast is included. The room is huge. Tons of stores and restaurants around.

Not the quietest or cleaniest place to stay, but for $70 dollars/night, we thought it was a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we recently got full access to our account and we sincerely apologize that your review was over looked in getting a response, it is important to us that we answer all reviews no matter when they were posted. We like to hear from all our guest to ensure that everyone is satisfied with their stay, we take all of the comments and suggestions seriously they let us know what we are doing right and where we need to improve to make changes, so your opinion matters to us. we have made many changes since you stay and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future. We wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

One of the breakfast staff doesn’t speak English. She thought that we belong to a group, and we should eat at group room. I explained to her in English three times, she still didn’t understand. She yelled at us. During the whole breakfast, she harassed us, kept yelling at us. We reported the situation to the front desk. The front desk staff just said that the manager was not here. And there was nothing she could do. The whole experience made the stay a very bad experience. It significantly negatively affected the hotel’s image.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we recently got full access to our account and we sincerely apologize that your review was over looked in getting a response, it is important to us that we answer all reviews no matter when they were posted. We like to hear from all our guest to ensure that everyone is satisfied with their stay, we take all of the comments and suggestions seriously they let us know what we are doing right and where we need to improve to make changes, so your opinion matters to us. we have made many changes since you stay and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future. We wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#9 of 21 in Fairfax
438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
118 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard
1.3 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-5048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing