We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hibachi”

SAMURAI Japanese Steak & Sushi Bar
Ranked #107 of 421 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hibachi”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you like the show, this is a great place to see it. The service is always attentive, the chefs love cooking and entertaining us, and the food has gotten even better in 2014.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Hibachi in town”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

As far as hibachi goes. This is about as good as it gets. Let's face it, there isn't much different about many of the hibachi restaurants you could go to. But there is something different about this one. It has more of an intimate feel about it and it is more affordable than others in the area like Sakuras in Woodbridge or the one in Fair Lakes. They also have a groupon for buy one get a second half off which makes it even better right now!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Fix!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have been taking a class at George Mason University. Samurai is literally across the street from the institution and was very easy to find. Tired of frozen pizzas, I decided to give it a try.

Samurai is a little pricey, but the quality and quantity was amazing! The seafood is fresh (including the sushi, which some of my friends sampled). The service is fast and attentive. One thing I appreciated was that you're not necessarily "expected" to sit in the hibachi dining, but you have a real choice. Having seen enough Japanese acrobatic cooking in the past, it was nice to just sit in the dim candlelight and enjoy friends. The wine is VERY reasonably priced, house wines only $5/glass. For those sitting in the hibachi dining, their laughter carried over, so the cooks were evidently doing an excellent job.

I highly recommend this restaurant for parents visiting their college kids or for adult students taking classes at George Mason Univ.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hyker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Virginia
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere and food were fantastic, I go here all the time. I would definitely recommend coming here for dinner!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Deathkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Hibachi! A close second to Sakura!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Samurai is a great place for hibachi. While my kids love it more than Sakura, I believe it comes in a close second. Both places serve excellent quality steak, chicken, shrimp, and fried rice. Samurai serves noodles as well, which is an addition compared to other hibachi places. Also, you can usually find a GroupOn for Samurai which will save you some sheckels. Highly recommend Samurai!

Helpful?
Thank TheTravellinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SAMURAI Japanese Steak & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to SAMURAI Japanese Steak & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing