We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The American Diner doesn't get better than this”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Diner

Silver Diner
Ranked #7 of 416 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The American Diner doesn't get better than this”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Whether you choose the all-day breakfast or something a little different, such as the delicious salmon and wasabi sliders, served with a fruity salad, you can't go wrong at these well-run restaurants. Families with young children are made welcome and service is fast, friendly and efficient. Coffee is good and plentiful. A surprising number of business people use this chain too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbarafromYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    92
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
187 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

They say there's a money-back guarantee if you don't have friendly service, and it showed! The service was great, atmosphere was fun, and the food was served quickly and was quite tasty. Coffee refills were timely - would definitely return!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tmoore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
147 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good for breakfast”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We have been here a couple of times the food is average but it is a good place to go if you want breakfast for dinner they serve breakfast 24 /7 the eggs and pancakes are good dinner is not real good prices are cheap and so are the ingredients seems to be very popular late at night

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank drjonesphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Manager at Silver Diner, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
DrJones, thank you for taking the time to write a review! If there are any other details you could provide that would help us improve, please email me at jhowell@silverdiner.com. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I ate here with my parents on a recent mini vacation in the DC area. We passed this restaurant on the way to our motel and decided to try it out. Food was good...lots of choices. I split the pot roast dinner with my mom. My dad had a burger and fries. This place was very busy but the service was very quick. The menu boasts lots of organic options and uses many local farmers to provide food for their menu items. We enjoyed it enough to return for breakfast the next morning. Again there are lots of choices - and not just your standard breakfast fare. I'd say it's a little more expensive than I expected, but not too bad. I guess I was expecting a Denny's or IHOP style place since it looks like a old timey diner, but the prices were a bit more expensive. We still enjoyed our meals and the service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iteachpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Late Night Spot”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I ate a very late dinner at the Silver Diner after attending a concert at the Patriot Center. Even being very tired, we enjoyed the food here. I got the Bison Juevos Rancheros and my wife got the Pancakes and Eggs breakfast. My only criticism was that the miniature jukebox was a bit loud until we figured out how to turn it off. Otherwise, I would say Silver Diner is a good option for late night dining.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BSTILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Diner also viewed

 
Dale City, Prince William County
 

Been to Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing