We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silver Diner serves healthy food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Diner

Silver Diner
Ranked #7 of 414 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Silver Diner serves healthy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Love the diner even though it discontinued the Asian salad that was my absolute favorite. Have eaten 75%of all menu items and all are great. Also service is great and they even serve wine now. The warm green salad has become my favorite there along with the kickin crab soup.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PR00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    90
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Silver Diner is a great place to take overseas visitors who want to experience the 'authentic' feeling of an American Diner with a jukebox at every table and the core being the basic shape of a real dining car. An updated and modernized version of the 'real' thing with updated food to match (unfortunately). Milkshakes are very good. Food here is good but not great. Usual array of milkshakes, burgers, plus a fairly extensive menu of other meal options and all day breakfasts. Prices are very reasonable and service is always good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Granada100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fair Oaks Sunday Brunch has really slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Silver DIner has changed a lot in the last year or so. They've really focused on the Farm to Table theme and the food is really good. The downfall is that the service is really slow - especially on Sunday mornings for brunch. I've been there twice in the last month and both times the wait for food after ordering was more than 40 minutes. This past weekend I was there with friends and half of the food came out cold (The Banana French Toast and an omelet with potatoes where the potatoes were ice cold). The people at the table next to us sat for 15 minutes waiting for a server to even come ask for their drink orders - they finally just got up and left.

I like to food, and the new menu has some great choices, but I won't be heading to this Silver Diner on a Sunday morning anytime soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spacecdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Manager at Silver Diner, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Spacecdt, thank you for your detailed review. It's awesome to hear that you appreciate the Fresh & Local menu, but I am sorry that you have had slow service recently. If you are willing, please email me at jhowell@silverdiner.com so that I can learn more and see where we can help make it up to you. Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The American Diner doesn't get better than this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Whether you choose the all-day breakfast or something a little different, such as the delicious salmon and wasabi sliders, served with a fruity salad, you can't go wrong at these well-run restaurants. Families with young children are made welcome and service is fast, friendly and efficient. Coffee is good and plentiful. A surprising number of business people use this chain too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbarafromYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
182 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

They say there's a money-back guarantee if you don't have friendly service, and it showed! The service was great, atmosphere was fun, and the food was served quickly and was quite tasty. Coffee refills were timely - would definitely return!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tmoore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Diner also viewed

Dale City, Prince William County
 

Been to Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing