We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2009

My husband and I just moved to DC from California and were looking for a relaxing weekend away from the stress of new jobs and the snow on the ground. This was the perfect getaway! The rooms were so cozy, and the surroundings are just breathtaking- even in January. And our two dogs had a blast running around in the fields around the inn! We will be back for another visit soon!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wendyhoffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2009

It was a wonderful experience at Fox Hill. We waited in anticipation for the wonderful breakfasts that were created for us! We were in a secluded beautiful area, but close enough to town and interesting points of interest. The rooms was amazing and so comfortable and charming. We would rate it 10 out ot 10! Best bed and breakfast we have experienced thus far.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cammycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We are not the typical B&B visitor. When we travel we like to keep to ourselves, mostly we stay at hotels and resort facilities. Our visit was the result of a gift for a two night stay. We set off to this B&B warily. Our concerns were unfounded as everything about the place was wonderful. The house is less than ten years old; our room was very clean and comfortable and we felt like we were in a brand new home!

The Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Suites is a beautiful B&B with spectacular views of valleys and the Blue Ridge Mountains. There are also stables and two fish ponds on the property. Mark, one of the owners met us at check-in and immediately made us feel comfortable being at his home. We enjoy hiking and a large number of trail options are within 45 minutes on this location. Sue, his partner is knowledgeable about a range of trails and can provide all the necessary maps.

Each morning’s breakfast was different and tasty. This is a great place to relax and unwind. Since we live two hours away this gave us a chance to tour the surrounding countryside. We enjoyed visiting and dining out in Lexington. Like many areas in Virginia there are a number of historic stories to be told here. Two small size colleges are also located here.

Dinner the first night was at the Southern Inn, the food was really good, and price seemed a bit high for small town dining. The second evening we wanted a less expensive option and stumbled onto the Redwood Family Restaurant. The owner has been in business fifty years! The atmosphere is basic, servers friendly, food tasted like Mom’s home cooking and the price was so low it was amazing. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and posted this review to share our recommendation to go visit.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank joeworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This is a beautiful B&B located amongst beautiful mountains. The views are surreal and the rooms are amazingly accomodating! (We stayed in the Cornwall Room) The bonus however, is that they are PET FRIENDLY! Our Vizsla had a wonderful time and they even left dog treats for her on the pillows at night. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DogLoverTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We recently spent 3 nights at Fox Hill B&B and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished with lovely views of the nearby Blue Ridge Mountains. Breakfast each morning was hearty and absolutely delicious and our hosts, Mark and Sue, were extremely kind and helpful. This is a wonderful place to relax and unwind and comes highly recommended. The surrounding countryside is well worth exploring and nearby towns, Lexington and Staunton, are great stop-offs on any Virginia trip. We look forward to returning when we can.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Biggles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We were looking for a quiet break. We are just moving back into the US and had never been anywhere in Virginia. We needed a vacation and had very little time. We decided to go to the Shenandoah Valley and wanted a quiet retreat. Fox Hill was just wonderful. The Innkeepers, Mark and Sue send us all the information we needed about the B&B, the area, and driving directions. The were helpful and very friendly. Being there was so relaxing. I loved the homey feel of the beautiful house. The common rooms were just beautiful. The only way to describe the B&B is "comfortable elegance". It was just a pleasure to sit in the dining room and stroll into the kitchen for morning coffee. The room we stayed in had a little deck that looked over the meadow and the Blue Ridge Mountains. The clouds passing over the Blue Ridge was were just wonderful to see The scenery just helped us to relax. The room was lovely, the bed was past comfortable, it had internet access that I just can't live without! It had a private bathroom and a wonderful fireplace. On top of all that, the view was tremendous. All the comforts of home including a bathrobe! The big draw for us was the remote control airfield. Breakfast was terrific. I am dreaming of cinnamon scones! There were attractions within just a few miles away to pass the day. We went into Lexington for dinner Friday night. The town is very pretty and historic. Saturday morning we went to Stauton and strolled around town and visited the Farmers Market. Saturday afternoon we drove around in a wagon at the Virginia Safari Park. It was great fun. Mark made us reservations at a lovely restaurant in Lexington Saturday night. The entire weekend was such a pleasure. I can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happywanderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We just returned from a week-end stay at the Fox Hill B and B and had a wonderful time. The innkeepers, Mark and Sue, were most accommodating and friendly - from the home baked brownies waiting for us in our room to their helpful suggestions on things to do and places to eat. (We highly recommend dinner at Cafe Michel.)
The tranquility of grounds were most soothing - the views of the mountains and grazing horses add to the peaceful atmosphere. We enjoyed an early evening stroll around their 30+ acres - a great way to unwind.
We stayed in the Windsor - and it was the perfect getaway for us. The Heat-N-Glo fireplace certainly added to the ambience, and we especially appreciated the robes provided!
Breakfasts were delicious, plentiful and served elegantly. Once again Sue and Mark were excellent hosts, making sure our coffee and tea cups were never empty.
Several of the other guests staying there were repeat customers - a real testimony that this is some place you'll want to visit again. I know we would!
The proximity to Lexington, VA is another plus. For those interested in a bit of history, the Stonewall Jackson house and the Lee Chapel (not only is Robert E. Lee's family crypt here, but also the burial site of his horse) are two places worth visiting.
Not too far away is the Natural Bridge of Virginia - another item of awe and wonder.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here - only wish we were able to stay longer!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BandBgalNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
185 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Lexington
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
22.7 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in Waynesboro
776 reviews
15.5 mi away
Cabin Creekwood
Cabin Creekwood
#1 of 2 in Lyndhurst
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites

Address: 4383 Borden Grant Trl, Fairfield, VA 24435-2010
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range: £143 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and delight in the quiet, comfortable elegance of our 38-acre Shenandoah Valley countryside retreat. Relax in your private suite, or curl up on the porch and watch the clouds float over the Blue Ridge Mountains. We welcome dogs and children, and offer spacious Bed & Breakfast or Kitchen Suites, private baths, AC, HDTV HBO and Showtime, fireplaces, mountain views, walking trails and warm hospitality. Come stay with us, experience the tranquility and beauty here in our Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing