We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B for the start of our driving holiday through the Southern States”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2010

A truly peaceful setting in an excellent location for the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our first experience of B&B's in USA and we were not disappointed. Our room was spotlessly clean, very large and extremely comfortable.
Sue and Mark were friendly, helpful but not intrusive.
The breakfasts could only be marvelled at and enjoyed.
We would dearly love to return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaguarDesborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2010

This B&B provides very clean and comfortable accommodation with lovely grounds and horse riding available nearby. Our cottage suite was a basement apartment with no mountain or meadow views and no windows in either of the bedrooms or the bathroom, so we used the shared porches at the front & back of the B&B to enjoy the view of the grounds and mountains. We could hear the movements of the owners getting ready for breakfast above us early in the morning, but the lack of windows in the bedrooms made it nice and dark for sleeping.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lions_Giraffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We spent three nights in June (for our anniversary) at Fox Hill B&B. The setting is beautiful and peaceful. It's a large newer house, built to be a B&B, so there are private entrances. We stayed in the Cornwall, an upstairs room with a lovely view of farmland.

We contacted the innkeepers ahead of time about dietary needs, and they were kind enough to oblige. Mark was our host for the first two days because Sue was out of town. I know he was working hard, but he made it seem effortless. He is a gracious host, and cooked us wonderful breakfasts.

The room was well-appointed, with fridge, TV (which we only used to check the weather), hairdryer, and many other amenities. The AC was quiet and the bed comfortabe.There were small brownies waiting for us on our arrival.

The grounds are lovely, and we particularly appreciated Mark keeping paths mowed through the hay fields - we took a couple of long walks on the premises. There's a nice creek with a small waterfall. They also have a pond, and frogs (which play a significant part in the inn decor) can be heard frequently in the evening.

Mark was available for advice about restaurants and hiking (although Sue is the real hiker, and had good information for us when she returned.) Having done the "tourist" bit in Lexington on a previous trip we were there this time to hike off the Blue Ridge Parkway, and hike we did. (We recommend White Rock Falls and Crabtree Falls, if you're in reasonably good shape!) Fairfield's location makes it perfect for being in close proximity to hiking, but also close to Lexington and Staunton for restaurants (if you like fresh & eclectic, try the Red Hen in Lexington) and history.

In short, it was the perfect vacation spot. We felt welcomed and pampered, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. One of our best B&B experiences ever!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdionelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Fox Hill is my husband’s and my absolute favorite B & B. We live about an hour from Fairfield and try to make it out to Fox Hill at least once a year. Last year we went twice! And, since we were married two years ago, Fox Hill has become our “Anniversary Weekend” destination of choice. We are constantly recommending it to friends and have even brought family to the inn. There are so many factors that contribute to Fox Hill’s excellence. One of these is, of course, Sue and Mark, the innkeepers. They have been so wonderful to us over the years. Sue has conspired with my husband on several occasions to make our Anniversary extra special. Both she and Mark always make excellent dining suggestions. And Mark is truly a grounds-keeper extraordinaire. He does a lovely job with their property, mowing paths through the meadow for everyone’s walking pleasure. Also, we have two dogs who love to stay at Fox Hill. While in the area, we enjoy doing activities that include them. Sue always makes great suggestions about places to hike that are dog friendly (think off-leash merry-making). The dogs are, in fact, another reason why we love Fox Hill so much. This B & B is very dog friendly. While dogs are not permitted in the common areas of the home or in the gardens immediately surrounding it, they are welcomed in the expansive meadows that make up much of the property. More off-leash fun is to be had there. Our dogs LOVE Fox Hill! Another reason why we love Fox Hill is, naturally, the wonderful breakfast. We love Sue’s blueberry muffins. I didn’t even like blueberry muffins until I had Sue’s. The food is fantastic! We’re vegetarians and Sue and Mark have always happily accommodated our dietary wishes. For most of our trips to Fox Hill we stayed in the same room (a sentimental thing I suppose). That room was wonderful—spacious, elegant yet comfortable, and still quite cozy, with a nice fireplace. On our last trip, however, we chose to stay in one of the inn’s cottage suites. Here one cannot be able to partake of the delicious breakfast, but it was worth it for us because we had our own kitchenette and more space for our canine companions. This particular suite, the Heron’s Nest, is located near the horse barn (we love horses, so no problem there) and is not attached to the main house. It has a great covered deck, upon which our hounds loved lounging. It’s location afforded us a little more privacy and ensured that our pups didn’t bother any of the other guests. If you’re not a dog person, don’t worry. Sue and Mark’s doggie policies are pet-friendly but not excessive. They go out of their way to ensure that both canine lovers and non-lovers thoroughly enjoy their stays. The rooms are impeccably clean, so you'll never notice any sign of "dog" (no yucky dog smell or fur in sight, I promise) and, generally speaking the dogs are quite. You might not even notice they're there. Obviously, I could go on and on about this inn. The location is great. It’s in the country, so it’s beautiful and serene. Still, it’s only about 11 miles from historic downtown Lexington, which has a charm all it’s own. There’s even a dog-friendly drive in theatre that operates on the weekends. Fox Hill is a must-stay. Go there. I promise you’ll fall in love.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Mark and Sue greeted us with “Welcome to our Home;” our entire stay had all the comfort of a weekend visit with old friends. From the very well maintained grounds – an enjoyable stroll past the pond with its soothing water sounds and blooming lilly pads while en route to the stables to visit the horses and the miniature donkey – to the clean, comfortable, spacious rooms and delectable breakfasts – well “fantastic” describes the food, ambiance, and conversation with the other guests. An easy exit off I-81, close to Lexington and surrounded by some of the best wineries in Virginia – location, location, location. Sue helped us with dinner plans at Osceola Mill – absolutely perfect, another great experience. We are going back to Fox Hill! See you there?
Chuck and Mary Joe Bush

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBXDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Fox Hill is impeccably clean and the setting is beautiful.This is one of the best B 7B's we ahve stayed at in a long time! Sue and Mark are wonderful hosts and we plan on spending more time thee as soon a our schedules allow.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblesup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We had a fantastic two-night stay in the "Cornwall" room. The entire inn was immaculately clean and comfortable, and the beautiful pastoral setting was so relaxing. Ours was an upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the valley and mountains. Hosts Mark and Sue were welcoming and helpful, and they make an absolutely delicious three-course breakfast! (Though it is at 8:30 am, and you do have to eat with the other guests. Not a big deal, except if you aren't exactly a morning socializer...) Luckily, they are also dog friendly for a reasonable $15 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites

Address: 4383 Borden Grant Trl, Fairfield, VA 24435-2010
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range: £143 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and delight in the quiet, comfortable elegance of our 38-acre Shenandoah Valley countryside retreat. Relax in your private suite, or curl up on the porch and watch the clouds float over the Blue Ridge Mountains. We welcome dogs and children, and offer spacious Bed & Breakfast or Kitchen Suites, private baths, AC, HDTV HBO and Showtime, fireplaces, mountain views, walking trails and warm hospitality. Come stay with us, experience the tranquility and beauty here in our Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing