We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant find!”

Dogfish Head Alehouse
Ranked #8 of 368 Restaurants in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Central Maine
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant find!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived for our week-long vacation for DC and were staying at the Comfort Inn down the street. We had done some research on eateries in the area in advance and knew their menu had something for everyone. We were not disappointed! Our meals consisted of: Alehouse Ribs; Alehouse Mac n'Cheese with steak; Alehouse Fried Chicken Salad; and A Canary for One (pizza). Not one complaint. Waitstaff was excellent, food was excellent. Highly recommend this!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Momof2inMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    136
    45
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
905 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Chesapeake pizza”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We went here Saturday night. We must have timed it just right because we were seated right away. We each got a Caesar salad and we shared the Chesapeake pizza. It was absolutely delicious. The drinks here are huge, by the way, and quite refreshing. The service was excellent as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beer & food!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this place on the way to our hotel. Wonderful food & beer and casual atmosphere. Loved it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaEric00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit on the same trip”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Found it on the drive in to our hotel. Relaxed, eclectic, brew/tavern, even if the brew house isn't on the premises. My heart won't allow me to drink, but my wife and daughter sampled several brews and were pleased with the variety and tastes. Large portions and wood fired all the way. This aspect made it an easy choice to return within a couple of days. Would not hesitate to recommend for a casual lunch, dinner or brunch venue.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistently good place ”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My family has been going here since it opened. Love the beers and while they have a regular core of options they throw in something new regularly to try in the beer department.
For food, living in the area we don't go as often now for a full meal unless it's one of the dishes we are craving since we have tried everything...and there are a few that everyone in the family likes (fish platter, sausage sandwich, pizza with crab). Other than the occasional meal, we still stop by regularly during happy hour for drinks and unhealthy delicious appetizers.

Helpful?
Thank DavidJustDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 
Falls Church, VA
 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing