We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Szechuan unlike anything else we've ever had - LOVE it!”

Hong Kong Palace Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 366 Restaurants in Falls Church
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Szechuan unlike anything else we've ever had - LOVE it!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This place has two separate menus. The American style Chinese with your typical lo mein, beef with broccoli, sweet and sour chicken, etc. AND the authentic Szechuan menu.

If Beef w/Broccoli and the like is your thing, you will not be disappointed. The Americanized Chinese here is the best I’ve had in the area. I’ve tried about half a dozen of the dishes and have been very impressed. When you want hot and sour soup – my favorite cold remedy – this is the place to go.

However, the real reason to come here is the authentic Szechuan menu. We’ve tried many different dishes and have the following list of favorites:

* Chengdu Zhong Spring Dumplings - Nice little spicy dumplings from the appetizer section.

* Yang Zhou Fried Rice – different from the usual fried rice in that this doesn’t have soy sauce. What it does have is house-made bacon, nice-sized shrimp, and so much flavor!

* Stuffed Pepper Chicken – I don’t know the Chinese name for this dish. It is not listed on the printed menu, though I am told that it is written on the specials wall in Chinese. It is little bits of fried chicken with dried peppers stuffed with a sesame seed mixture. Delicious (and pretty spicy)! I prefer to eat only the stuffed peppers and not the plain dried peppers that come with this. You’ll see what I mean when you order this.

* Chendgu Salt & Pepper Jumbo Shrimp – A little sweet, a little salty, and so incredibly tender and flavorful. These are deep fried. A good dish for those who are less fond of the fiery heat.

* Cumin Lamb – Nice slices of tender lamb with mild chile peppers and onions. There is also a fish version and a rib version of this dish available, but the lamb is our favorite.

The service is here is good. The waiters are happy to help you pick out dishes. Their English isn’t always the best, but it is good enough.

As it turns out, this place delivers. However, we were beyond disappointed by the experience – to the point of infuriated. It took over 2 hours for our order to arrive. We won’t try that again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catharine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Chinese, and possibly best overall, meal I have had recently”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were looking for a Vietnamese place to go to as my son was studying Vietnam in school. While perusing the latest reviews at the nearby Eden Center, I came across Hong Kong Palace. I filed it away as a place to go for a Lunar New Year dinner. To avoid the rush, we went a few days late, but we were thrilled to find this place. We ordered Vegetable and Tofu soup, green onion pancake, steamed dumplings, spicy hot wantons, Cumin lamb, fish in chili pot with vegetables, and tea-smoked duck. Every bite of every dish was delicious. The food was all fresh and flavorful, well balanced flavors and textures. Outstanding from start to finish. The service was friendly and attentive, and the cost was very reasonable for a load of great food. We will make this a habit!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freebeer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Numb or Ma La?”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The restaurant is located in Seven Corners and may become your new favorite if, like me, you crave spicy and authentic cuisine. The first thing you may notice is the chinese menu posted on the wall. They will tell you it is for the Chinese stomach (think tripe) but get them to tell you what is on it so you can try some very authentic dishes. The regular menu features most of the dishes one would expect and includes numerous vegetarian options. There is a footnote about Numb or Ma La which means you can get your dish spiced with the 'Numb', a peppercorn which has a very unusual citrus and pepper flavor. Not for everyone (like cillantro) but I really enjoyed it. Chengdu Zhongs dumplings are excellent, Hot and Sour soup comes spicy enough that I forgo my usual addition of chili oil, Dan Dan Noodles appetizer is served warm and is big enough to make a lunch. The Kung Pao Chicken is a highlight with 'Numb" making it over the top. Soups are large and hearty. Prices are very reasonable and service is fast and friendly. Decor is clean and casual.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TangoCharlie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced authentic Sichuan and Cantonese dishes”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We've visited HK Palace five times in the last year after coming across it on a grocery trip. We noticed that there were always a large number of Asian (and non-Asian) patrons which is always a good sign. Each time the service has been prompt and courteous. Two of the staff asked how our meal was towards the end of our lunch. The dishes are certainly authentic, unlike many western-orientated Chinese restaurants. We've lived, studied and travelled in different parts of China and were pleasantly surprised to find their dishes were true to their origins. We've ordered from their main courses menu as well as quick meals such as their braised beef noodle soup, seafood noodle soup, cold chilli cucumber appetiser and pork dumplings. All the chilli hot dishes are marked with a red chilli symbol on the menu. Plenty of options without chilli to choose from too. There are also a good selection of non-meat dishes and a great selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. One can usually find a table without a reservation during lunch time but make sure you book ahead if it falls on a public holiday or cultural occasion.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schupps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This place is the best!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I are now living in South Beach but, besides our friends and family, this is the thing I really miss since our move -- Hong Kong Palace. It is absolutely the best, authentic Szechuan food anywhere around. The place is nothing fancy--formica tables, some with a rotating server in the middle so that food can be shared. You'll want to order lots of food but maybe not share so much...it's that good. Spicy Szechuan Dry Beef, Fish and Bean Curd with Spicy Sauce, Ma Po Tofu, Tea Smoked Duck, Eggplant with Garlic Sauce, Tiger Skin Peppers, and Chengdu Kung Pao Chicken. Fresh Green Bean Leaves with Garlic, when it's in season, is wonderful. Their Cumin Fish is out of this world. Go with lots of people and order lots of different things (including some things that the waiter/waitress might recommend). Though this place is often very busy, service very good and the food is worth the wait. Definitely a "must try" if you haven't

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveSouthBeach33139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong Kong Palace Restaurant also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Falls Church, VA
 

Been to Hong Kong Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing