We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chicken ever!! ”

Edy's Chicken & Steak
Ranked #60 of 366 Restaurants in Falls Church
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best chicken ever!! ”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We love this place! It's close to our place and the chicken is very delicious. The only problem is that they take only cash!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Farah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were staying down the block and went walking for food when we stumbled upon this restaurant. Reviews were good here, so we stopped in. Decent portions for the price and the spices used were tasty. Good selection of items and decent sized area to sit and eat. Only minor complaint was they don't take credit cards. Otherwise, it was a good, reasonable meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donutking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice, clean restaurant with reasonably priced Peruvian chicken”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I enjoyed this Peruvian style roasted chicken restaurant. You walk in and order, your number is called and you pick up your order. The prices are reasonable and the portions are good. The restaurant is bright and airy and the side sauces are delicious and they give you as much as you want. The line moves quickly once you order and the chickens are freshly cut coming out of the roaster. This makes for a nice, low-key meal on a budget.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top of its class”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I rate this place 5 stars because it is a chicken rotisserie place, and their chicken is the best. I've tried dozens of similar places that may have a better side here and there, but you go to these places for the chicken! (and for good measure, their green sauce ranks #1).

I first stumbled across Edy's in 1997 when I moved to Shirlington. It was located in a little shack across the street from where it is today (that shack is now occupied by a similar but not nearly as tasty Peruvian chicken place). What initially struck me was the line of people waiting 45 minutes OR MORE to get a simple plate of rotisserie chicken. The line was there every night, and most weekend days as well. Why the wait? BECAUSE THE CHICKEN IS AWESOME and the rotisseries could only produce so much food at a time. A year later, their popularity forced them to move to a location that could meet the demand, so they chose their current building despite multiple restaurants failing prior to Edy's occupancy. With at least double the rotisserie power, they still experienced 30 minute waits for chicken.

Today with literally dozens of similar restaurants opening up all over town, the wait times are lower, but the food has not changed. In fact, they have added options to their menu like pulled chicken sandwiches and salads. I have not tried everything they have to offer, because I cannot get past the chicken. The marinade is the perfect blend of spice and is distributed evenly, not overbearing and clumpy like similar places. Because of the popularity, you are eating chicken hot off the coals, not warm out of the holding oven. Kids get a kick out of this place because they can watch the butcher chop up the chicken they are about to enjoy. The green sauce the best I've had. It can vary in heat, I assume depending on the jalapenos of the day, but the flavor is the perfect complement to both the chicken and yuca (although the yuca is not as tender as some places I've tried).

Some area Peruvian places get more Washington Post publicity for whatever rea$on :) but I'll take Edy's chicken over them any day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terpshooters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“check out the chicken”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Edy's so far on each visit the food is consistently good. Trying the different styles of sides Yuca Plantanos house salad and fried sweet potatoes all are good. Get extra on the sauces to dip sides and chicken in. One is a mayo sweet sauce and the green sauce a little spicy. The 1/4 chicken and side is great for a quick lunch. You can call ahead for your meal. Try the Inca cola with your meal. Can not miss this one nothing fancy and expensive just good food and a home cook style fresh. Place is clean and staff friendly and able to help with your order and offer suggestions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drmag820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edy's Chicken & Steak also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Edy's Chicken & Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing