We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check this out!”
Review of Italian Cafe

Italian Cafe
Ranked #59 of 364 Restaurants in Falls Church
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Great family restaurant in existence for more than 30 years.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Check this out!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Several years ago after a visit to a delicious Philadelphia Italian restaurant we were moaning the lack of something similar in our neighborhood. We live in Falls Church. Then we discovered the Italian cafe. It is now "our place" and we dine here several times a month. The food is ALWAYS good... we love the veal dishes, the pasta, and the seafood. The wine is good and reasonably priced--not easy to find in the DC area. Most importantly, Younes and his staff treat us like family.
we are always welcomed warmly, and the visiting family and friends we bring are always amazed by the welcome we receive. A fresh salad comes with every entre, and each evening's specials are just that, special. If you haven't tried this place you don't know what you are missing. Carol

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A preferred local restaurant.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

On a recent visit to catch up with a visiting friend, our waitstaff even moved our two tween children to a separate table so that the "moms can chat in private." This, on a busy Saturday evening. The menu is classic, and the waitstaff has never refused my request for spaghetti aglio e olio, my go-to dish when I can not make up my mind. The salad was smartly dressed, not asphyxiated by the vinaigrette; and my requested dish was simple and delicious. My friend's entree of salmon was pronounced equally as good. The tweens shared a pizza with not a crumb remaining.

The decor is comfortable and charming in a slightly-outdated way, and the prices are extremely reasonable given the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMember22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet dinner”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We enjoyed the setting and the service. Good bottle of red wine at a reasonable price. Food was very good but a little pricey. We will visit again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
“Younes is amazing”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great little restaurant, amazing food and staff, the Orzo Pasta is great, Chicken Marsal Orzo Pasta. Keep up the great work, will be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A wonderful neighborhood establishment: great food with attentive service.”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I went on a Wednesday evening with a business group. We booked a back room to be able to talk and have a meeting. It was a fantastic experience. There was a very good chefs choice appetizer resembling thin crust pizza marguerita. It wasn't needed because of the outstanding bread and olive oil. Mixed Salad was cool and crisp --not a noon time creation stored in the fridge. Chicken piccata was just perfect with a nice portion of pasta and mixed veggies. The wait staff kept us satisfied and very effectively represented a full service bar with top brands, wide selection of bottled beer, and a surprising selection of common to high-end wines. I'll certainly go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeGastonRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Italian Cafe also viewed

 
Falls Church, VA
Falls Church, VA
 

Been to Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing