We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheaper than a trip to Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sfizi Cafe

Sfizi Cafe
Ranked #10 of 365 Restaurants in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheaper than a trip to Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is our go to restaurant when we want our Italian fix. The food is delicious, the wine inexpensive (or expensive depending on you wallet!) and it is very casual. We've been going here since they opened. We've only had one waiter I didn't care for, and I made it a point to never sit in his "area" again. It's a nice leisurely meal where you aren't rushed to hurry up and get out. The almond cookies are to die for...

I do have to agree with the unattended children. Unfortunately that is a hazard of living in this area. Parents whose kids are so "special" they can do no wrong! It's a tough situation for restaurant owners!

Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drsoozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be Careful to Sit Outside”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Apparently this is a place where a lot of single parents bring their kids to have pizza while they can enjoy a glass of wine and let their kids run wild. If you do not enjoy having a bunch of spoiled brats running around your table while you are trying to enjoy your meal don't go here. When we asked to have the parents control their kids several of the parents were offended and belligerent. Will not be returning.
Food was OK but definitely not worth the hassle

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccccocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
“Exquisitely authentic italian dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Dining at Sfizi Cafe is a warm and relaxing experience, heightened by the delicious, authentic italian cuisine and an assortment of wonderful italian wines. Over the past few months, I have had several spectacular meals at Sfizi, and while every meal has been outstanding, the grilled calamari and malanzane rollatine are two of my personal favorites. I have dined there with my husband, friends, and even a large gathering with extended family. The service was exemplary on each occasion. Sfizi is a uniquely authentic must-visit -- a real italian treasure in our community!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoulDining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really good food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The atmosphere is very casual, but the food is creative and very tasty, and the prices are reasonable. Service was very friendly even though we arrived relatively near closing and they may have secretly wanted us to leave. The server recommended an inexpensive wine which was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noni1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Food and a Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We dined with friends while visiting from out of town. We had lived in this area before and had visited Sfizi once before. The owner is a real Italian as witnessed by my friend who spoke fluent Italian with him during the evening. The prices are right and the atmosphere casual but very nice. In season, outdoor dining on the sidewalk terrace is a nice added option. Both the pasta and meat dishes were very good and the specials are usually a good option. The night we went one was lamb chops grilled which were really good as was the pasta with spicy langustino sauce. The house salad is a bit simple, so if you really want a good salad as a first course, order one from the salad options vice the house salad. The wines are a very good value since the place is also a wine shop. Select the wine in the shop, pay wine shop price plus a $10 corkage fee to consume at the table. This comes much cheaper than most restaurant wine lists and Sfizi boasts a wide range if Italian wines to boot. Finally, you can take the rest of the bottle home after dinner making the wine by the glass option unnecessary. A good option if you are seeking quality Italian food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sfizi Cafe also viewed

 
Falls Church, VA
 

Been to Sfizi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing