We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vegan menu”
Review of Loving Hut

Loving Hut
Ranked #49 of 365 Restaurants in Falls Church
Restaurant details
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful vegan menu”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I am not vegan, but would happily become so if I had food so delicious as that at Loving Hut to look forward to every day. The specialty is Vietnamese and the pho on other tables looked great. Next time I will try that. This place has good portions—you will take home food—at good prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Vegan paradise”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

After a stellar experience at a Loving Hut in San Diego I searched for one closest to my MD home when I returned. I made the 30+ minute drive to VA b/c the San Diego location was THAT good. When we arrived I learned that the menu was completely different than the one in San Diego and that franchises are owned with complete owner freedom in menu creation. That being said, we loved that it still had the fully vegan menu and were happy to order up.

The soups were terrific, eggrolls yummy, spring rolls average and chicken nuggets average. The noodle dishes were VERY good and the service was quite good too. We all shared a vegan chocolate cake dessert which was f-a-b-u-l-o-u-s. So, we had a nice lunch and would return if we were in the area. I have to give it a 3.5, (but will round it up to a four) b/c the San Diego location was so incredible, it set the bar very high for Loving Hut locations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LightQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Off The Chart Vegan Food”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you are living in or just visiting the Washington, DC area you MUST go to Loving Hut. It is some of the best Vegan food not only in the DC region, but anywhere. The value is terrific. Not to mention they have weekly deliveries from Vegan Treats for excellent desserts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
208 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Vegan heaven!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Finally! A vegan restaurant! I know they've been around for a while, but it was a long time that the Washington, DC area had anything more than a salad bar and pasta for non-meat eaters. At Loving Hut, gluten-free options are available, as well. The menus at each restaurant in this chain vary. The one in Falls Church, VA leans heavily toward a Thai-option menu.

We shared the summer rolls: good. We each had a bowl of soup: Phnom Penh Noodle soup and Pho. We sampled each other's, and they were both excellent. In fact, the Pho was the best I've EVER had. We shared a serving of the Spicy Cha Cha (shrimp). By then, it was way too much food, and the Cha Cha was good, but not outstanding. The prices are also out-of-this-world reasonable. They also have a couple of freezer cases to purchase vegan fake meats/fish, etc. Prices again are quite reasonable, except for the dried soup broth mixes, which are pretty expensive. While the restaurants are run by "Supreme Master Ching Hai", there is absolutely no proselytizing. So don't let that scare you off. The staff is pleasant, helpful, and attentive. The ambiance is somewhat bland, reminding me of a fast food restaurant, but the food and prices are incredible.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good vegan and vegetarian options, fair prices”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food has a lot of flavor and is surprisingly filling. The place could use some atmosphere improvement though, especially some background music would be nice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loving Hut also viewed

Falls Church, VA
Falls Church, VA
 
Falls Church, VA
Merrifield, Fairfax County
 

Been to Loving Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing