We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba's Bar-B-Q Incorporated - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bubba's Bar-B-Q Incorporated
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
605 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

The ambience at Bubba's puts you in the mood for some BBQ. The place is decorated with lots of pigs and has a homey feel to it. The food itself is just not very good. The ribs were very greasy and little seasoning, leaving them a mushy, flavorless mass. The pulled pork needed lots of sauce since it was pretty dry and had an off putting taste, perhaps from the oven? It was a gassy taste. The brisket was very overdone and only worth a couple of bites. The mac and cheese was greasy and beans lacked flavor. I am glad to have tried it, but will not be back. Perhaps it was because I went on a Saturday and the food just isn’t as fresh.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Because I want to see Bubba's in business for a long time, I have decided to rate them on TripAdvisor. Been going here for at least 15 years and quality remains great. Never any fat in their bbq. They have pork, beef and chicken and all is equally good. They let you put the sauce on but they generally have the NC kind as a special as well so you can choose what you want.

Their sides are great including fries (ask for "extra rub") and onion rings as well as collard greens (I'm from south of DC so I know how they're supposed to taste) and baked bean with chunks of pork in them. They also have nice salads and cole slaw.

Just a hole-in-the-wall place but nice and clean - although they have beer on tap they basically are a family place. Main crowd is at lunch but they are open until 9pm so dinner time is pretty open. They also sell meat by the pound and also will cater for you - we had them do my son's engagement party.

Try them out if you are in the Merrifield/Tyson's/Falls Church area and you won't be sorry!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fallschurchva22046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not just your normal BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Place is full of pigs -stuffed, dolls, figures and such. Owner takes pride in support community groups. My absolute favorite is the Baked BBQ Beans. Ribs fall off the bone.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sabar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Falls Church area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hands down the best BBQ in the Falls Church area! My friends and I have frequented Bubba's for years now and have NEVER had a bad meal. Prices are friendly, the BBQ sandwiches are great, atmosphere is low-key, and the portions are generous. I'll be a customer as long as they are in business. Don't miss out on this place!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Free2Travel_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good BBQ --extremely kid friendly-skip the cherry pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The restaurant is very casual with pig paraphernalia all over the place. It is a "down home" type of place. The BBQ is great with several different sauces to try on each table. Be careful about choosing a dessert. The cherry pie tasted like something from a grocery store.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bubba's Bar-B-Q Incorporated also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing