We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland”
Review of Myanmar Restaurant

Myanmar Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 366 Restaurants in Falls Church
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Asian, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bland”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Need I say more -- the food was bland, not at all spicy.
Service was slow and erratic (things did not necessarily come as expected or together).
Parking directly outside; very convenient.
We would not return based on the combination of service and food taste.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank windows_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Irregular hours?”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Best to call ahead to make sure the restaurant is actually open. Three friends and I showed up on Tuesday for lunch at noon only to find the restaurant closed and dark. I'd heard this can be a problem.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CosmoTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The food is oustanding and the only Burmese restaurant I will go to in the DC metro area. Staff are very friendly and great at making suggestions. Service is a bit slow, but the food is so worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Terrible service and MSG laden food!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Was very excited to try Burmese food and stopped by after a friend read about this place in a local newspaper. Got there and waited to be seated. Took over 20 minutes for someone to come take our order - and she only came after we repeatedly asked to be helped. Another woman there waited over an hour for her dish to come and they brought out the components individually - she ate her dish with no bread or rice and had to wait for the rice to be brought out, again, only after asking several times. We were told the normal waitstaff was not working that day and it was only the owner and one other person in the kitchen. However, if you cannot operate at a satisfactory level, just close the place for the day. When our order was finally taken we were given appetizers soon after. The green tea salad was delicious and so was the ginger salad (both had been recommended by a local, Burmese woman sitting next to us). Our main dish was very oily and heavy on MSG - which later made both my husband and myself very ill. We had also ordered a second dish, however, the owner forget to bring that out and, after almost 2 hours of waiting, we were beginning to feel sick and ready to leave. When we went to pay - that was also a scene. We watched the large table before us attempt to pay the check. It took almost 15 minutes. Our experience paying was no better. The credit card machine ran out of paper after the owner had swiped our card. She couldn't figure out how to print a receipt - I'm not even sure if the card was charged or not. After waiting 10 minutes we paid cash and left disappointed. Overall, the service was the worst I've had in a really long time and the food was not worth it. If you speak Burmese it seems like it's a very different experience as several locals from the community were promptly given food and served when they came. We're not from that area, however, even if we were I would not go back. DO NOT recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty--But Clueless”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews, I knew what to expect and managed those expectations accordingly. I stopped in for lunch and a number of SE Asian natives were there-good sign. I did not mind a short wait to have my order taken and the tea leaf salad and the traditional appetizer came quickly and were tasty. It went downhill from there. While there were two tables eating, they mopped the floor in the adjoining room with ammonia. One customer had to ask for the door to be open. This is a task you do when the restaurant is NOT open. Then when I asked for the check, the girl was on the phone, brought me the check on the phone and came back not putting the phone down the entire time. I was disappointed as I have been to Myanmar a number of times and love their hospitality, personality and cuisine. I was hoping that would have the opportunity to say 'thank you' in Burmese! However, no one appeared to care if I had a good meal so there was no point saying anything in English.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulieDer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myanmar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Myanmar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing