We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and nice”
Review of Governor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Governor House Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Falls Church
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simple and nice”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed one night in this nice motel while touring colleges recently. GHI is not a high rise luxury hotel, but a very pleasant roadside motel. The grounds were very well kept. We didn't get to enjoy the pool because of the weather but I noted that it was very neat and clean and all the chairs looked to be in excellent condition. The AC was on in our room when we arrived so it was nice and cool. The room was basic in terms of hotel rooms: 2 beds, desk, bedside table, TV. What I really appreciated was how clean it was. Very, very clean! The bathroom was definitely what I'd call "vintage", but again it was so clean....even all the grout lines. I was very impressed. There was a nice breakfast in the banquet hall next to the hotel. Plenty of food and choices. The check-in was quick and efficient, and when I checked out, I really appreciated Astha at the front desk asking me how the stay was....that shows they care about their customers. The ride into DC during rush hour was only about 20 minutes so I would highly recommend GHI if you are going to DC. You won't find a better value. Thank-you GHI for a nice stay!

Room Tip: The front of GHI faces the pool if you'd like quick access there. Rooms around back would be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Joanne,
"GHI is not a high rise luxury hotel, but a very pleasant roadside motel." Thank you for such a spot on statement of our lil' Inn! As I state through out it's important to get that across - In a world of shiny new "Select" Serve fancy buildings that come with a high dollar tab we continue to provide "Real Service" and hopefully a family feel to our guests. In the end we treat her as our home and reviews like this make our day!

Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you found a college nearby so that we will be seeing your family more often?!

Regards and thank you again for sharing,
Dave & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    54
    31
    18
    16
See reviews for
73
41
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Governor House is no luxury hotel, but it's an excellent value. The least expensive place I've stayed in the DC area, it's got free parking and free wifi, and that right there is a bargain. The bed was comfortable, everything in the room worked, and there was a quick bite to eat in the morning, too. (Don't count on much there, but it was something.) Friendly staff at check-in and check-out. Is it old and run-down? Yeah. But it's fine. And cheap.

Room Tip: Busy highway, but in the back I heard no noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share.
I always appreciate the reviews that stress that we are an older Inn from the 50's. These definitely help the guest in making a decision. But Breakfast should have been better than described and I've spoken with them on that.

Thank you again for taking the time to share and for allowing us to host your trip.

Regards,
Dave C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The room I had was quiet and on the back side of the hotel. However, the carpet covering the walkway outside the rooms was very worn and torn in many places. The room had no frig or safe that I read about in other reviews so if this is important to you double check if your room will have these. The AC controls were on the wall across the room from the AC and reminded me of those dials from the 1960s to turn on the heat. Had to call the front desk to find out how to start the AC--move the little knob on the outside of the dial. Some instructions next to the device would have saved confusion and frustration. Breakfast was ok but nothing special however the dining room was large so it was easy to get a table. After the first morning we decided to go to the Dunkin Donuts around the corner and up the street. Computer in office area was helpful for printing boarding passes and worked well. I had to get a new key card twice as it stopped working. I saw that this hotel has 3 stars on some websites and I was very surprised. This is a very plain, basic hotel. If you get a good price and don't need a fancy room, I guess this would be an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kkalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
kkalto,
At first glance the title of the review was disappointing to see - BUT your review strikes me as very very accurate! Thank you for the suggestions regarding the ac instructions and mentioning to guests to insure which room they are reserving. With three different buildings we do have many different room types some with refrigerators, some with microfridges and then some basic doubles with neither for those overnight guest looking to save in what even we think is an overpriced market.

The comment regarding us being a Two-Star Property is also dead-on, due to service and the value we provide I worry as guests often do rate us 4 and 5 stars on the reviews sites (WHICH WE GREATLY APPRECIATE) but folks do sometimes mistake guest rating us for what we are as maybe were some 3 or 4 star fancy standardized branded inn with "Select Service" for an arm and a leg in fees.........

Finally - yes the carpet is dead in that area- we have been restoring her fast as we can and new landing carpet has now been ordered, expecting to have that in by mid September.

Thank you for such a good review of the property.
It is the reviews that help our guest make their decisions in advance -
I hope to meet you next time your out our way!

Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it.......it's exactly as the hotel-provided overview reads.
We found it to be a clean, comfortable, well-ventilated room....and 3x the size of the previous night's stay at Motel 6. If you are looking for just that along with a great shower and breakfast included all so you can get out to see the D.C. sights, it's perfect!!!! The life guard-manned pool was a bonus.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckDawnJoeyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Chuck, Dawn, Joey P -
PERFECT Review title and thank you for that suggestion for our other guests and for the very nice comments! As always the reviews are shared with the team and it makes our day to see these-

Thank you and make sure to ask for me personally next time your out our way!

Happy Travels,
Dave & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This place is only good if you're just passing by to sleep. It's a little towns motel type. They leave the door open until you get in the room. It was July when we came and it was super HOT.
So, the AC was not ON when we get in our room. We had to turn it ON. The room smells. Definitely need some major renovations. Staff are friendly though.
Breakfast was not that great.

Room Tip: FREE WIFI but its very poor connection from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ying H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Front Office Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Ying,
With Mr. Dave out of town I'm responding to the reviews -my apologies for this as the door is actually supposed to be shut, if you could contact us with a little more info this would be helpful.
Thank you for the review and we hope to here from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Two of us stayed for four nights and took the Metro into DC each day in mid-May. I was apprehensive about staying at GHI after reading some of the reviews, but decided to gamble for the great 24-hour sale price. I was always pleased with the helpfulness of the staff. The room was quiet, clean, and in pretty good shape. Some things were a little outdated, but tolerable. Overall things were great.

Issues we had included:
• When we checked in, we did not have the refrigerator we were supposed to have. We had one in our room by the end of the day.
• We did have weird issues with the safe (battery and door hinge failed), which prevented us from getting into the safe that night. There was no one on-site who could troubleshoot the safe problem. It was dealt with the next morning, but we missed our scheduled morning tour due to the delay.

I could not believe all we got for the price. GHI provides multiple amenities including:
• free parking (right next to our room)
• free shuttle to the Metro
• free wi-fi (was slow and sometimes had trouble getting it to work at all)
• free continental breakfast (was much better than we expected with a couple of hot items each morning) A waffle-maker would have made it perfect!
• swimming pool (we did not use it)
• free safe, and
• free refrigerator.

The shuttle service could use an organizational overhaul. There was a time we saw it leave out of the Metro parking lot, but had no way to catch it. If there was a means of communication among the staff, they could have easily pulled back in to get us. So we had an hour wait for them to return. Another time the clerk forgot to tell the driver we were waiting, so we had another long wait. Maybe having guests call when they get on the Metro (with their entry location) would have helped for the hotel to plan pickups better. A schedule and/or better communication among the staff would help this run much more efficiently.

Other observations/suggestions:
• We would have liked an exercise room, which GHI does not have.
• There were many times when the wait at the front desk was lengthy as there was usually just one staff person there.
• The front desk staff talked very loud so everyone in the lobby could hear everyone’s situation. More discreet conversations on the phone and at the front desk by staff would be good. I knew everyone’s problems checking in and everyone knew mine, which is not really good for business. However, if you are a people-watcher, it does provide entertainment.
• The water fountain off of the lobby did not work.
• I used their business center to print a ticket from the computer, which worked well.
• Jesse was very helpful and knew the Metro routes to best advise where we needed to get off.
• The bricks in the steps outside of our room and going to breakfast were dangerously loose in multiple places. Those need to be fixed before someone is seriously hurt.

We would definitely return if ever back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolB30233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Front Office Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
With Mr. Dave out of town I'm responding to the reviews -Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Room was very clean. The staff was very friendly and courteous.Shuttle service was great, very close to metro.Pool was very nice with a lifeguard on duty. If your looking for a motel thats clean,family friendly, affordable, this one can't be beat with all that it offers for the price. We want to go back to D.C. in the near future. This is the motel we will go back to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Front Office Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
With Mr. Dave out of town I'm responding to the reviews -Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falls Church hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Falls Church - Arlington Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Falls Church
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#7 of 15 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 15 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
#6 of 15 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor House Inn

Property: Governor House Inn
Address: 6650 Arlington Blvd, Falls Church, VA 22042-6608 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Style 1959 American Motor Inn located in the shadow of Our Nation’s Capital, just minutes from D.C. in Falls Church, Va. inside the Capital Beltway. With three buildings and exterior corridors featuring Seasonal pool, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Breakfast, in addition to Bentley's Falls Church Diner - a decades old local tradition! Our property offers a great location and value with the service you can expect from a locally owned and independently operated business. We wish to stress, we aren't Fancy, justa simple little Inn where our amenities are Value, Location, Service and a smile. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Governor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor House Hotel Falls Church
Quality Inn Falls Church

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing