We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars overall, 5 stars to Mr Pio Mendes, Senior Rooms Operation Manager, who came to the rescue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“3 stars overall, 5 stars to Mr Pio Mendes, Senior Rooms Operation Manager, who came to the rescue”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

In April we reserved and received written confirmation for a Concierge Room king bed for August 4th for 3 nights On arrival in the afternoon we were assigned a room which had 2 queen beds, and was not on the Concierge floor. We returned to reception and explained the error, we were told that they would give us a king bed, but there were no Concierge rooms available. We produced our written confirmation, but the receptionist informed us that 'Corporate Guests' had booked months prior, and no rooms were left. Corporate Guests? months before? before April? ..what does that mean? They offered us a misleading upgrade.. being to be able to use the Concierge lounge and facilities as a courtesy... very interesting.. as we had both booked and paid for this, and were being charged Concierge rate! We complained at reception to no avail, no managers were available, and then I saw a man in a suit meeting and greeting guests in the Lobby. I asked him if he was a manager, and discovered later he was probably the General Manager, although later at Reception, no one was sure! I explained our problem, he smiled, shook his head, nodded a few times, spread his hands out in a gesture of 'nothing I can do' and did exactly that.... nothing! We wouldn't have stayed except we were attending a seminar being held in the hotel itself. Next day, I wrote to Marriott Head office, and the following morning received a phone call and met with Mr Pio Mendes, Senior Rooms Operations Manager, who had been contacted by Head Office. He actually understood our complaint, he agreed we had not only been given the wrong room and misleading information, but apologized and corrected our account accordingly. He was courteous and professional, taking full responsibility which we appreciated... I hope the Marriott head office appreciates Mr Mendes, he deserves the position the present General Manager doesn't deserve. The hotel is typical of many downmarket chains, grandiose lobbies and poky bedrooms. Service was overall uneven, in the restaurant at lunch it was awful, whereas in the evening it was excellent. There was no safe or fridge in the room, parking was free.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonMarriott, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your observations. I am sorry for our misundestanding your concerns in the lobby, but I am happy to see that Pio was able to help resolve the issue. Thank you for recognizing his efforts and for the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    248
    84
    36
    15
See reviews for
213
138
47
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for 3 days at $69 a night--what a deal--far cry from the $100 for a super 8 in W VA! This hotel is about a 25 minute drive from the DC area attractions and 5 minutes from the metro station with daily parking for $5. The hotel was extremely clean, the towels were luxurious and plentiful, the pool was heated and had an indoor/outdoor pool. The hot tub was very nice and clean. Hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. We had free WIFI, but it is $12.95 if you are not a rewards member. The coffee shop had Starbucks products but was pricey and didn't take Starbucks cards. Our kids liked the bar area, but drinks were pricey. We did not eat in the restaurant at the hotel. There were plenty of places nearby to eat. Parking outside was a bit crowded, but there was a garage. Parking was free.

Green Features: Sheets were changed every 3 days unless you requested daily changing. Towels were replaced if you did not hang them up. They had recycling bins.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This Marriott is a great place to stay outside of Washington, DC. We used the free shuttle each day to the Metro station. It was a 20 minute train ride to the heart of downtown DC. The shuttle also took guests to nearby restaurants, businesses, and shops. The front desk staff were beyond helpful with every need. They could recommend restaurants, delivery services, entertainment, and travel providers. Our checkin process was made even easier by using the Marriott mobile application on our smartphones. We checked in on our phones before we arrived. Our keys were ready for pickup at the Mobile Checkin desk. No lines, no waiting. Our room was immaculately clean each day. Housekeeping even straightened up our little messes like piles of shoes and toiletries strewn on the counter. While it seemed most of the guests were business commuters during the week, it switched to families and tour groups on Friday and Saturday. The large crowds were not a problem. In addition to a sizable parking lot, there is also a parking garage. Both are free (a rarity in the DC area). I recommend this hotel for business, pleasure, and families.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed two nights while attending a weekend event at George Washington Univ. The service was excellent, the accommodations were clean and comfortable. Parking was free which was a plus. However, I had to sign on for a daily charge for in-room Wi-Fi and there was no fridge in the room which I normally make sure of before booking a spot - must've been a late night when I booked this one. Overall, I was pleased, felt it was fair for the price.

Green Features: They did have standard policy of conserving towels unless fresh ones requested which was a positive.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here in May, 2014, with a group of students, and really enjoyed it. Very nice breakfast (seriously, especially the wonderful staff working breakfast), really helpful front desk, nice rooms, and a fun pool. While it's a bit difficult to find off of the highway and the parking garage could be better indicated to incoming guests (if you didn't know it was there, which we didn't until after we checked in, you might circle around the front parking lot looking for a space for a LONG time), I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sckjc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This our third visit to this hotel and we stayed three nights. It is set somewhat hidden away in a Park setting which adds to its charm. The staff were pleasant and efficient. Our room was small but clean, comfortable, and we slept very well thank you. The bath was clean and up to date and we appreciated the continuous air exhaust system. The indoor/outdoor pool/spa and the workout room are a welcome bonus. The breakfast buffet was quite good with a diverse food selection. Overall, the hotel was very pleasant, clean, and has a nice upscale feel. Outside, there are paths for walking and biking. Area restaurants, shopping, and entertainment are an easy drive away and getting to DC is also an easy trip by car or Metro.
The only sour notes were: 1) the pool area men's room was not kept as clean as it had been on earlier occasions and 2) in our room there was a low but annoying hum coming from somewhere else in the hotel. However, these few negatives did not spoil a very enjoyable vacation and we would recommend the Fairview Park Marriott to any travelers coming to the DC area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from any hotel machinery/equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta GA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed with my family Friday night through Sunday night. Staff was great, pool was well kept, including lifeguards. Was a small distance to Metro, but had a shuttle that ran each hour. No charge for parking (a petpieve of myn). As mentioned in other reviews breakfast was great. Would return if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnucfsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Falls Church
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 15 in Falls Church
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt House Falls Church
Hyatt House Falls Church
#1 of 3 in Merrifield
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
3.2 mi away
The Westin Tysons Corner
The Westin Tysons Corner
#4 of 15 in Falls Church
654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park

Property: Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
Address: 3111 Fairview Park Drive, Falls Church, VA 22042-4550
Region: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Falls Church
#5 Business Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located and impeccably appointed, the Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park provides a stylish home away from home for both business travelers and families on vacation. You'll love our newly refreshed hotel rooms and suites, which offer plush pillowtop mattresses, flat-screen TVs, and well-lit workspaces. PURE(R) allergy-friendly rooms are available on request. Get your morning here in Falls Church off to a great start with breakfast at Ellipse Restaurant, or visit the Coffee Kiosk for some much-needed caffeine. Additional hotel perks include a heated indoor pool and a fully-equipped fitness center. If you're planning an event or a meeting here in Falls Church, allow us to provide the venue; our hotel features over 17,000 square feet of versatile space and full-service catering. And great local attractions, including the fascinating Mosaic District, Tysons Corner Center, and Tysons Galleria, are just a short distance away. We look forward to your visit at here the Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Park Marriott Hotel Falls Church
Marriott Fairview Park
Marriott Falls Church
Falls Church Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing