We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dressed up Doubletree Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Tysons Corner
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Falls Church
Reviewed 27 June 2007

My husband, daughter and I stayed at this Westin for a week. We had a room with two double beds and also had a crib for the baby. It was definitely a tight fit.

The hotel was just remodeled last year and changed hands from Doubletree to Westin. I think they did a good job on the remodel except for a few things they missed. For example, they did not change the elevators!! They are downright dingy with old carpeting and poor lighting. Also, the hotel room doors are all original with scuffs, dents and scrapes.

Someone set off the fire alarm at midnight the first night we were there. The entire hotel was evacuated while the fire department inspected. We all stood outside in our pj's for a half an hour in the middle of the night. I found out later that this happens 3-4 times per MONTH!!! Groan.

We had room service for breakfast every morning, and they were quite speady. No complaints there. They even brought up a highchair from the restuarant downstairs for our daughter. Food was OK- nothing special.

The pool area is very nice and clean- locker rooms are clean also.

All in all, I would recommend staying at the Westin Arlington Gateway over the Tysons Corner Westin. The Westin Arlington is much more attractive, is walking distance to the metro, and has lots of dining options a short stroll away. It is $50 more a night, but well worth it. We stayed there last summer and I wish I booked that hotel again for this trip. Next time.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2007

This Westin is an example of a property whose abundant touches start to feel like trappings once you realize the hotel can't quite meet the standards set by its appearance. Rooms are very nicely appointed and offer flat screens (but not all lamps are plugged in -- there aren't enough outlets -- solid chairs are lint covered and the flat screens are without sleep timers). Starbucks coffee is offered in the rooms (but they were out of caffeinated coffee for the first few days I was there). A guest services line is offered with the promise of help with anything from wake up calls to toiletry replacement (though they couldn't loan me a simple item I'd forgotten to pack). The hotel is full service but, after paying nearly twenty dollars for a very average breakfast, I decided to eat out. Service is uneven. Go for the great beds and the dual shower heads but only if you can find a room at a deep discount.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KSnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

My wife and I are addicted to Westin hotels, so we sought out an affordable weekend escape for our anniversary. This hotel lived up to the brand's reputation on almost all counts.

Staff was very courteous and attentive. Room was nicely appointed with HDTV flat screen, upscale toiletries and the whole Heavenly line. Quiet room even though a motorcycle group from Indiana and a high school marching band called it home during our stay.

A couple of issues: there weren't enough towels stocked in the room (three of each linen). Hotel pool "lifeguard" was not friendly. Hotel locker rooms were completely trashed (granted, Sunday night of a holiday weekend), far below the Westin standard. Hot tub jets were not operable. Blue Fire Grill restaurant was like an oven and overpriced for breakfast.

Yet, I would stay at this hotel again. Most of these are nit-picky items that, added together, account for only near-perfect rating. If you're looking for a nice hotel near Tyson's Corner mall, this is a best bet.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hack820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

I purposely waited for the conversion of this property from a Doubletree to a Westin to be complete before visiting for a weekend to make sure that the renovations were complete. I can say that they have remade the physical facilitiy. It looks like other Westin's with their relaxing and comfortable decorating and furnishings. Unfortunately, they haven't renovated the staff to the same levels as of yet, and I was very disappointed in the level of service I received during my stay. It was not equal to what I have experienced at other properties in the Westin chain.

The bellstaff was always friendly and spoke as I came and went, but having hauled my bags litterally to China and back, I can handle it myself. Not there there would be any room for me, my bags, and a bellman in the hotels tiny elevators. I guess 20 million in renovation dollars doesn't buy new elevators.

Whenever I approached the front desk -- and I had several instances to do so over the weekend. -- All of the staff (3 or 4 most times) were huddled around one computer and I had to stand and wait for someone to recongize me standing there and come to assist me. I don't know if this is on-the-job training of a new PMS system or what, but the staff should be waiting for the guest and not the guest having to wait for staff who were not assisting other guests.

The first room keys I was given were to a room that was already occupied, which is always fun. I sort of wish it wasn't because it was on the "quiet" side of the hotel. The one I was subsequently asssigned to was not.

The hotel is convienently located right off of the Washington Beltway which made it easy to get to even in DC's nortoriously bad traffic. What it also means is that it seems a vast majority of rooms in the building are located right off the Washington Betway and being an older structure, there is little to block out the noise of an 8 lane highway outside the window. Even in an SPG level room.

Saturday morning I went downstairs for breakfast. There is a Starbucks stand right across from the elevators in the lobby but eventhough it's supposed to be open at 7am, at 9:30am it was dark and empty. I followed the signs to the restaurant, which seemed a bit out of the way and hidden.

All of the tables in the restaurant were empty except for one table of about 8 Asian gentlemen at one end of the floor. The hostess stand was empty too. I waited quite a while for signs of any staff member. The seated me (the only other table in the place) at the extreme other end of the dining room.

They do have a breakfast menu or a buffet. There was only the same normal fare on the menu, nothing creative, so I opted for the buffet. For an empty restaurant the buffet was a mess. The area was not tidy, the food was only lukewarm, and the supposed omlette station was no where to be found.

The same was the situation with the server. I don't know how he could have possibly been busy with only 2 tables in the entire place but he couldn't be found for condiments, drink refills, or to obtain the check. Also I didn't see anyone who appeared to be a manager or supervisor in the room during my meal.

I did not venture back to the restaurant for dinner. I did however try the bar. It has a very hip look and during the week, it is probably a popular place to hang out. However, this weekend it was just me, the bartender, and one other couple. He was polite, however I got the sense that he would rather we take our drinks up to our room so he could go home.

I'm willing to give the hotel another chance if I can get a room in the quiet wing away from the interstate, but there will have to be an inprovement in the quality of service for me to continue to go back...especially since Westin has 4 other hotels in the DC area with more under development.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ajva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank ramziabdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Memo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Diegofmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
0.5 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#8 of 15 in Tysons Corner
560 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 15 in Falls Church
477 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner
The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner
#1 of 15 in Tysons Corner
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
#11 of 15 in Tysons Corner
476 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton McLean Tysons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tysons Corner

Address: 7801 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 22043-2497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range: £66 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Tysons Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil oasis residing beside our nation's capital, The Westin Tysons Corner is close to many Fortune 500 companies as well as fine shopping, dining, museums, Jiffy Lube Arena and Wolf Trap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tyson`s Corner Hotel Falls Church
Westin Hotel Tysons Corner
Westin Falls Church
Falls Church Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing